We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ghost Restaurant”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Frederick, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Ghost Restaurant”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This restaurant has been recommended to me on two different trips to Costa Rica. I've tried three times now and it's never open. Not easy to find, no signs on the highway. Perhaps it is just open for hotel guests.

Room Tip: suggest you try the Alma Hotel in Esterillos.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leaper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    92
    32
    20
    19
See reviews for
40
393
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Specially during holiday season Manuel Antonio is a crowded, noisy and not very amusing place.
So you will be happy to stay in a quiet and peaceful retreat.
And what an outstanding retreat Makanda is!
Studio with overwhelming sea views, great breakfasts on private terrace, beautiful and spacious japanese style furnished rooms, pool with tremendous sea views as well and pool bar service whole day through, excellent restaurant.
N.P. is famous for endangered squirrel monkey. But we haven´t seen these cute mammels in the N.P., but close to the pool of Macanda- feeding in the trees. Same experience with toucans and lots of other birds.
Private beach just a steep 10min- hike down the hill through beautiful secondary forest- should not be missed.
Great staff both at reception and poolside restaurant- thanks guys, you made us feel like at home!
Well worth the couple of $$ more- highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: studio 4 has outstanding sea- views and is close enough to pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We had fantastic ocean views as well as view to flowers, trees ....and 'guests' in the treetops: monkeys, birds. Room tip: some of the villas are near the reception/gate/road. Here you get more artificial light, more 'domestic' noise and noise from the road. Go for the rooms which are further away from these area

The whole area of Manuel Antonio is very steep, not suited for people whose legs or heart don't work properly. Also at Makanda many steps to the rooms, the restaurant, pool etc.

Rooms are spacious, well equipped and are kept nice and clean. Fresh tropical flowers. The housekeeper impresses with towelart :-)

Good food , Breakfast served In the villa. If you are off somewhere early, order it the evening before

Lovely private beach , 10 minutes steep uphill back home is really worth it. The pool is also very nice, and the service the very best. Also not a very long walk to Manuel antonio public beach and National park entrance. To avoid walking uphill back home, catch the bus which runs every half hour AND walk downhill the last fee meters from the mainroad.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Wow! What an amazing property! This was our second stop on our adventure around Costa Rica, for our Honeymoon, and we will be back someday! Makanda by the Sea is just a gem. Having your own private villa set in the rainforest, overlooking the ocean, doesn't get much better.. but wait, then your breakfast is delivered fresh everyday and the monkeys come to visit in the afternoon! The wait staff at the pool bar are fantastic and also gave us great recommendations for eating outside the resort. Not to mention, the restaurant is amazing by the pool as well. We made some wonderful memories in the Manuel Antonio area and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Deluxe Studio 11 is very private and worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed at Makanda in Nov of 2013 with my girlfriend for 3 days. Absolutely loved the atmosphere, rooms, food, and location. Service was very excellent and made us feel welcome and helped us plan a excursion, delivered food, breakfast included (+fresh juice). The pool was very nice (infinity overlooking the ocean) + hot tub. Room (Villa #1) was incredible, amazing views (huge windows) great kitchen, living room and comfy bed. Definitely will return as the location is super prime and walking distance from two beaches (public + private) + a solid restaurant on property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We agree with all the positive reviews of this place. Our room (more like a an apartment) was large, comfortable and had a stunning view of the Pacific Ocean beyond forest packed with wild life. For example we were visited one morning by a band of capuchin monkeys displaying their acrobatic skills in the trees around our room.
The staff take the need for security (common to all the hotels in this area) very seriously and we felt safe throughout our stay.
A delicious breakfast was served on our terrace every morning.
The infinity swimming pool is fantastic.
The beaches close to the hotel are stunning and the climb back up the hill good for the soul.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My friends and I stayed at Makanda By The Sea in January 2014. We had adjoining suites, both with gorgeous sweeping views of the Ocean, and nestled in the lush foliage of the Costa Rica "jungle". The property is very secure. Our rooms, spacious, very comfortable, and well maintained. The pool absolutely stunning. And the service excellent. We loved Makanda and highly recommend it if you are visiting Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: I stayed in Suite #3, which is technically a studio, but very large, and with a very large, luxuriou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimJDolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Property: Makanda by the Sea
Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing