We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot a little off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Didn't actually stay in the Hotel but in the condos that are part of the hotel. Still got to use the pool and restaurant. This hotel is definitely off the beaten path. Down a narrow and hilly road almost to the end near Hotel Parador. Almost 2 km off the main Manuel Antonio road so you either need to be prepared to take taxis everywhere or have a car. Personally we love having a car and were able to drive to various restaurants in the area and to the main beach which is a long way away as is the national park.
It is a short and steep walk to Biesanz beach which is a lovely little cove but not the best beach and it very rocky. Water is like bath water though it is so warm. Shana is a lovely white hotel , very nice to look at tucked into the hill with a view of the ocean. The pool is nice (very warm) but only complaint is not a lot of comfortable chairs to sit in. And every once in awhile you can smell the sewer which is a little off putting. We ate lunch in the restaurant by the pool and the quesadillas and hamburgers very good just a little $$ . Ended up being $20 for a hamburger with included tax etc.
Overall good place just not near the main drag so recommend a car if you come here

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear Glenn P,

thanks for the review.
We are pleased to hear that you liked staying in one of our condos.

If you are planning on coming back to Shana, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
There are newer reviews for Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Shana Hotel and had the run of the Presidential Suite. The reason it was such a great stay was due to the fabulous Rebecca who from the minute we arrived swept us off our feet with her great recommendations and terrific care. She set us up with a great line-up of restaurants and ensured our activities were 'Rebecca blessed' by approving our guides or calling them directly to ensure we were well looked after. Her recommendation for Frank/Francisco the cab driver was also outstanding. He looked after us each evening as the hotel is a bit of a hike from the main drag of restaurants. We felt well looked after and that made all the difference. Thanks Rebecca, Joyce, Christian and the rest of the great staff at Shana.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear Pam W,

thanks for the review.

We are happy that you enjoyed staying in the Presidential Suite and liked the service we offered.

If you are planning on coming again, we would like to offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residences

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel was much nicer than we expected. Lovely air conditioned rooms with ocean views, and great service from all the staff. Rebecca went above and beyond to make valentines day very special for us. She could not do enough for you. We would highly recommend this hotel. David and Karen, UK.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear Karen B,

thanks for that great review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed a nice Valentines Day in Shana.

If you are planning on coming back again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence to the UK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

All I can say is what a wonderful experience I had. I have not traveled for 3 years now due to constantly working. I'm turning 60 years of age so this was a birthday gift to myself. I went with 2 other friends and we still talk about the wonderful people who went beyond the call of duty to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. I want to thank the Manager, Mr. Randall Cortez, who took time out of his busy shedule to sit down with me during breakfast and chat about life in this beautiful country called Costa Rica. Ms. Rebecca Rebismora , our event planner who made sure We saw everything Costa Rica had to offer to make our visit there a most memorable one. They both are so down to earth, gotta love them. I also want to thank Manager,Karm Ben Amar. I would go back to this great place if it's in God's plan. Costa Rica is on top of my favorite places list. Thank You Costa Rica & It's Beautiful People, Till We Meet Again... 'PURA VIDA "

Room Tip: all the rooms are great, you get lots of peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElbaMelendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear ElbaMelendez,

thanks a lot for that review.

We are happy that you had a wonderful vacation in Shana with your friends.

If you are planning on coming again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for the weekend and loved this hotel. The rooms are comfortable, the pool is great, the environment is peacefull and over all, there is a very good service. rebeca did a great job arranging SPA visit and a lovely dinner with my family in a close restaurant. I recommend this nice hotel,

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank salvatrucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear salvatrucho,

thanks so much for the review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful peaceful vacation in Shana.

If you are planning on coming back again, we would like to offer you a 20% discount for your next stay in Shana.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite big and it offers a good swimming pool plus the access to wonderful Biesanz beach. Besides it we have not appreciated it very much because we did not have a car and the hotel is quite isolated. We have not found it very clean both in rooms and common places. We have found meals and beverages too expensive. To say that staff is very kind.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel interior is just as stark and blah as the photos appear, a distinct detraction form our Costa Rica experience thus far. We have stayed at 2 other very nice places but in the Northern part. Not sure what they are trying to accomplish at Shana with the complete lack of decor. There is not even a hotel guide in the room let alone info about the area. No room service menu. The rooms are also much smaller than they appear in the photo. We have a "superior" room. Ugh! The beach is NOT just down a path as the description indicates. You have to walk down the paved road a bit then find an unmarked path through the jungle to the beach. It was so hot when we arrived that we waited till late afternoon to walk there. When we asked for directions we were advised to not go since the path to the beach would be too dark and have too many bugs! Really??? We are very disappointed regarding the inaccessibility of the beach. Although the town looks close enough to walk to it really is a dark narrow winding road without a sidewalk. Very dangerous especially with local driving habits! Quepos looks like the all the other beach side tourist traps with a lot of stores hawking cheap souvenirs but we would like to go anywhere more interesting than here at the Shana. There is no hotel shuttle. We are going to self book some tours and make the best of it. I would never again choose this stark NO personality hotel that does not even have a beach to redeem it. It's a shame since the structure itself has an interesting design. Wait! I think I see a speck of ocean through the trees! Time to go to their equally unimaginative restaurant for dinner since we are stranded here for 4 nights.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank cynthia5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa

Address: Carretera Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $115 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shana Hotel is the world’s leading brand in exclusive lifestyle boutique hotels. Embracing the culture, beauty, purity and perfection of its natural environment. Shana Hotel in Manuel Antonio, guarantees guests a unique and exclusive travel experience. Complimented by distinguished design, organic local cuisine, ecological adventures and exceptional hotel amenities, this new hotel in Costa Rica is among of the most exclusive and prestigious lifestyle hotels in the world. With that premise in mind, the Shana Hotel provides visitors a fabulous selection of 27 rooms, all with exceptional garden and ocean views. Choose from Superior or Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites or pamper yourself in the Souss "Spa Lifestyle Suite," a 3 bedroom luxury unit with its own private infinity pool and full kitchen facilities! Book today to start enjoying your dream Costa Rica vacation getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing