We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at the Shana Hotel (boutique hotel-27 rooms) at the end of a week-long tour (arranged by Swiss Travel) of Costa Rica Feb 5-7, 2014. It was by far the most beautiful hotel we encountered during our tour. We had a junior suite and the room was breathtaking. (if you don't like contemporary, white minimalist decor, this place is not for you.) The room was exceedingly clean. The king bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge (especially enjoyed the rainshower). We had a small private balcony with a beautiful view. We had dinner at the hotel one night--it was very good, but a bit pricey. The included breakfast menu was limited but also very good and the presentation was pretty. The fruit and bread was excellent! Carlos was SO helpful during our stay. He arranged a ziplining tour for us and made sure we were able to have breakfast early before we went--even though it was before serving time. The infinity pool was beautiful with walk-in access. We enjoyed a full afternoon just relaxing on one of the "pool beds" near the pool.

If I could, I would give them a 4.5-4.75. The reasons I did not give this place a five:

1. LOCATION (not their fault). The hotel is located near the end of a long & windy road. If you like quiet and a fairly isolated location and/or have a car, this would NOT be a problem. There is no shuttle service and you have to take a taxi ($10 each way) to other restaurants, Manual Antonio & Quepos. The road to the hotel does not have sidewalks and is steep, windy & narrow-perhaps OK to walk in the day, but much too dangerous to walk at night. Also, the walk from your hotel room to the front desk/pool/restaurant is VERY steep. They realize this and do offer a golf cart (which is stationed by the hotel rooms) to take you up if you wish. There are more condos than hotel rooms at this property, but we did not feel crowded at the restaurant or pool.

2. Property Issues
Apparently, this property was recently acquired by the current owners. The Spa was closed (maintenance-but I was told I could have spa services by arrangement), the elevator in the hotel was not working, some of the pool decking was broken and needed to be replaced (we did bring this to Carlos' attention and we did see repairman working on it), and the whirlpool wasn't working.

Also, there is a private beach within walking distance (interesting walk). We visited it once, but I didn't care for it (nothing like the beach at Manual Antonio) and would suggest water shoes as it has a fairly rocky bottom.

Overall, we really liked this hotel & the staff, loved the views and the food, but didn't care much for the location. I like to walk around the areas where we stay and was not able to do much of that. I feel that the maintenance issues are easily fixable and probably on management's agenda. Again, I think our experience would be different if we just wanted to "veg" out (perfect place to do this) or had a car to get around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear LYNN K,

thanks for the review.

We are pleased to hear that you you liked our rooms with the minimalistic white decor.

If you are planning on coming again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    189
    82
    34
    18
See reviews for
260
402
59
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed a few nights after staying at Arenas del Mar. By comparison, the Shana Hotel is definitely nothing special. It looks nice from the outside, but the rooms are small and lackluster although the hotel is clean. The hotel is not very quiet - we could hear our neighbors stomping around each morning at 6am. The food was okay. But the service was really good and in particular, Rebecca was outstanding. She is very personable and very helpful and went out of her way to make our stay a good one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, and overall our experience here was a great one. We had a ground floor room , but we asked to change with an upper floor one ( nothing wrong with the first one , but we just wanted a better view ) . Cesar helped us with this request in a very efficient way. Rooms are very confortable , we had a wonderful ocean view over the lush vegetation.
During our stay, we had dinner based on Rebecca's suggestions , and all the restaurants we tried - La Luna, El Lagarto and Mar Luna - were excellent ( maybe Kapi Kapi was the only one not so good... ). Hi , Rebecca, and thanks for your help !
There is a small beach 5 min walk , but a much better choice is to drive max 10 mins to the National Park , where you can choose between the public beach and the Park ones.
We'll definitely recommend !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear Vlad1603,

thanks a lot for that great review.

We are glad that you had a nice vacation in one of our upper floor rooms with the ocean view.

If you are planning on coming again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount on your next stay.

Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Shana hotel was a slight disappointment. It's not bad - but it fails on the details, and comparatively to the other hotels we have stayed at in Costa Rica, it fades in comparison.

Some good things - It's a clean hotel and had a beautiful view, but only from the restaurant area. We were woken up a few times by monkeys and lots of birds. It is walking distance to the small Biesanz beach (about 5 minute walk), as well as the Manuel Antonio public beach (15-20 minute walk down on the main strip and then down a gravel road. The way back up is steep, so don't do it in full sun). The breakfast is good, but they only have a few options. Their chef is quite good, so the food never disappointed in terms of flavor. Wifi works very well.

Some not-so-good things - In terms of overall feel, the hotel fails slightly but this might not bother everyone. Architecturally, it looks like a hotel that should be somewhere in the Mediterranean. The landscaping is not quite as nice. It's not a deal breaker but you could probably find nicer for the same or comparable cost, so why not. Their juices are made from concentrate, and they play music for breakfast which is a travesty when you could instead be listening to the chirping of birds.

The prices are simply outrageous. While the food tastes good, it is not good value for money. We bought water at the hotel once, and for 2x 500 ml bottles it cost us $7 US. There is expensive and then there is abusing of the fact that you're far away from everything. We are seasoned travelers and while water is expensive everywhere, we did not pay this much in 5-star hotels in Europe or in places where water is scarce!

The Shana is not well situated. It is one of the last hotels on the strip, so if you do not have a car you might end up paying for cabs a lot. They are about 7-10 dollars to most places nearby the hotel (restaurants, the National Park, Quepos). There is some public transport nearby, and it is good if you plan your day.

The concierge service - Rebecca is a little phony. She recommended tours and restaurants to us saying all the things a tourist wants to hear: they're locals not foreigners, they are my friends and will take good care of you, etc. When we looked up her recommendations on Trip Advisor, they did not have good reviews and were not cheaper. Her connections might not be the best fit for you so do not feel pressure to accept. She's bubbly, but she's not genuine.

She also discouraged us from going to Quepos speaking in a very derogatory fashion toward the locals. For the record, Quepos is 100% safe. People are very friendly. It is not as touristy as Manuel Antonio, but its a town like any other. Nobody will attack you. Nobody will steal from you. You will find cheaper eats. Lots of tourists go there.

She was rude to two of our tour operators, which embarrassed us. She hung up on one who called to say he was a little late, and those who did not call to tell us they were running late got an ear full. I understand she was tying to do us a service but it's no way to talk to people.

The cleaning staff is super friendly. I wish I could say the same about the waitresses. They didn't crack a single smile in the four nights we spent there.

Several locals told us that the Shana changed names several times, and it does not have the best reputation in Manuel Antonio.

While we didn't have a terrible experience at the Shana, it just fades in comparison with that we had seen in Costa Rica in terms of quality of service and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SirBiscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I weren't guest at the Shana Hotel, but we did drop in for breakfast one morning and we were both blown away by the experience. Not only is the setting beautiful, but the concierge Rebecca, is by far the most serviable and genuine person we meet in Costa Rica. Again, we were not staying at the Shana Hotel, we only stopped by for breakfast, yet Rebecca treated us like VIP guests and gave us helpful tips and suggestions to help us plan the rest of our trip ! The breakfast itself was very well presented and delicious, we actually decided to go back the next day it was soo good.
Thanks again Rebecca !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana H, Manager at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thanks a lot for all your nice comments that makes us be better every day to satisfy our guest satisfactions. It is a same you could not enjoy all the experience that Shana Hotel can provide you, but there is always a next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

After a flight from Liberia to San Jose then a long drive from San Jose in the dark, we arrived at 10:30 pm and were exhausted. Wonderful Maria met us but our room was not the right one so we took a similar lower level room to get much needed rest and in the morning we were met by "more wonderful" Rebecca who took us to a top floor suite and she was simply terrific to us for the remainder of our stay. The hotel is in the perfect location for Manuel Antonio and is perfect for couples or families. You will not be sorry if you stay here :-)

Room Tip: Ask for room 138 or any top floor junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana H, Manager at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
It is a real pleasure for the Shana Hotel Staff that you take us into account for your vacations. It makes us really happy that you enjoy your precios time with us. We hope to see you back in the near future enjoying the beauties of Costa Rica and specialty from Manuel Antonio...

Best Regards from Shana´s Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Shana Hotel, it is a very nice hotel. The room was spacious clean and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the nice pool and hot tub. The breakfast and view are excellent. We were traveling down the coast and my only regret is that we stayed there only one night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana H, Gerente at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
It is a shame you could not stay longer with us. We would love to offer you most of the Shana´s Hotel experiences and make your vacations unforguettables. We hope to see you back and have this opportunity... Thanks for you nice comments...

Best wishes...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,161 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,056 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
996 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa

Property: Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Address: Carretera Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#6 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shana Hotel is the world’s leading brand in exclusive lifestyle boutique hotels. Embracing the culture, beauty, purity and perfection of its natural environment. Shana Hotel in Manuel Antonio, guarantees guests a unique and exclusive travel experience. Complimented by distinguished design, organic local cuisine, ecological adventures and exceptional hotel amenities, this new hotel in Costa Rica is among of the most exclusive and prestigious lifestyle hotels in the world. With that premise in mind, the Shana Hotel provides visitors a fabulous selection of 27 rooms, all with exceptional garden and ocean views. Choose from Superior or Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites or pamper yourself in the Souss "Spa Lifestyle Suite," a 3 bedroom luxury unit with its own private infinity pool and full kitchen facilities! Book today to start enjoying your dream Costa Rica vacation getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing