We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best In Manuel Antonio”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Arrived there after a week on the carribbean coast. I was expecting it to be lovely but no where near as lovely as what we found when we got there...everything was spotless and the rooms were a brilliant size. The views were unparralelled anywhere in Manuel Antonio and on top of this we got an upgrade to a Villa as a result of a Boiler problem in a studio. We spent 6 nights in the most comfortable bed i've ever slept in, finding it hard to adjust now i'm back in my own. Pool is gorgeous and the wildlife is everywhere...saw 3 types of monkey while staying here, on top of the butterflies, lizards and nyumerous birds...more animals than the national park. Overall we enjoyed this hotel 100% and would (and have) recommend it to all my friends. Would recommend hiring a car for a holiday down here, as taxi drivers know its an upmarket hotel and tend to set their own prices. Althought he hotel does offer a shuttle to top of Hill for free. Good touch. And its quiet, with only 11 rooms there was rarely more than 2 couples by the pool at anyone time..Paradise!

It's AMAZING...go!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank n_parker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 578 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2008

The view from our room is the cover picture of our album. It is simply gorgeous - bannana tree right in front of the porch. Beautiful ocean view. We stayed in Villa #7. It's an easy hike to the pool. The open shower is way cool - you'll love it. Housekeeping leaves towels in shapes - swans, teddy bears, hearts - very cute.

It was great to be in a couples only place - we left our two kids home for our anniversary trip.

Monkeys came right down to the pool one afternoon - it was very exciting. We also saw them cross the monkey bridge one morning as we were waiting for our tour bus.

The hotel is down a long bumpy road and requires a taxi - which is about $7 each way to the beach.

Infinity pool is great; as is the pool side restaurant.

We walked down the steps to the beach at low tide. We weren't sure if we should turn around or not because we didn't know how far. We were brave and went all the way down. It was easier coming back up than we expected. The beach is black and rocky - no umbrellas or chairs - and nobody else around - if there was an emergency - you would be out of luck - but we were glad we went on the adventure - the kids loved the rocks and coral that we picked up on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MdWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

If you want to be pampered and get a taste of luxury, Makanda by the Sea is the place! Great staff, excellent food and beautiful views! Be sure to get your walk in during the morning, lots of monkeys and birds to be seen in their natural habitat. Great location for adventure too, definitely check out the National Park.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfield3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

What a wonderful place! A perfect place for romance and relaxation. We stayed in Studio 9 and it was excellent. It's like we were plunked down in the jungle, but with plenty of amenities. We sat on our terrace every morning with our coffee viewing the ocean and watching the birds, iguanas and butterflies pass by. One morning we saw an entire troupe of squirrel monkeys go right by on the tree branches- apparently this is very rare and we were so excited. The rooms are spacious, the pool was a delight- great place to just read and relax while taking in the beautiful view and to watch the wildlife around us. We did a couple tours which the staff handled for us. The staff was friendly- especially the guys at the restaurant. Some of the food at the restaurant was amazing- in particular, the Cuban pulled pork quesadilla (lunch) and the grilled squid appetizer (dinner). I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DC327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We stayed in Villa 10- King sized very comfortable bed, huge wrap around comfortable couch, TV with cable, large kitchenette, nice bathroom with great toiletries. The best part about this hotel was the balcony. Very large, comfortable chairs on the balcony along with a table and chairs and a hammock. As soon as we got there a few Squirrel monkeys came to visit us. We also saw White faced monkies from our balcony. The view of the ocean is OK- no view of MA park. It was a perfect spot for the sunset- we had front row seats, unobstructed view of the most gorgeous sunsets!
We didn't use the pool, didn't appeal much to us. Ate lunch at the poolside restaurant which got great views in travel books. We thought it was ok, very expensive.
They serve you breakfast in your room, it was pretty good. The beach accessed from inside the hotel grounds is not appealing at all, besides, it was a steep 10 minute walk though a path in the jungle to get there. There was another beach down the road past La Mansion Inn and past the new condos being built called Playa Besanz (sp?) that we went to- 20 minute at the most from Makanda - beautiful water and sand and you can snorkel- if you go, bring water shoes. Almost the entire floor of the water is large stones.
This hotel is a 10-15 minute cab ride from MA park- that is where we really enjoyed the beaches although they were a bit of a hike to get there and there is almost no beach during high tide, MA beach is the most gorgeous beach with the clearest water.

Animals on the property were abundant...saw tons of iguanas, two sloths pointed out by the nice man at the front gate two different times, and lots of monkeys.

They took us by golf cart to La Mariposa for dinner/drinks one night (Tuesdays their one and only restaurant is closed) which was a nice service. We were floored by the the fantastic view here and the pool area...I think I would stay there next.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tori9054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Villa 1 was where we stayed, and though it didn't have a patio, it had a spectacular view with hammock to enjoy it from. It was a little rural and hard to get in and out of the hotel, but overall the experience was enjoyable. If you are looking to just relax and get away from it all this is the place

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank enigmatic1jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

This is "the" place to go for romance. The villas and suites are all lost in the jungle on a steep terrain, so it's very private. Our suite -11- was right under an unoccupied villa (I don't see why they have different appellation... the room upstairs was simply a little bigger) but the house holding the suite (downstairs) and the villa (upstairs) was secluded from other villas, so you get total peace (I was actually naked on my balcony for a couple of minu... you get the deal...)

Our suite (11) was very large and we think for 250$, it was worth it (or at least for Costa Rica's stardards). It had a little kitchen where you eat your delivered breakfast. You get a large bathroom, a super comfy bed with a quilt (at last!), TV, Air Con and more switch for fans and lighting than you can dream (there really is a lot).

We didn't believe the food was good value so we cooked at night in our room.

The pool is great. They have a jacuzzi. You can also walk down to a semi private each (the beaches in Costa Rica are public but the access of this beach is mainly private).

The service is okay but it's not their selling point. Go there for the rooms/suites/villas and you wont' be disappointed.

Recommended

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loudo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $236 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing