We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Nicolas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Nicolas
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend. We spent 3 days here and it was great! The staff was friendly, the ladies who cooked our breakfast were great, and the location was also good. Monkeys came onto the property almost every day, and the view was great too! I only give 4 stars because the maid constantly moved our stuff to complete opposite ends of the room. Other than that, I'll stay here again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    114
    22
    9
    9
See reviews for
62
181
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent two days at villas Nicolas at the end of a very active (for us) week in Costa Rica. It was perfect for what we wanted. Spacious, comfortable, room with large balconies for sitting and enjoying the atmosphere. Beautiful outlook and friendly staff. Would recommend having at least one meal at the on site restaurant, but close to many other great options for food. Bus just outside the door for the ride down to park and beach, or into Quepos. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our third visit to Villas Nicolas, each time we expect things to be different from the past trip, but this place is always the same, always fantastic. The staff are always friendly and helpful, the rooms are always clean and pleasant. The El Rancho restaurant always makes the best food at reasonable prices served by the friendliest staff. The pool and grounds are always well maintained and the location is perfect, close to everything, restaurants, bars, beach. We like Villas Nicolas so much, we have already reserved for next winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our last stop in C.R. of 4 different geographical area - from N. Caribbean to Arenal, Monteverde to M.A. over 2 weeks. This was both my favorite area and the best place we stayed on the trip. The rooms were just beautiful - full kitchens, living room, adequate bath (low water pressure) and ocean views off the patio (also large, with table chairs and hammock). The only ding on our particular room was it was open from the living room area to the bedroom. Would have been nice to close it off (like a true suite). Staff very friendly and helpful. I would absolutely recommend Villas Nicolas in all respects.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on some trips and not stayed there on others. I just returned from a trip where I came back to this condo complex after a couple of years. I felt like I was home. The grounds are beautiful, as is the pool and the restaurant is beyond compare. The rooms are fabulous and it is absolutely safe. You may be awakened by howler monkeys but that is one of the pleasures of Costa Rica. All to say I will not stay elsewhere if I am in the Manuel Antonio area. It's such a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were so so pleased with our stay here! The villas are very spacious and beautiful! Amazingly large patio with hammock boasts a beautiful ocean/ jungle view. Breathtaking! Close to many shops and restaurants! Julio and the rest of the staff were so accommodating and welcoming! They booked all of our tours too! Walking distance to the Manuel Antonio national park and beaches ( a nice 20 or 25 minute walk.. Hike on return!) we also would recommend the ADR tour for a thrilling and adrenaline adventure of zip lining and repelling !! Absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is higher up to get the better views! All rooms have great views but the one up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergeronm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Since 1999 I have travelled to Manuel Antonio/Quepos Costa Rica and stayed at Villas Nicolas
It is simply one of our favorite places in the world to go! This is my ninth trip to this resort area in the Pacific region.
Going back to Villas Nicolas is like visiting an old friend: warm, comfortable and always welcoming.
Villas Nicolas is a collection of cheerful "hotel villas" that are situated on the top of the "hill" in Manuel Antonio overlooking the jungle and Pacific ocean. When travelling to Manuel Antonio the best place is to be on "top of the hill". Close to dining, nightlife, transportation and shopping. Yet looking out the back terrace all you see is lush jungle and the Pacific Ocean.
Units are rented daily/weekly or by the month.
Many of the "villas" have a small kitchenette, a well appointed bed room, sitting area and out side terraces. Units are decorated with art work from local artists. There is a wide variety of units from budget to deluxe. We like staying in a unit that boasts a small kitchenette.
The grounds are a mix of native tropical plants, with three different types of monkeys that travel through the thick jungle canopy everyday. Everyday we see and hear a variety of primates at our door step!
Chef Pato, a well known chef in Manuel Antonio holds court everyday (except Sunday) at El Rancho, a gourmet boutique restaurant located on the grounds of Villas Nicolas. The open air restaurant is casual, and very affordable.
Overall the Villas Nicolas is clean, quiet and well managed. Much of the staff has worked for the organization for many years.
It always feels like home, Can hardly wait for next year!!

Room Tip: sunsets are remarkable. Eat at the Rancho restaurant located on the property. Most rooms have ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ogunquitME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 934 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Property: Villas Nicolas
Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6130, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing