We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delish and nicely set up”

Dragonfly Thai Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Enjoy the flavors of authentic Thai cuisine overlooking Costa Rica's most beautiful beach. Favorites such as fresh spring rolls, Padt Thai, curries & homemade dumplings can all be found at Dragonfly Thai. We offer a relaxed, family friendly atmosphere with spectacular ocean views. Authentic Thai ingredients, fresh local produce, choice seafood & meats. It's a beautiful combination you won't taste anywhere else in Costa Rica!
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delish and nicely set up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food was delicious. Highly recommend the fresh basil spring roll! We had the drunken noodles and the Tom kha soup which serves 2. Everything was really good, and I highly recommend it if you're looking for something that's not the typical tico cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Natsanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    50
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was a nice departure from the traditional Costa Rican food or pizza that is plentiful in Manuel Antonio. The bar is beautiful with its red lights a gold statue and location upstairs right next to the beach is perfect for a romantic dinner. The food was good but very mild for Thai food. The drinks were beautiful in presentation and the service like all the service in Costa Rica was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ARE03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place was absolutely great. The owner was great and friendly. His staff was wonderful and the food was excellent. I was very impressed with their fried coconut calamri that wasn't on their menu but put together quickly by request.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PMC_7683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mmmmm Thai!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

When I heard there was a local Thai restaurant I was super excited! After a week of mostly traditional Costa Rican food...It was such a treat to find Thai good.

I thoroughly enjoyed the Chicken with cashews, great sauce and lots of Veggies, the Tofu drunken noodles was yummy... However the Basil Chicken Spring Rolls were my favorite !!

Loved the decor and we had a table with a great view of the beach!!

The owner went out of his way to check in on us and the entire staff was wonderful : )

LC

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoop1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

From beginning to end our experience at Dragonfly Thai was wonderful. The owner took time to introduce himself and his family. Explained the various dishes to those of us who were relatively new to Thai food. The atmosphere was wonderful, the meal was flavourful and very well presented. The view of the beach and sunset just added to the ambiance. For those in the reviews who are looking for "true Thai" go to Thailand. If you want a place to eat that provides wonderful food and a great atmosphere this is it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janvez56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly Thai Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing