We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rarely you see a hotel website and on your arrival all looks as great as in the pictures!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 15, 2014

it is not a cheap hotel, and they delivered what they promise.
Very nice property, very well maintained, very nice decoration. It is located in a very quiet area, a place to relax. Room clean, bathroom very luxurious, comfortable bed. Hotel staff all very friendly and helpful.
At check-in, Rebecca will give you a very warm welcome and provide good recommendations.
We stayed 4 nights, every day had a nice different adventure.
Hotel is close to couple of small beaches, one is walking distance, nice small beach, with lots of shadows and refreshing water. The other (Playitas) you need to drive, but it is right next to Manuel Antonio, so you can walk and enjoy a nice looong beach, lots of places with shadows to rest.
regarding food, we only had breakfast at the hotel, excellent quality. to go to the restaurants of national park you need to drive.
The pool is very nice. internet worked fine in all property areas.

Unfortunately you cannot enjoy the sunset from here, due to the side of the mountain where it is located, the only missing thing to make it the perfect stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bosfurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear Bosfurus,

thanks for the great review for the Shana Hotel & Residence.
We are very happy that you spent a wonderful time in our hotel and liked our breakfast.

If you are planning on coming again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
There are newer reviews for Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Shana Hotel for the first time last month on our trip from San Francisco (last trip before our baby arrives!), and we had an unbelievable experience. The grounds are absolutely stunning, the rooms clean, modern, and comfortable, and most of all the service was unparalleled. From the moment she helped us get checked in and settled all the way through leaving for the airport several days later, Rebecca was wonderful. She had great suggestions for sights to see, made restaurant reservations at excellent restaurants, and otherwise made sure our stay was top notch. We will definitely be coming back to Manuel Antonio in the future, and wouldn't think of staying anywhere but the Shana.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to have beautiful views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 415Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear 415Patrick,

thanks for that great review.
We are very glad that you and your wife had a wonderful time in Shana.
Congratulations to your baby!

We really hope to see you and your family soon in Shana, that's why we want to offer you a 20% discount for your next stay. Please let us know when you are planning to come.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We loved the place,.big nice withe room, the beach was about 5 min walking throught the jungle, clean modern exterior.A place where you can sit back and relax. The restaurant is way too expensive. And our beautiful, helpful and unique Rebecca who is simply the best she made us feel 5 stars class I can not wait to come back.

Room Tip: Third floor!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear Lisa M,

thanks for the review.

We are happy that you had a nice vacation in Shana and got some time to relax.

If you are planning on coming back to Shana, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

It's a real pity that we stayed there only one night, and really only that. We had badly planned our trip and we just arrived there around 4 pm (due to Easter traffic), completely exhausted and had to leave the next morning. The excellent sense of humour and incredible liveliness of Rebecca (working at the reception) really made our day :).
The hotel gave the best impression: it's very well kept, has beautiful views from the balconies, the rooms and bathrooms are extremely modern with great quality toiletries (and the rain shower was huge). It has all the comfort you need (of course, it was also the most expensive hotel we stayed in in Costa Rica, but this one might be the one you would like to pay for).
The Biesantz beach is just 5 min walk in the forest, it's small, but very nice.
Had no chance to taste the breakfast, as we left very early, but something tells me it could have been very good.
The only negative thing: the hotel could better indicate how to arrive there, at first try we missed the road and ended up at Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_erre_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear a_erre_a,

thanks for that good review.

We are happy that you enjoyed one day in Shana, but of course we would love to see you again in Shana and maybe for more than one day.

We want to offer you a 20% discount for your next stay at Shana, please let us know if you are planning on coming back.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

First, I would like to say that our visit to Costa Rica was amazing. We started in Arenal then we went to Monteverde and ended at Manuel Antonio. I can't say enough about the first two places we visited as they exceeded out expectations. Now as to the Shana hotel. The hotel is nice and clean. The rooms are also well kept even though the elevator was not working. It was my understanding that it's been this way for awhile. As to service, before booking this hotel I checked the reviews and for the most part found it to be correct. The common area is for the most part abandoned. Not sure if it's because this is primarily condos and only one building is the hotel. It did not feel like a hotel to me. As to the staff, the golf cart guys were nice and always willing to give you a much needed ride to the common area however, the front desk was lacking. The only person that was very much engaged was Rebecah. The reviews I read about her said that she was amazing however, I actually found her to be annoying. She was very aggressive in trying to push you tours and restaurants to find out that she is getting a kick back from them. She didn't like much when we ended up booking one though our travel agent instead of the hotel. Be ware of this before you book it through her.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ALRDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Firstly I must say, we stayed in condos - which has very nice design interier, nice view over the garden to the sea, rooms are really bug and airy, amd fully equipment - fridge, dishwasher, hair dryer etc...

But the service in condos is little bit poor - you don't know your room number, password for wifi, no information like paper on the table ... You must find one guy, and he tell you your room number - then you must go to the reception for other information (at the reception they are not able to find by your name your room number, which is nowhere written :)

Next point is restaurant - food is good, but I think quite expensive - three coffees for example for 18$. Next thing - when you haven't exact money in dollars, personal of restaurant give you totally different rate for give yourmoent back... For example we have to pay 16000 collons, in bill there was 30$ which is ok. We don'thave exactly 30$ so we give 40$. So we await that we received 10$ or 5000 collons, but they give us only 3000. I know, it is only 2 dollars, but I don't think that in this type of hotel is this behaviour of personal needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeneffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We checked into a penthouse with an amazing view but the AC had broken in one of the bedrooms. The end result was that kent the manager from manuel antonio rental properties worked with me to get the problem fixed and have me walk away happy. The customer service in a bad situation that was no ones fault was great and that speaks volumes! This place is wonderful and I would recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank DownEastGuideService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear DownEastGuideService,

thanks for the review. We would like to apologize again for the inconvenience because of the broken A/C. But we are also very glad that you still had a nice vacation in Shana though.

If you are planning on coming again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,028 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa

Address: Carretera Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $117 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shana Hotel is the world’s leading brand in exclusive lifestyle boutique hotels. Embracing the culture, beauty, purity and perfection of its natural environment. Shana Hotel in Manuel Antonio, guarantees guests a unique and exclusive travel experience. Complimented by distinguished design, organic local cuisine, ecological adventures and exceptional hotel amenities, this new hotel in Costa Rica is among of the most exclusive and prestigious lifestyle hotels in the world. With that premise in mind, the Shana Hotel provides visitors a fabulous selection of 27 rooms, all with exceptional garden and ocean views. Choose from Superior or Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites or pamper yourself in the Souss "Spa Lifestyle Suite," a 3 bedroom luxury unit with its own private infinity pool and full kitchen facilities! Book today to start enjoying your dream Costa Rica vacation getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing