We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious thai curry”

Dragonfly Thai Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the flavors of authentic Thai cuisine overlooking Costa Rica's most beautiful beach. Favorites such as fresh spring rolls, Padt Thai, curries & homemade dumplings can all be found at Dragonfly Thai. We offer a relaxed, family friendly atmosphere with spectacular ocean views. Authentic Thai ingredients, fresh local produce, choice seafood & meats. It's a beautiful combination you won't taste anywhere else in Costa Rica!
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious thai curry”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We got a red and a green curry with chicken. I loved the green, but not so much the red. However, my wife loved the red curry, but not the green. The rice portion could have been slightly larger. Overall we were very happy and ordered take away for the next day because it was delicious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themightydollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    50
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A litle disapointed”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Reading the reviews you get a somewhat wrong impression. This place is nothing special, i'd say it's average at best. I would give the food a 3 out of five, the service a 4, and the prices a 2. Overall i found it overly expensive, and I probably wouldn't recommend it to a friend. BTW - this is not a real Thai food, but fusion cuisine at best.

Helpful?
Thank Dmitriy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William B, Owner at Dragonfly Thai Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. For our benefit and the benefit of readers, I wish you could have been specific about why you thought our food was just "average". We work very hard to deliver what we believe to be "authentic Thai". Much of our key ingredients are actually imported from Thailand--even our coconut milk! We're glad that you found our service above average and hope that you will give us another try if you find yourself in Manuel Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place with ocean view to enjoy well prepared Thai dishes”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Located in front of the Manuel Antonio beach you will find this restaurant serving good Thai dishes. Although the lights in the dining area are rather uninviting, the ones in the bar area and the buddha decorations make up for that.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location, great food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

It's nice get up above the crowds and enjoy the breeze.......also, the food is excellent and the decor is very well done......a hidden gem on the beach in Manuel Antonio......

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to a grreat day!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had spent the day at the ocean. Wanted to try something different. the restaurant overlooks the beach/ocean! The food was simply amazing! enjoyed basil beef and pad thai shrimp. The server Katerina was awesome and had recommended a sinfully delicious drink called a "monkey lala". Dessert in a glass! The experience was sooo great that we came back one more time before we left. The food is fresh, delicious, you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The location of the restaurant is beautiful! the servers are fast and very friendly! We highly recommend you try it! Thanks, Bobby and Ethel
Toronto, Canada

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EthelM609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly Thai Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing