We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

I went for a couple nights to a villa; rooms huge and comfortable.
Restroom clean, big and nice.
The living room is ok and the kitchen is great, there is a bar to serve drinks :) and a tall refrigerator.

Around you have the beauty Manuel Antonio town, with the Nice National Park, also several beaches near by; there is one small and so quiet close to the Hotel (you can go just walking about 10 mins), it is just nice to pass the afternoon there.

The pool and the restaurant are also good, define a great place to get back sooner

Pura vida

Room Tip: Just try to find a room close to the pool, the place is in a hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slym-Ben-Mida, Manager at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear sir ,

we are all very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.we thank you very much for you review and we are looking forward to see you again in Costa rica .

Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    175
    78
    34
    19
See reviews for
229
378
56
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you are traveling with ur couple is the perfect romantic getaway, the hotel offers luxury, world class fine dining, minimalist style suites, a lovely pool with stunning views from the Pacific Ocean & great spa services also Biezans Beach is just 5 min walk from the hotel and it takes less than 10 minutes drive to get to Manuel Antonio National Park. the atmosphere is pretty relaxed & chill meaning that this hotel is ideal for families as well, I really loved the service & the lighting at night from the restaurant.

Room Tip: Superior room will be perfect for couples, Deluxe are more spacious in case ur traveling with your f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slym-Ben-Mida, General Manager at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Madam ,

All Shana hotel's team thank you for your review.We are all proud of having met your expectations and of having been part of making your stay in Costa Rica unforgettable.We all look forward of welcoming you again in our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We rented a large condo at the Shana Residences through Homeaway. Very clean, great views and awesome AC. Pool and hot tub were nice. It is close to to great beaches. One is 10 minute easy walk (protected beach for swimming) and one is about a 25 minute challenging walk. (Good waves here) Road to condo is a about 2k from main area and winding and a bit scary to walk due to all the traffic. We took a lot of cabs or better to have a car. We did not eat at the hotels restaurant so don't know what the food is like. We saw a good group of monkeys off our balcony.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejworden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear ejworden,

thanks for the review. We are glad that you had a nice time staying in one of our condos and that you got lucky seeing the monkeys.

If you are planning on coming again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay at Shana.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

My perants and I stayed at the shana hotel for 4 days. Over all it was ok our 2nd night the manager told us that he would like to show us the presidential suite the next day as it was too late to go there that evening. The next day when we saw him he made no mention of this he then also offered us a free drink without telling the bar men about it and we were askes to pay. We made arrangements to have spa treatments done after our tour. The manager himself made the appointment. When coming from our tour we went to the spa and only my dad could get a treatment because the other lady was not there as the manager promised us. When trying to get hold of him.he was nowhere to be found. When we went for dinner the evening no apology was given we had to ask him what and why. the next day it was raining and we decided to leave earlier. When I called the front desk the manager answered and I aked him to please call a cab.when we got to the reception which was on top of the hill. There was no cab . He did not call the cab .we had to wait 20 before a cab came this made us late. Thanks to Carlos the receptionist for calling the cab. Apon waiting for the cab the spa lady that was supposed to be there came by. She had bleach blond hair and looked like she just came from a strip club or eirked at one after seeing that. I am glad we canceled our treatment. Overall it was ok. But was very disappointed in the managers empty promises. We will not be returning

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Yes, the pool is lovely and has a nice view, but I think it would be hard to find a hotel on this road that doesn't, so the fact that there are no spa-like facilities (Jacuzzi or sauna) ends up making it an entry-level luxury hotel.
Service is great, breakfast at the restaurant-bar next to the pool,with the gorgeous view of the ocean is great, but as there is no sunset view this is not a place for evening drinks.
The rooms are clean and spacious, the shower is excellent, but the bed is not to my liking - boxed springs but the kind that has a very hard surface, like there's a wood plank at the top, instead of a pillow-top which could be easily expected from this type of hotel.
Basically we had a good time but if we go back to Manoel Antonio (which I hope to, as it's a fantastic destination), I'd choose a hotel on the other road, that has sunset views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to have a chance at a view. We got a lower ground floor room and wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edianem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed there many times in the 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. Its a great choice - search it on vrbo or flipkey. You pay less than hotel and has a fully functional apartment with all hotel facilities (restaurant with 20% discount, swimming pool access for free any time). The location is nice - most apartments offer direct ocean view (some intermitted by the high trees) and you have all sorts of monkeys and birds passing by daily - you will likely be woken up at 5 am by howler monkeys and see both capucins and titis during the day.

Room Tip: Pick penthouse 331 or apartment 310 - tested both, very well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgueni I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear Evgueni I,

thanks a lot for your review. We are happy that you like spending your vacation in one of our condos.

Please let us know when you are coming back again, so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
248 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Beautifully decorated condo with modern furnishings. Large ample rooms and bathrooms. Patios off every room with stellar views. No laundry in our unit. Wi-Fi at the pool. Beautiful views and howler monkeys/sloths can be seen and heard from pools and patios. On sight bar & restaurant. Biesanz beach within walking distance. Good security. Very close to the Man. Ant. NP-approx. 1.5 km. Good parking available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgomez2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear mgomez2468,

thanks for the review. We are glad to hear that you had a nice time in one of our condos and enjoyed seeing some wildlife.

If you are planning on coming back again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa

Property: Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Address: Carretera Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#6 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shana Hotel is the world’s leading brand in exclusive lifestyle boutique hotels. Embracing the culture, beauty, purity and perfection of its natural environment. Shana Hotel in Manuel Antonio, guarantees guests a unique and exclusive travel experience. Complimented by distinguished design, organic local cuisine, ecological adventures and exceptional hotel amenities, this new hotel in Costa Rica is among of the most exclusive and prestigious lifestyle hotels in the world. With that premise in mind, the Shana Hotel provides visitors a fabulous selection of 27 rooms, all with exceptional garden and ocean views. Choose from Superior or Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites or pamper yourself in the Souss "Spa Lifestyle Suite," a 3 bedroom luxury unit with its own private infinity pool and full kitchen facilities! Book today to start enjoying your dream Costa Rica vacation getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing