We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to enjoy Manuel Antonio and relax”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
FellowTra...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to enjoy Manuel Antonio and relax”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Toucan is ideally located near the Manuel Antonio park on the West Coast of Costa Rica. It is high on a hill overlooking the tree canopy and its abundant wildlife. We stayed there for a week and enjoyed it a lot. The Toucan is a modern and very comfortable apartment for 4 people. Our daily routine was to wake up early in the morning and have breakfast on the balcony watching the parrots, hummingbirds, monkeys, etc... David and Rene are great hosts and will do everything to ensure you have a great stay. They go above and beyond what's expected. When our flight to San Jose was delayed 7 hours, they called the car rental company to make sure that they would keep our car reservation, they also left some food in the apartment for us so we wouldn't have to worry about doing the groceries late that night. David and Rene are also very helpful in reserving tours such as zip lines (highly recommended) and guides to the Manuel Antonio park, and have great recommendations for local restaurants with awesome food and views. The infinity pool and its deck is a great place to relax, read a book, and enjoy the view. The sunset on the ocean is particularly breathtaking. Our vacation at The Toucan was a great experience and we definitely would stay there again if we decided to go back to Manuel Antonio.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAheck
Germantown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved Toucan at Villa Mar y Sol”
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The Toucan at Villa Mar y Sol was such an enjoyable place to stay. It's perched on the side of the mountain in Manuel Antonio. It has an awesome balcony where me, my husband and another couple would get up every morning to enjoy the views and wildlife! The interior was very modern, spotless and the beds very comfortable. The infinitely pool was an extra bonus. After a day at the beach it was so nice to get in it and relax. And last but not least our hosts David and Renee were fabulous. They live on the property and are always near to answer any questions or set up excursions, but allowed us our privacy of enjoying our vacation on our own.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at the Toucan at Villa Mar y Sol was fantastic. The setting on a hillside above the Pacific is just the right balance between proximity to Manuel Antonio park/Quepos and privacy. David and Renee were excellent hosts. The villa itself has more than enough amenities to be very comfortable. The pool is amazing and the sunsets each night over the Pacific were an amazing light show. Our stay was truly a highlight of our family's trip to Costa Rica.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelly001
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Peacefully located in the picturesque and lush hills overlooking the Pacific in the distance, this modern villa is a true gem. The apartment we stayed in has 2 bedrooms and a large living area with an open kitchen. The large shaded balcony and its bird feeders attract many mesmerizing hummingbirds and is the perfect place to unwind with a book or a drink. Of course, there is the slick infinity pool with its breathtaking views of the valley below, the jungle, and neighboring hills, which all come to life with various animals at different times of the day (monkeys and toucans are easy to spot on any given day.) The pool and the deck are simply wonderful.

The place was clean, well-appointed, and private. It's also fully air-conditioned. It's a quick drive up a dirt road from the main road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. We traveled with two young kids so a car was a must to get to this place. (You don't need a big 4x4 to go up, but a small RAV4 is perfect and you could make it with a car as well during the dry season.). You could certainly hike up the dirt road from the bus stop, but it's quite steep and Costa Rica is pretty hot & humid. So keep that in mind.

And of course, there are the two hosts that are really welcoming, friendly, and full of good local tips. They speak English and French.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Off the beaten path, infinity pool, quiet
Liked least: Tight parking
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri M
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Beautiful and modern house with everything you need.”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

It was a beautiful house with nice view, swimmingpool and grill. It's an easy job to find a house with David's instructions, which we received before arrival. Everything we needed was only couple of minutes away by a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the pool.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor G
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great condo, beautiful views, and amazing pool!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my gf for a week and we had a great time. The condo was very nice, modern, and has a great view from the balcony. There was WiFi and it worked well, but the best connection was actually by the pool. The pool was so nice and no one was staying in the other unit so we had the pool to ourselves. The location is up on the mountain so it's a little hard to get up and down if you don't have a car, but we managed without a car. We walked up/down the mountain a lot and into town or got a taxi, or the bus. The bus was only 50 cents and came regularly. David and Rene were also very gracious and took us many places. They were also beyond helpful in booking activities for us or making recommendations! It's a great place to stay if you like some privacy...we felt like we had the mountain to ourselves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and pool
Liked least: The trek up/down the hill, but it was worth it for the price and privacy.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LatinPedr...
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing