We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surfing in CR”

Dante's Water Sports
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Surf Lessons School for all ages and Paddle Board Tours, beach tours, kayaking SUP.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
South Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surfing in CR”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Dante Water Sports were the best. They picked us up at the appointed time. The surfers worked with a 7 year old and an almost 6 year old to get them up surfing. Our daughter also tried with another surfer instructor. They were patient, safety aware, and happy. Nana and Papa sat in chairs under a tent watching! Then the owner took us all back to our hotel. It was a most pleasant adventure. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    24
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience learning to surf”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

A transport came and picked us up for our surf lesson. There were three guys who were knowledgable and helpful to give us instructions. Once out on the water, they instructors were helpful and courteous. In the middle of our lesson, a storm came through and cut our experience short. Dante then took us back to the hotel and told us that we could come back in the next day or two for a FREE lesson to make up for the fact that our time was cut short by weather. Two days later, he picked us up and took us out on the water again for as long as it took. What a great experience. I highly recommend this business.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Surf Lesson”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Dante was professional and punctural. The instructor was knowledgeable, fun and patient. I was able to get up 4 different times. Safety tips were very helpful and my overall experience was great! I highly recommend Dante and his team.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

When we arrived at Manuel Antonio Beach for surfing lessons, Dante suggested that we travel 30 minutes south to another beach where waves would be better. I was skeptical at first, thinking "what's this gonna cost?" My mistake. The recommendation was made with our best interests in mind (as beginner surfers). Dante didn't charge a penny more, even though this trip usually costs double what we paid. And it was more inconvenient for them (packing up the boards and gear, travel). Boy was I surprised when we arrived at the beautiful black sand Matapolo beach that stretches for miles until it fades into mist. And the added bonus of being relatively spectator free.

I give 5 stars for several reasons:
Dante was clearly supervising the instructors to make sure we had the best experience. He was laid back, but not overly so. It seemed that we all (students and instructors) had fun. Pura Vida!
Instructors were awesome. We were engaged in conversation with them during the 30 minute drive and they were informative and knowledgeable about Costa Rica beyond the surf. Felt like we made new friends. We even stopped to say goodbye on our last day.
Every one was able to stand up!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun time, enthusiastic instruction”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Dante and Jessie provided for an excellent experience for my girlfriend and me. My girlfriend couldn't handle the pro level waves we experienced the first day, so Dante brought us back later in the week when it was calmer, free of charge. Lounge chairs, water, and fresh pineapple completed a great day at the beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ppmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's Water Sports also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Dante's Water Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing