We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeded expectations”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 12, 2009

It was difficult to chose a hotel at Manuel Antonio because of the large selection, but I am so glad we ended up at Makanda by the Sea. Each unit has a wonderful view of the the Pacific Ocean. In addition, the units are nestled into the hillside amongst the lush growth so that you cannot see any other buildings. The only visible sign of life is the wildlife, which gives the sense of complete privacy. We also loved the private beach. It is not the best for swimming (the public beach is only a 10-15 mintue walk away) but we enjoyed having it all to ourselves the morning we were there. What topped our stay off were the wonderful, gourmet breakfasts that were delivered to our door 20 minutes after ordering. How wonderful to eat in privacy on our patio, soaking in the view and the serenity. The infinity pool is beautiful, the poolside restaurant romantic, and the staff goes above and beyond to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Nice touches were fresh flowers and candles in our room. I cannot think of anything that could have made our stay any better.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snickers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Makanda by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 562 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Makanda by the Sea for what seemed the shortest week in our travels. Privately snuggled in the hills, surrounded by jungle, amazing views of the ocean and wildlife. The food and staff were among the best - professional, polite, extremely helpful. Whether you preferred to sleep in and relax in private, or join friends at the pool, or early rise and explore the country: Makanda excels at all. We cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djm1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We stayed in Villa #1, the most luxurious accomodations I've ever stayed in. Hammock in the room, view of the Pacific through the jungle, canopy bed enclosed in netting, view of the jungle behind the villa, just lovely. Pretty infinity pool with water view, restaurant aside the pool, monkeys and sloths very nearby. Staff went out of its way to show us the wildlife to help us enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennsylvaniaGirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

There are a total of 11 gorgeous rooms. Ours was 950 sq. feet. overlooking the jungle and the sea without another soul in sight.One day my wife was "chased" in from the terrace by a troop of Capucin Monjey's coming through. Most days we had the infinity pool to ourselves (adults only in any event). Imagine floating in the pool, watching the sun disappear into the Pacific with a troop of 15 Howler Monkeys in the tree immediately overhead. It was magical. It was romantic. it was wonderful. The food is excellent. The service is very good. Its close to Manuel Antonio Park (well worth a guided visit). Its also close to some very nice restaurants if you tire of the Sunspot on the property (which is quite romantic). The Jungle Canopy Zip Line is terrific . Oh, and a massage in a "tent" by the pool was wonderful also. Frankly, we had not expected to love it as much as we did and we would love to return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Luxury Link
3  Thank Ksp48a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We visited Makanda by the Sea, WOW! My wife and I celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary in unit 11. It was so romantic we've already planned to go again next year. If you want beauty, service, and excellent food this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tygertak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My wife and I spent 6 wonderful days in Makanda. It was our 3rd time staying at the hotel and it was just spectacular. We have travelled all over Costa Rica and are always happiest when the trip leads us to Makanda. The staff is always helpful and friendly. We have spent 2 anniversaries there and each time we had a special evening beginning with a splendid dinner poolside and ending with private time in our Villa. The restuarant staff will fo out of there way to ensure your special occasion remains special!! The food is awesome. For a romantic get away I can think of no better place.
There are plenty of things to do in the daytime for the more adventurous. I recommend the canopy zip line tour and there are also estuary kayak tours available.
Our favorite day is hiking to either the private "Hotel Beach" or if we feel like more of a challenge, we will walk to Manuel Antonio Beach. If you want privacy the Hotel Beach is the way to go.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My Costa Rica vacation was incredible mainly due to the fact that I stayed at Makanda the location was fabulous with the rain forest surroundings the staff was extremely accommodating, they often stop to show us the wildlife on the grounds. The restaurant at the pool served delicious food. This was a relaxing trip but at the same time a tremendous amount of fun. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Quepos!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yunk05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,477 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $242 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing