We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty patios & pool, good service, nice rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Nicolas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas Nicolas
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, WA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pretty patios & pool, good service, nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Villas Nicolas; the staff (reception, breakfast & dinner) are very helpful, the gardens and pool are very clean and well kept and the fellow guests are friendly. The pool was a great temp and the lounge chairs were comfortable (yep, we fell asleep)

Units: We reserved a 1 bedroom with 2 queen beds and also 2 twin day beds in the main / living area. The beds and pillows were comfortable; there was air conditioning in the bedroom and ceiling fans throughout the rest of the unit which kept it comfortable. Our kitchen had all the appliances and tools you may need to make simple meals and snacks. The rooms, kitchen and bathroom were very clean and housekeeping visited each day. We enjoyed a lovely patio with table, chairs and hammock and view of the jungle and ocean - it was a great place to watch the monkeys move through the trees each morning.

Restaurant: we loved the breakfast each morning made by two kind ladies. Fresh tortillas, rice, beans and eggs made to order along with good coffee and fresh fruit. We had cocktails and an amazing banana dessert one evening and another night we stayed for cocktails and dinner. Everything was very well prepared, fresh and delicious. I enjoyed the hearts of palm salad and the cocktails were top-notch.

Location: I thought it was a good location in walking distance to bars & restaurants, the bus stop and you can walk down the hill relatively easily to the beach and to Manuel Antonio National Park. We stayed in three areas of Costa Rica on this trip, Guanacaste, Arenal and Manuel Antonio and I'd say for sure I would come back to M.A. and stay at Villas Nicolas because we enjoyed our stay so much and I feel there is alot more that we just didn't have time to see or explore during our 4 days here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    116
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
62
185
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We drove to Manuel Antonio with no hotel reservations and happened to stumble upon Villas Nicholas. We asked for a tour of the property and they happily took us to the different available room types. We opted for one with a huge balcony that overlooked the hills and ocean. It had a hammock that gave it the "vacation" vibe. The room itself was basic, but nice. I have to say the appeal really was the feeling of being on a tropical vacation. Views to die for, a room that was open and had nice accomodations, and good location. There was even a cat that I believe to be the resident cat, that liked to come visit with us :) This is not a place with lots to do. The pool is small with a small outdoor bar, but breakfast was delish and was walking distance to good restaurants and a really cool airplane bar. The beach is a few minutes down the hill, as well as the National Park (a must see) We only stayed in Manuel Antonio for one night, as we were sight seeing as much of Costa Rica as we could. Would definately return!

Room Tip: Rooms with large balcony have to die for views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We travelled here as a family of four and had 2 bedroom suite with kitchenette that was fully equipped with utensils, blender, toaster, oven microwave, pots and pans you name it. The main bedroom had the air conditioning unit and rest of suite was cooled by ceiling fans. We save money by making our own meals, but have to agree that the restaurant (only serves dinner) served us one of our top meals on our trip (the other was Ginger in playa hermosa, guanacaste) and having worked in the restaurant industry for many years I can be fairly critical of good cuisine, cocktails and service. The menu selection is simple, yet executed very well. The service was more like what we're used to in the states, as the servers were very attentive, in comparison to the laid back service we'd received in our other experiences. Try the macadamia pie and baked banana deserts, those will be stored in my memory bank for years. I was very impressed with the restaurant overall, made me happy to find a spot that was doing good by the guests. They also serve free breakfast every morning, Tico style - beans and rice with eggs, scrambled or fried, and choice of toast or house made tortillas. The pool was deeper than most and Luke warm, not like the hot spring pools we went in up in Arenal, but not frigid. They store the lounge cushions overnight so they're in good condition, but there are limited chairs. There are many monkeys that have their daily routines through the jungle right below you, bring ear plugs as they are vocal through the night and early morning. We got to see a family of white faced monkeys from our balcony in the morning climbing up through the trees. This place is certainly a nice, quaint spot for those who like the outdoors, animals, and happy go lucky people like my family. My mom booked it, and said that this was actually her second choice, as she had wanted a hotel closer to the beach, but it was booked already. That is the only downside of this place, that the beach is a walk away, but the bus was not difficult to ride and the walk there is downhill. Being a food snob, I'm happy we stayed here and got to experience the yummy foods :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajgranberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have vacationed in Costa Rica for over 15 years and as part of our annual travels throughout the country we have stayed at Villas Nicolas for over 10 of those years. It has been consistently wonderful. We always say that it’s like going home.
The views from the extra-large private balconies are spectacular. Overlooking jungle and ocean you will see 3 different kinds of monkeys, exotic birds and an occasional sloth.
On the road side of Villas Nicolas you can catch a bus of taxi in one direction to the bustling town of Quepos and in the other direction to the beach and national park. We also do a daily walk from Villas Nicolas down a country road to the beach, then along the beach to the park. Villas Nicolas is within walking distance to many restaurants, bars and coffee shops.
We love to cook in and Villas Nicolas offers in its lower units full kitchens. When we don’t feel like cooking, the restaurant at Villas is second to none. Just make sure to make reservations at least a day ahead of time.
A big thank you to Sheryl, Julio and the rest of the staff for making our stays at Villas Nicolas consistently enjoyable.
We will be back, many times.
Tim n Zoe

Room Tip: Lower units have full kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend. We spent 3 days here and it was great! The staff was friendly, the ladies who cooked our breakfast were great, and the location was also good. Monkeys came onto the property almost every day, and the view was great too! I only give 4 stars because the maid constantly moved our stuff to complete opposite ends of the room. Other than that, I'll stay here again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent two days at villas Nicolas at the end of a very active (for us) week in Costa Rica. It was perfect for what we wanted. Spacious, comfortable, room with large balconies for sitting and enjoying the atmosphere. Beautiful outlook and friendly staff. Would recommend having at least one meal at the on site restaurant, but close to many other great options for food. Bus just outside the door for the ride down to park and beach, or into Quepos. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our third visit to Villas Nicolas, each time we expect things to be different from the past trip, but this place is always the same, always fantastic. The staff are always friendly and helpful, the rooms are always clean and pleasant. The El Rancho restaurant always makes the best food at reasonable prices served by the friendliest staff. The pool and grounds are always well maintained and the location is perfect, close to everything, restaurants, bars, beach. We like Villas Nicolas so much, we have already reserved for next winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Property: Villas Nicolas
Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villas Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing