We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragonfly Thai Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Dragonfly Thai Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Enjoy the flavors of authentic Thai cuisine overlooking Costa Rica's most beautiful beach. Favorites such as fresh spring rolls, Padt Thai, curries & homemade dumplings can all be found at Dragonfly Thai. We offer a relaxed, family friendly atmosphere with spectacular ocean views. Authentic Thai ingredients, fresh local produce, choice seafood & meats. It's a beautiful combination you won't taste anywhere else in Costa Rica!
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Staff did a very good job. Not very impressed by the town. I did not feel safe with my family. We made sure we out of town before dark. We did take the public bus to the La Mariposa NO problems bus driver was very helpful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edwin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    50
    23
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service and the best drinks in Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The food was incredibly tasty .Well prepared and presented. We were served a remarkably tasty mango/ginger martini that was out of this world!! The live music that night was an immensely talented acoustic guitarist with a soft and sweet voice who sang romantic Latin ballads. Be sure to have dinner and drinks at this place .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elenabbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Not bad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The ambiance was nice. Located on the second floor with a nice view to the beach. At night, there is live music. The night we visited there was a gentlemen playing a guitar and singing which we enjoyed.

Service was excellent. The appetizers were really good but we ordered the the Drunken noodles and the Fish Fury for dinner and it was very salty and seemed kinda bland.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tieu112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Disappointed and Shocked”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went here on a girls vacation. We ate downstairs and the food was fine. We were told that it was ladies night upstairs and ladies drink free from 9-11pm. So we came back, the drinks were a bit watered downed but the music was good. However as the night progressed there was an extremely intoxicated and drugged up man dancing up on everyone and throwing beer everywhere he was really scary and I did not understand why he was still allowed there. He was bothering all the women there. Also when me and the 4 girls I was with noticed there wee no taxis outside we asked the OWNER to call us one he basically told us to ask someone else we explained we are not from here and want to go to our hotel. All of a sudden the DJ and his friend Jason approached us and said ill take you. He also would not call us a cab and expected us to get into his all black tinted window car. When we refused they got very irate and loud with us and no one did anything. Thank god a taxis was driving by we all jumped in and we asked the taxi man if anyone ha called him to called by here and he said no!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William B, Owner at Dragonfly Thai Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
We are sorry that you had a bad experience with another customer. We did call a taxi that evening for you and your party, however you caught another prior to its arrival. The other comments in your posting relate to the behavior of the staff in the bar below us. I have spoken with the owner to make sure his staff do not conduct themselves in this way ever again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Had to eat here twice in a row, it was so delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good Thai food in CR is rare, so we had to eat here twice in a row just to satisfy our cravings! We tried fresh spring rolls, Pad Thai, green curry, and fried rice, and all were delicious! We couldn't stop eating!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HTinCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragonfly Thai Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing