We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start the day!”
Review of Emilio's Cafe

Emilio's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
1 review
“Great way to start the day!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Excellent coffees, teas and breakfast foods. Loved stopping here in the morning before starting our day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,004
    352
    93
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We've been in manuel Antonio a week and have been to Emilio's about 5 times. Great espresso, iced coffees and pastries! I'm sure we'll be back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Emilio is always a gracious host and his cafe gets better all the time. The view is wonderful, the location is great and the bread is the best I've found in CR. I ordered the prosciutto, asiago sandwich on a chibatta three times while I was there including one to save to eat on the plane on the trip home. Or you might try the flour-less chocolate cake flavored with ginger with your espresso; or have a slice of quiche for breakfast. No matter what, if you're in the neighborhood, don't miss it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Iguana410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Lovely view, great food”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent menu and even better expressos. I tried the Salami con queso sandwhich with pesto and the Machiatto (around $10). YUMMY. This place is conveniently located on the south side, near the bus stop and about 400 meters west of Super Joseth Market, for an excellent view that is so tranquil. Reasonably priced for Manuel Antonio shops/diners/etc. Great smiles from the staff when you walk in. Typical Ticos! :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chancie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Falafel”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband is a vegetarian. When I told him he could get a falafel at Emilio's he was happy. We headed there for dinner and were not disappointed. We both ordered the falafel and really enjoyed it. We also shared a yummy piece of carrot cake. I really liked the atmosphere - cool pictures on the wall and the front and back outside seating. Though it was a rainy we were able to sit on the back balcony. Emilio himself was very nice and helpful.
We definitely will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raquel_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emilio's Cafe also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Emilio's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing