We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Fried Stuff and Pretty Decor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Gato Pescador - CLOSED

El Gato Pescador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Seafood, American, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic fish & chips, all local ingredients, made fresh to order, our fish is beer battered, choose filet, fish balls or shrimp,choose tartar or chipotle sauce, combos served with cole slaw, choose fries or onion rings.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Fried Stuff and Pretty Decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We went to this place on our trip to Costa Rica when we stayed at Los Altos. The menu is pretty small but the fried fish is supah yum. The fries are also very good. The service was really quick and the owner was talking to us. The restaurant was also decorated very nicely and the food was also presented nicely and quickly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank myAWESOMEism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    56
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh fried Fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

So when you finally need a break from those wonderful casadas and want something fried that will not mess up the Costa Rica good fresh eats vibe, go here. El Gato is a small place located on the road thru Manuel Antonio. A totally casual place at road level allowing for people watching while chowing on the great food.

Peresilla greeted/seated us for lunch and at what looked like a Tica mom working in the open kitchen frying up the food. We had a little of everything, the fish, fish balls, shrimp, onion rings and fries. It was all delicately fried and you could tell that it was all very fresh. Even though next to the road, everything was clean and orderly. We really enjoyed it and even talked about going back for dinner. If you need that fried fix, go here and enjoy the wonderful fresh food, wash it down with a Imperial or real sugar Coke, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fish and Chips were the best I've had in years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I usually order fish and chips when available on a menu. I am almost always disappointed, yet with eternal hope I continue to try. I was not disappointed at all with El Gato Pescador Fish and Chips. The fresh red snapper is dipped in freshly made beer batter for each order, the onion rings are as well. I had the fish and shrimp combination. The shrimp were not bad, but it was the fish that was over the top good.

The great: Best tempora style beer batter fish I have had in a very long time
The fair: The place is very small with very little atmosphere, be prepared for a casual dining experience. "

The signs I saw that lead us to to "El Gato Pescador" simple said "Fish and Chips" I think they should change their name to "Fish and Chips", that is what they are all about. The current name might suggest that they serve catfish... that is far from what they serve. They serve fresh beer batter snapper, and it is delicious

I would definitely eat there again and would recommend this to family and friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DouglasDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best onion rings ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Loved this place! Everything is made fresh and fried to perfection. We had the fish, shrimp, onion rings and fries and all were perfectly seasoned and prepared. Had a lovely visit with the owner and will remember the experience fondly!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank howniceinhouston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DELICIOUS!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Had the best lunch - then went back for dinner the next night.... Kids loved it! Highly recommend this place. Can't go wrong with the family Meal. Fish is fresh and OMG try the ONION RINGS
Owners and staff are very lovely and recommended really nice places to visit while on our trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanid1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Pescador also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing