We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not for everyone - but it is for us!”
Review of Villas Nicolas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Nicolas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Their website says they may not be for everyone, but we cannot find a vault! The service has been terrific, the room is unbelievable, and the grounds are beautiful! We have a large private patio outside our small room with seating and a hammock and an unbelievable view across the forest to the beach below. The pool is a good sized and very clean. The hotel restaurant's food has been fantastic plus it is reasonably priced for the area. Overall, the best "beach resort" hotels we have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thundering-pause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 370 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2011

This is a postdated review. My fiance and I traveled to Manuel Antonio in January of 2009 and absolutely loved this hotel. The balcony itself and the view were definitely the highlights! This hotel met all of our needs- budget, location, privacy, and experience. The hotel provides a very serene, tropical, feel. It's in a great location on a street among other hotels that sit above Quepos. There were great restaurants and some bars close by. I would recomend this hotel to anyone looking to kick back and want a tropical paradise feel. Also the excursions we booked picked us up right outside the front of the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lec1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Privately owned townhouses,,we rented an upper and a lower one. Great porch and views of the rock and the water. Very nice pool, and small restaurant. Nice breakfast included daily, and two borthers run the retauarant at night. Great, fresh cooking and alot of value for the money. We had beef and fresh dorado and were very pleased.
Furnishings are a bit dated, but overall, a nice stay for the money. Visit Aqua Azul for fish tacos, just north of Nicolas. Second floor views of the bay and cold Imperial cerveza. Bueno!
Get the lowdown if you plan to go to the national park. It can be very confusing and somewhat maddening just to park and the guides.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbingham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

My wife and 7 year old son recently visited Costa Rica and had a fantastic time. The only negatives on our trip where the hotel accomidations. On the second leg of our trip we stayed at Villas Nicolas for 4 nights. We had spend the previous 4 nights at Tree Houses hotel near La Fortuna and were thrilled to be out of there and in to a more conventional villa. Great stories to laugh about now from tree houses but that's a seperate review.

Villas Nicolas is a very nice property with a beautiful pool and restaurant area and very freindly and helpful desk personnel. We stayed in Villa #11 and were very excited and happy about the size and the open floor plan. The view was great, a view of an island in the distance. Make no mistake, you are a long way from the ocean, but you do have a great view. The restaurant is privately owned and the breakfast is very good, fresh fruit, gallo pinto (beans and rice) eggs and juice.

After being there a few hours we started to notice the little things and the fact the it really needs to either be cleaned a lot better or needed updating. There were cobwebs in corners and on furniture. Also, we understand we are in a jungle area and there are bugs and lizards but we don't really want them crawling on us at night. The first night we had a gecko on our cieling all night and my wife thought something bit her in bed. The second night there was a huge cockroach under my camera bag in the livingroom and a gecko on our ceiling. The third night something woke me from a dead sleep by rapidly crawling up my leg. I awoke the next morning to a 2" beatle crawling across the floor then out under the door to the patio. I guess what I'm getting at is #11 needs some caulking and door sweeps to keep the critters out. We stayed at a different hotel two years ago and had no bugs.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crcckccjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slitherCR, General Manager at Villas Nicolas, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Our units have all been updated and we are frequently "tweaking"" things here and there at Villas Nicolas. Cleanliness is one of our priorities, many of our reviewers have congratulated us on it , and if "the ball was dropped" in your case we will definitely heed your comments on this.
Villas Nicolas is 22 year old property whose jungle setting invites not only birds , monkeys, sloths,watusas but also geckos, ants, tropical beetles (cockroaches are one species), butterflies, giant moths, etc.
We do our best to keep them out of our rooms but we prefer to avoid using toxic.pesticides which will upset the balance of our surrounding jungle. Consequently you may experience insects from time to time. They can come in from our large outdoor oceanview decks.
The geckos which sometimes find their way in ,are the natural predator for such insects.They are completely harmless to humans and are in fact your friend because they feed on insects.
Villas Nicolas was built by locals with local materials in the late 80's. We consider ourselves to be "rustic chic" . Our doors are handcrafted from beautiful woods and unlike metal doors, cannot hermetically seal our rooms because of the frequent change in climate , occasional tremors etc.
Living in harmony with nature means all nature, and that includes a tolerance for the occasional influx of insect life which is indigenous to this part of Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I traveled to Manuel Antonio and I had looked at sooo many hotels and we finally found this one. It turns out all the hotels are all basically within a mile of eachother. Villas Nicolas was amazing. Our room had a huge spacious patio with a great view. The hotel's website's pictures is exactly what it looks like! The receptionists were extreeemely helpful. We asked them to book something for us and DONE within a second. The location has some great spots around it. The hotel Byblos has a small casino, Barba Rioja has good food and a fun bar scene, and we loooved the food at Cafe Milagra!
Had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesiAndrea89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Manuel Antonio is beautiful - gorgeous beaches, lots of adventure activities, a beautiful national park. The downside is that it's incredibly touristy. It's virtually impossible to do anything without a tour guide or eat somewhere other than a hotel. So this results in lots of hotels that are very expensive (especially during high season) and not well-maintained.

Villas Nicolas is an exception. I stayed in 3 different hotels in Manuel Antonio and this was, by far, the best quality and the best value.

MAINTENANCE: Some of the other hotels had fantastic pools and views, but the rooms had poor air conditioning, mold in the bathrooms, rickety lighting, etc. But Villas Nicolas had perfectly maintained facilities. I stayed in Room 7 Down.

POOL/VIEW: Wonderful. Pool is right next to a small restaurant/bar that actually has an original menu (most places in Manuel Antonio serve the same stuff - spaghetti bolognese, Mahi Mahi, etc.)

SERVICE: The two people at the front desk were excellent - Alexandria and Jose. They called bus companies for me, got me discounts on tours, etc... all with a happy smile.

LOCATION: It's not really walking distance from the beach, but there are very few hotels in Manuel Antonio that are. Basically, there's a winding road without a sidewalk that's very dangerous to walk along. So either way, one needs to take a cab or a bus. Villas Nicolas is right on the main road, so it's easy to catch the bus (50 cents/ride).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDLee82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This is a great place to stay. You can see monkeys, bats, agoutis ... and lots of other wildlife from your covered deck, lying in your hammock there. Has a kitchen, close to good restaurants. Staff is fantastic and will bend over backwards to help you if you need it. The pool is nice and warm, and it is just a 5-minute drive to Manuel Antonio National Park (where you find the most spectacular beaches you may ever have seen -- but do enter the park to go to the beach, the ones outside do not compare.)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _M_A_A_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.3 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Nicolas

Address: Carretera Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6130, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $126 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Nicolas is a small 18 room condominium style hotel.We are located on the Manuel Antonio mountainside overlooking the Pacific Ocean.Our hotel is comprised of 5 rows of terraced rooms (approx 4 rooms per row)surrounded by gardens and jungle....all with oceanviews. Villas Nicolas is designed for the independent traveler who prefers "small & intimate" to the "all inclusive" resort type experience.Our Type 3 suites have full kitchens for those who wish to take advantage of the local produce and fresh fish that this area provides.We offer on site management and all night security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Nicolas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Nicolas
Villas Nicolas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing