We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gondola Gourmet Restaurant

Gondola Gourmet Restaurant
Price range: $3 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: This restaurant is part of "Plaza Yara" we are located close to Hotel Gaia on the Manuel Antonio Hill, with a beautiful view of the jungle. "The Gondola" features a gourmet Mediterranean style, Good for a romantic dinner. Ths restaurant is also perfect for family groups or special occasions.
1 review
“An experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The restaurant was outstanding.The Gondola Team service was great. The menu of choices was outstanding. I would highly recommend the restaurant if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    41
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good but not 5-star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Good food, nice wine menu and great service but overpriced. We spent about the same amount as we spent at The Luna at the Gaia the following night but The Luna really makes you feel like you're at a nice restaurant. Our fish entrees were good but the caesar salad didn't seem to have any anchovies and not much parmesan. I was also surprised we had to ask a waitress not to smoke directly outside the open-air restaurant because the fumes wafted our way.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing mother and son from Italy ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I didn't come to Costa Rica to eat Italian, but after 6 weeks in MA this is the BEST meal hands down. Charming, sincere people, and authentic food. Not Americanized at all. Way better than Gaia or any other restaurant in town, and I ate at all trip advisors top 10. Have every course. You won't regret it. Can't say enough good things.

Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“I really can't understand the high rating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is an average hotel restaurant. Definitely not "Gourmet".
We had a VERY GOOD dish of fried camambert cheese, with a sweet souce.
My wife had a blue cheese salad which she like (I didn't) and I had a shrimp&avocado salad which was totaly bland, without any souce - just some tired vegetables and pouched shrimp.
We also ordered two ravioli dishes for te children which were good, but nothing to write home about.
All in all - it is far from being amazing. Maybe because it was early (late lunch, around 4PM), and only 2 staff members working in the kitchen.

You should consider my 3 as 3.5.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The food is just perfect! The ingredients are fresh and the open kitchen allows you to see the chef working! We had a great dinner!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank InesJoao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gondola Gourmet Restaurant also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Gondola Gourmet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing