We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful, Spacious, and what a View!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Nicolas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas Nicolas
Certificate of Excellence
Philomath, Oregon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Spacious, and what a View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had room #9 which was perfect for our family of four, lots of space for everyone. The rooms were super clean, well appropriated kitchen and the property was well maintained. The view from the terrace was amazing and we were able to see monkeys swinging through the trees below one morning. As others have said, the staff are extremely friendly and willing to go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. We enjoyed hanging out at the pool in the afternoon and visiting with other guests and my husband had a massage one afternoon poolside. The location is at the top of the hill, easily walkable to many restaurants and the grocery store. You can also take the bus into Quepos or to the beach. if you want to do excursions, ask any of the staff and they can book for you. The Manuel Antonio guide they use, Henry was amazing. He was constantly spotting animals while other guides walked on by. Even our teenage boys who aren't easily impressed were very impressed with Villas Nicholas and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    116
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
62
186
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Really friendly staff and site. Great apartment with full kitchen and terrace. Great for making cocktails and watching the sun set. Very happy with our 3 night stay. Is also close to restaurants and supermarkets.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonesfamily2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Villas Nicholas was our last stop in CR. The property is beautiful. The rooms are not huge, but the terrace is at least the same size as the room, and we spent most of our room time there. The food was wonderful, so we ended up eating dinner there more than planned. (However, breakfast each day was exactly the same.) Staff were great in booking re booking a rafting trip for us when the company cancelled when we were not around. (The hotel is on top of a hill so if you are going to one of the several beaches on foot, plan on going straight downhill one way and straight uphill the other!) Staff directed us to a beautiful secluded beach we reached through an unmarked trail through the woods. The only potential downside...If you are allergic to cats, you should think twice. There's cats hanging out on the property, and we became quite friendly with Gato who hung out in a chair on our terrace most of the time we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLFabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The three desk staff Alexandra, Julio, and Pierre were extremely nice and really helped speak in very good English because I spoke very bad Spanish. Alexandra showed us our room and lots of good suggestions to eat for the night. She also booked our Interbus to San Jose from this hotel. Julio helped us with laundry, they do a USA size load for $20 and booked our Manuel Antonio tour with an Excellent guide. Pierre hooked us on a great restaurant Emilio's Cafe that has excellent food and desserts at local prices, not tourist prices. We watched from the patio, white face monkeys climb through the trees around us and tucanes fly by as we'll as humming birds in the bushes. Costa Rica is a very wet location with many plants, birds, animals and insects. If you have a light on in the room all night, you will wake up with many flying insects if there is an opening for them. We did not experience this, because we used the moon light with the curtains open for our patio was a private view of the ocean. Keep up the pleasant hospitality. Thank you all mentioned for making our stay even more enjoyable.
Dennis and Dale Yeager room 6 up , May 26 through 29 th 2013

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dennis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My review is a little late, I forgot I never reviewed after our visit last year. We really liked this place and the price for the location is great. It is sort of an ecolodge, but we took our computers so we could watch movies while we were there. We were also able to get a wifi connection good enough to watch YouTube.
They let us switch our room when we first got there because we weren't in love with the view of our first one. The owner also had a pizza delivered to us one night which was delicious and much cheaper than the restaurants around. The free breakfast was pretty good, and I loved the kitties hanging around on the property. I was actually glad to see they fed them and put the babies up at night. We had a great room with ocean views but still in the middle of the rainforest. The front desk also booked excursions for us and they picked us up at the property. It's so close to MA park and the beach, so it we were able to go around town and be anywhere within 5 minutes. All of the staff was really nice, and we felt like we had a lot of privacy from our neighbors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The lady at the front desk barely said Hello to us when we arrived. She told us the cost was 95$ taxes included for one night and when i came back home i've noticed that i've been charged 115$ on my credit card. No one helped us with our luggages and we had to go down a few flights of stairs to our room.The room was smelly but still nice. The problem began when my boyfriend went into the bathroom right before going to sleep. There was bugs coming in from a hole above the door. In a matter of minutes the room was infested with ants and other bugs. We ran out of the room with our luggages in our pyjamas. There was no staff at the front desk at this hour so a security guard gave us another room. The other room was a downgrade. We had two small beds, so my boyfriend and I had to sleep in seperate beds. It was really hot in the room and it took about an hour for the a/c to cool down the room. Next morning the staff didn't offer any excuse and they didn't seem to bother at ALL!!!! The garden, pool area and breakfast were great but there is no excuses for the fact that we didn't have a good night of sleep and didn't get the chance to enjoy our room. Don't go there, there's plenty of other good hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValoMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We traveled to Manuel Antonio in February 2013 and got lucky to be able to stay in this hotel. We did not have a reservation in advance so we were pleased that they had a room. The hotel grounds are very safe, and beautiful. The hotel is built on the side of a hill so there are paths and steps you need to be able to navigate to get to most of the rooms. Though you can tell that this hotel is older, it has been well cared for and is a good value. Our room was large, had great views, and all the appointments of home. I would defiantly stay here again when in the area, and the restaurant on-sight is also fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranhar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Property: Villas Nicolas
Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villas Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing