We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveler rating
598
121
48
23
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
598
121
48
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean club infinity pool private beach every morning costa rica our honeymoon golf cart hotel beach the main road romantic getaway pool restaurant view of the ocean breakfast is served walked down main pool howler monkeys floor to ceiling windows
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 815 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2018

Just not our kind of place to stay. Pool area was great but rooms were just okay. Not a warming feeling for us. We go for more simple.
We had dinner and drinks at the bar. Very expensive and was just average by comparing it to other local restaurants.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKANDAFAMILY, Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Dear Jan,
Thank you for visiting our profile.
Such a shame that we were not the right hit for you...
Nor the main infinity pool with underwater sound system.
Neither the salt water pool with sushi bar.
Both locations with huge jacuzzis.
Might be that you did not have the chance to at least visit our cozy Shanti Spa or the Virgin Private Beach.
When creating our menus, we make an exhaustive market research to make sure we offer the BEST gastronomic offer and still being competitive and fair so everyone could visit Makanda Pool Lounge, Arbol Restaurant and the Sushi Bar.
https://www.arbolrestaurant.com/menu
Anyway, we would love that you come back to make sure we earn those 2 more stars ;-) We are confident we can!
Have a great and blessed week...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

My husband and I eloped in Costa Rica and chose to have our honeymoon at Makanda.
We have both traveled a lot and by far this is one of the best hotels we have ever been. Their customer service is outstanding and they are accommodating in every way possible. The Food is amazing and the ambiance is breathtaking. We brought our small dog and he was welcomed with open arms. I can’t say enough good things about this resort and we will be back. I highly recommend Makanda.

Room Tip: Ocean view
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Dear Laurie and Jason,
Thank you; we were honored that you guys choose Makanda for your Honeymoon.
It was such a pleasure to help you since the very first moment we got in contact.
We all miss Theodore and are crossing fingers for you to come back for your Anniversary.
Have a blessed long-life together...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

Nice hotel, good restaurant, but the service was no as expected. There was no help with tours or places to visit or beaches to go. They send us to the hotel beach but there was nothing but rocks...no place to seat and imposible to bath. They said that in each room there was a book with the nice spots around but there was none.
There are parts of the hotel under construction so it was a bit noisy at some hours.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKANDAFAMILY, Operartions Manager at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Dear Julia,
Thank you for visiting our profile.
We really appreciate your feedback, you can be sure it will be taken in serious consideration.
I would like to personally get in contact with you to personally go over specific issues and I can only pray that you come back to Makanda so we have the option to really pamper you and have you to enjoy the REAL Makanda experience, enjoy the personalized service that characterizes our Business.
Looking forward to talk with you.
Have a great and blessed week...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

Place looks absolutely amazing, staff are really friendly and helpful. The place is positioned on the side of the mountains and surrounded by monkeys. Darwin the host made our stay really enjoyable and looked after us the whole time. Recommend to all.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank danlegendtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Thank you for choosing Makanda and visiting our profile and for the great score.
It was such a pleasure to have you around, you made really easy to please you.
Looking forward to host you again.
Have a great and blessed week...!!!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at . Their service is beyond excellent. Jacklyn and evenly at the front desk were extra helpful and very friendly . Also Every time we would request a car to pick us up from our room Jorge the young guy would get there right away. He would make us laugh and made us feel very welcome as well. The staff in the swimming pool area was extra friendly. The rooms were remodel and fancy with a gorgeous view! the breakfast was extremely good and tasty. I have no complains at all , I’m. Very happy with everything! They treat you like a king/ Queen. The pool is open 24 hours you can’t beat that, plus the pool has a wonderful, gorgeous, pretty view. We’re definitely coming back again! Loved it

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
Thank marioMayito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Dear Mario,
Thank you for choosing our Property and visiting our profile.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Makanda full experience...
The Staff really enjoyed taking care of you and they all miss you already. Guys in every Department are always eager to help and go beyond their duties to ensure that our Customers have only the VIP service they deserve.
Please call us and remind us that you already stayed with us when making your next reservation, Returning Guest Discount will be honored ;-)
Have a great and blessed week...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews