We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, fresh, delicious.”
Review of El Gato Pescador - CLOSED

El Gato Pescador
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Authentic fish & chips, all local ingredients, made fresh to order, our fish is beer battered, choose filet, fish balls or shrimp,choose tartar or chipotle sauce, combos served with cole slaw, choose fries or onion rings.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh, delicious.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This unassuming little "joint" is my favorite kind of place. Great food and great prices. Don't be fooled by the basic decor and setup. Their fish and chips is truly outstanding. Had the fish/shrimp combo with onion rings and it was superb. The batter is light and perfectly seasoned. Not greasy at all. Everything is prepared to order. A true gem!

Only wish I could find a place like this back home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    56
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fresh local ingredients-yum!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had lunch here during our stay at Tulemar. The food was all very fresh and delicious. The owner told us the local source for all of the ingredients on the menu. The fish sandwiches/ fish and chips were great and the homemade onion rings were amazing! Very tasty and reasonable lunch!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fast meal”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were looking for something quick and easy and loved the fact that it was delivered right to our place still hot and fresh! The fish was excellent and the fries were still crisp! Nice
Would definitely order again- heard the onions rings are delish- so will try next time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jungle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Fried Stuff and Pretty Decor”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to this place on our trip to Costa Rica when we stayed at Los Altos. The menu is pretty small but the fried fish is supah yum. The fries are also very good. The service was really quick and the owner was talking to us. The restaurant was also decorated very nicely and the food was also presented nicely and quickly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myAWESOMEism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh fried Fish!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

So when you finally need a break from those wonderful casadas and want something fried that will not mess up the Costa Rica good fresh eats vibe, go here. El Gato is a small place located on the road thru Manuel Antonio. A totally casual place at road level allowing for people watching while chowing on the great food.

Peresilla greeted/seated us for lunch and at what looked like a Tica mom working in the open kitchen frying up the food. We had a little of everything, the fish, fish balls, shrimp, onion rings and fries. It was all delicately fried and you could tell that it was all very fresh. Even though next to the road, everything was clean and orderly. We really enjoyed it and even talked about going back for dinner. If you need that fried fix, go here and enjoy the wonderful fresh food, wash it down with a Imperial or real sugar Coke, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Pescador also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing