We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a private villa”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

For some reason this place does not get the high ranking it deserves. Our room #3 was spectacular. Large wall of glass facing the sea, comfortable sofa and and an attractive floor of black, polished concrete tiles.
Great infinity pool and a very decent restaurant all in a jungle location without noisy neighbours.
Playa Biesanz is an easy 20 min walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anachronist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Makanda by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 562 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Makanda by the Sea is sited in the book Elegant Small Hotels listing the best small hotels around the world. That says a lot for this beautiful hotel set amongst tall trees and lush landscaping. We were greeted at the gate with a golf cart to take our luggage and ourselves to the reception desk where we were served a welcoming drink. The hotel consists of 11 villas some of which are attached but provide all the privacy and security you would want. Our villa had a large room with a built in sofa at the foot of the bed. There was also a view of the ocean from our terrace. The room even had a large vase of fresh flowers. There was also a small kitchenette with a refrigerator so we could store cold drinks, coffee maker, 2 electric cooktops, sink and dinnerware if you wanted to prepare something. The bathroom had a huge shower. The swimming pool had an infinity edge making photography especially inviting. It was relaxing to sit by the pool and occasionally dip in. The tree surrounding the pool had a sloth in it the day we arrived. The eating area is located at the edge of the pool. Service is exceptional with the waiter explaining the various items in detail and making suggestions. The shredded pork sandwich is huge and the salads are great. There are several other good restaurants in nearby hotels as well but i would recommend taking a cab since the hill is narrow, steep and curvy with autos speeding up and down. You can take a 15 minute walk through the woods down the hill to the beach which we did once but the hotels pool was just fine for relaxing.

Room Tip: Villa 11 has a fabulous view of the ocean and surrounding trees.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed last June for 5 nights in Deluxe 11, the view was breathtaking and everyone at the hotel went out of their way for us. Randall was so informative about the wildlife; he would even call us in the room when a sloth or the family of Monkeys were hanging out by the pool! This was our first time in Costa Rica and we already booked for this year in the Villa (above from Deluxe). Leo and staff is so gracious and the experience we had was wonderful. Thank you to everyone. The reason why I am sending the review so late was the Jan 6th review - badmouthing Makanda - NOT TRUE, it is such a shame that miserable people can ruin such a beautiful place. Please go and stay at Makanda; you will fall in love with it like we did!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank turtlerun096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

You are welcomed from the moment you check in. Beautiful pool and restaurant. The staff is very attentive but non intrusive from room service to booking trips to calling cabs. Very safe and elegant. The villas are beautifully appointed from the beautiful wood to fine linens. The views are breathtaking. We have been here twice and plan to come back. Really feel like we would be disappointed if we ever stayed anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Makanda ranks as one of the best hotels we have experienced. We stayed in a villa nestled away in the jungle with a breathtaking view of the ocean. It was a very peaceful and intimate setting. The decor is very simple, clean and serene. The staff was very accommodating, providing pleasant and responsive service. The poolside restaurant served delicious meals and a knock-out view. The hotel does not provide shuttle service into town as some other do, so best to have your own transportation or plan to hoof it up and down the many hills. If you are looking for a truly peaceful vacation, you should consider this very small, intimate hotel. Careful when you choose to travel, since Makanda abuts the rainforest - you can expect some downfalls in the evening but may want to stay away from the wet season.

Room Tip: The villas are probably the best accommodations. We stayed in villa #5 which had a very nice view o...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fantastic & romantic boutique hotel. Loved it from the second we arrived - pictures don't do it justice. All the rooms are private & wonderfully integrated w/ the jungle.

Only 12 or so villas and studios- so very private.

Loved the walk to the beach and running the quiet streets in the morning for exercise.

Monkeys and sloths all over the place.

Pool was amazing. Drinks at pool were great, too. Breakfast is great, as everyone else says, too.

For our last night, Makanda was booked, so we moved to Arenas Del Mar. Down the street from each other. Arenas was nice too but Cheryl different. We preferred Makanda without a doubt.

Walk to town for dinner was very easy. Flashlight in the room - 15 mins tops.

.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio - not a lot of comments about the studios on Trip Advisor so we weren't su...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAtraveler747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about Makanda. Beautiful grounds, knowledgable, friendly staff, absolutely perfect rooms, great in-house restaurant and bar, romantic infinity pool, howler monkeys nearby, etc. Book your stay now. Oh, and spring for the villas if you can. The "deluxe" room was nice, but didn't hold a candle to villa #1.

Room Tip: Villa #1. Seriously.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dpitty2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $243 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing