We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Nicolas
Nearby Hotels
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$164
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$381
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$180
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$96
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$294
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$486
$464
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveler rating
231
132
28
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
132
28
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeyscosta ricafull kitchenevery morningnational parktico breakfastgrocery storesmall supermarketlonger stayrocking chairsocean viewcafe milagrolocal activitiesfabulous staythe main roadbars and restaurantsbus ride
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 415 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Villa Nicolas was a wonderful place to stay. It's centrally located, beautiful and everyone is very friendly. We loved the fact that it was fairly small which made it personable. The deck was fantastic, the landscaping was beautiful and the monkeys came around during the day, which was fun. The bed in the room was very comfortable and there was a small refrigerator and dishes so we could buy some snacks or drinks to keep in the room. We also loved the pool and the restaurant was delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here with my mother from 3/31 to 4/6 and really enjoyed it. We had made reservations elsewhere, but when we arrived we found they had raised the price and the room was not as advertised. We've stayed in MA in the past and heard good things about Villas Nicolas, so we took a cab there and the very friendly security guard put us in a room for the night. The next day the staff were very friendly and wonderfully helpful and were able to arrange things so we stayed 3 nights in 2-up, 3 night in room 10, then I stayed 2 additional days in Oasis 1.

The prices are very reasonable for the area, both rooms were lovely and clean, with art, pretty bathrooms, and great terraces with hammocks! The restaurant was great, the fish is amazing but I also recommend the mango mozzarella salad. "Breakfast included" was both a blessing and a curse (it was delicious, but we also love the breakfast at Cafe Milagro right up the street).

The amount of wildlife visible from the room was incredible. The monkey bridge across the road is very close, and we saw squirrel monkeys, howlers, and capuchins, in addition to several bird species and a sloth!

Location is also wonderful, right near the bus stop for the $0.50 bus to the beach, across the street from a nature reserve with a butterfly garden and awesome night-time frog tour, and walking-distance from the grocery store, spa uno, and several bars/restaurants.

Definitely coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2-up, 10, and Oasis 1(one of their apartments). The villa rooms were both very clean, quiet, nested in vegetation. Room 10 is one of the lower rooms, with stairs that were fine for my mother and I, but maybe a bit much if you have knee problems. The apartments aren't quite as quiet, but I had no problems.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asaxtron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

5 minutes away from Manuel Antonio National park, walking distance from good food and good places to hang out, pretty, large and comfortable room with a stunning ocean view, howling monkeys on the hotel property, guard in front of the hotel at night, excellent breakfast in the morning, friendly and useful staff, Villa Nicolas is the total package for a perfect trip in Manuel Antonio!

Our experience was well above our expectations.

A hint : Even the large amount of good restaurants in the area, you have allow you one diner at the hotel. The chef is excellent and he masters fresh fish (new handpick fishes everyday) like no one.

We'll be back at any time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc-André F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I read the amazing reviews for Villas Nicolas on trip advisor and they are all true! Villas Nicolas is a true gem! We drove to Manuel Antonio from La Fortuna to pull up to this hidden mirage! From the moment we walked in to the moment we left (with very sad faces) the staff here exceeded all expectations! We stayed in a type 2 room that had a view I will never forget and would like to get back to very soon!
The hotel itself is very small and the staff gives all the guests the attention they need! Evelyn greeted us and helped with our bags to our Villa as did she help recommend restaurants to eat at while we were visiting. Julio also was extremely helpful with recommendations and answering any questions about the area.
We spoke to a few of the other guests staying here and they have been visiting for 15 years plus and still love the hotel. So whatever they have been doing they're doing a great job in my book!
The restaurant here is called El Rancho located in the courtyard by the pool. Breakfast was delicious every morning! We'd enjoy fresh orange juice and delicious coffee along with eggs any style with bacon rice and beans or huevos rancheros not mentioning a number of other options! We had dinner here one night which was also delicious and reasonable! It was probably the best meal we had the entire trip! I ordered ahi tuna with a mango salsa which wasn't on the menu but was suggested to me by the waitress and my boyfriend had the steak which was cooked so perfectly and melted in your mouth! Kudos to the chef and staff at El Rancho!
In the afternoon after wondering Manuel Antonio we would sit by the quiet pool to read and watch the monkeys come out and swing in the trees around us!
Our room was just perfect for us! Large patio with a hammock over looking the trees and the ocean. In the morning we'd wake up and watch birds I have never seen in my life fly around. We were also greeted by a large frog waiting for us one evening on the stairs. All rooms have a small refrigerator that we stocked with some wine, juice, and beer for the evenings. Also nice that there is an air conditioner and NO tv! I've heard people complain about bugs but it comes with the territory so bring spray or just don't come to Costa Rica :)
The location is really great! Just a short walk to the beach, National Park, Restaurants, and Bars. When originally looking at hotels i was hesitant on the 15min walk to the beach only to find out all hotels in Manuel Antonio are not located on the beach.
Villas Nicolas Thank you so much for making our stay even more enjoyable! We definitely will be coming back! (I miss it so much already!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

After spending three weeks in the Osa (south west C.R.) we were ready for some time getting spoiled. The Villas Nicolas are all very privately tugged in the jungle with huge balconies from which you can watch monkeys and birds, and sloths, etc. You can relax in some rocking chairs and enjoy the excellent view over the ocean and part of the Manuel Antonio State Park. We chose one with a living room and a bedroom that had an extra single bed.There is A/C, although we never seemed to need it. Ample of fans were available.
If you do not want to take advantage of the local restaurants, you have an established fully equipped kitchen and you can eat at home. There is also a restaurant on the premesis overlooking the pool where you get a hearty and tasty breakfast included in your price. The maid services is daily and extremely thourough. The supermarket and pharmacy are in close distance. And if you get tired of all the fun of Manuel Antonio, you can go and explore the town of Quepos, There are lots of fun places to entertain and eat in Manuel Antonio as well as a few in Qoepos. The most important visit will be your exploration of the Manuel Antonio State Park.
There are many beaches to go to, they are all different and all beautiful.Pura Vida!

Room Tip: The villas closer to the pool area (higher up) have a better view
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews