We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful, Tranquil Setting - We Fell in Love with Makanda!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Tranquil Setting - We Fell in Love with Makanda!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed last June for 5 nights in Deluxe 11, the view was breathtaking and everyone at the hotel went out of their way for us. Randall was so informative about the wildlife; he would even call us in the room when a sloth or the family of Monkeys were hanging out by the pool! This was our first time in Costa Rica and we already booked for this year in the Villa (above from Deluxe). Leo and staff is so gracious and the experience we had was wonderful. Thank you to everyone. The reason why I am sending the review so late was the Jan 6th review - badmouthing Makanda - NOT TRUE, it is such a shame that miserable people can ruin such a beautiful place. Please go and stay at Makanda; you will fall in love with it like we did!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank turtlerun096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    80
    23
    18
    16
See reviews for
30
288
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

You are welcomed from the moment you check in. Beautiful pool and restaurant. The staff is very attentive but non intrusive from room service to booking trips to calling cabs. Very safe and elegant. The villas are beautifully appointed from the beautiful wood to fine linens. The views are breathtaking. We have been here twice and plan to come back. Really feel like we would be disappointed if we ever stayed anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Makanda has some great features that make it a perfect spot to relax. From our terrace we had an amazing view over the surrounding vegetation and the ocean. We could fully enjoy this view during breakfast since it was delivered every morning in our villa. While we were eating pancakes or local specialities monkeys were passing by, jumping from tree to tree. Later on we could go to the lovely swimming pool (very good size) or walk down to the beach (15 minutes on a rather steep trail).
We just felt that the in-house restaurant could serve more exciting food regarding the standard of the hotel. You can find other eating options within a 15-20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Th_Around_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Makanda ranks as one of the best hotels we have experienced. We stayed in a villa nestled away in the jungle with a breathtaking view of the ocean. It was a very peaceful and intimate setting. The decor is very simple, clean and serene. The staff was very accommodating, providing pleasant and responsive service. The poolside restaurant served delicious meals and a knock-out view. The hotel does not provide shuttle service into town as some other do, so best to have your own transportation or plan to hoof it up and down the many hills. If you are looking for a truly peaceful vacation, you should consider this very small, intimate hotel. Careful when you choose to travel, since Makanda abuts the rainforest - you can expect some downfalls in the evening but may want to stay away from the wet season.

Room Tip: The villas are probably the best accommodations. We stayed in villa #5 which had a very nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fantastic & romantic boutique hotel. Loved it from the second we arrived - pictures don't do it justice. All the rooms are private & wonderfully integrated w/ the jungle.

Only 12 or so villas and studios- so very private.

Loved the walk to the beach and running the quiet streets in the morning for exercise.

Monkeys and sloths all over the place.

Pool was amazing. Drinks at pool were great, too. Breakfast is great, as everyone else says, too.

For our last night, Makanda was booked, so we moved to Arenas Del Mar. Down the street from each other. Arenas was nice too but Cheryl different. We preferred Makanda without a doubt.

Walk to town for dinner was very easy. Flashlight in the room - 15 mins tops.

.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio - not a lot of comments about the studios on Trip Advisor so we weren't su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAtraveler747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about Makanda. Beautiful grounds, knowledgable, friendly staff, absolutely perfect rooms, great in-house restaurant and bar, romantic infinity pool, howler monkeys nearby, etc. Book your stay now. Oh, and spring for the villas if you can. The "deluxe" room was nice, but didn't hold a candle to villa #1.

Room Tip: Villa #1. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dpitty2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have found TripAdvisor as a great resource for vacation planning and have used for a while now, but never had an account. Let me start with saying that even though my wife previously wrote her individual review about this property, I created an account just to write my personal opinion about this hotel for future travelers.

To begin with, let me say that there were several issues with this Hotel - the delay to check-in and get the room set-up, unavailability to dine in the restaurant because of rain in a rain forest (!), mediocre quality of room service food and a night long nuisance of fruits dropping on the roof right on top of the bed. We were absolutely willing to pay the first night charges plus early check out penalties and check out the next morning. We did so too and what makes the experience about this hotel more horrible is the delay in getting our money back. We stayed at the hotel on July 9th, and after at least 20 rounds of e-mails and phone conversations back and forth (I can post copies of the e-mail conversations here if anyone is interested) and finally having to file a dispute with our credit card company, we got the refund back on Nov 5th. There is no reason to require travelers to pay in full in advance when no other places around asked to do so, there is no reason for the hotel to not pay the remaining refund if travelers need to check out early and there in absolutely no reason why the hotel should take 4 months to refund the money they had agreed to and signed on. I'd highly encourage future travelers to check out other options in the area and certainly question paying in full in advance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SRP_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMakanda, Owner at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
This is the third time you have posted your bad review, and your continued harrassment of our hotel will not be tolerated. As shown my the overwhelming positive reviews for Hotel Makanda, perhaps the entire problem was not necessarily with us. We will no longer even attempt to be polite with you, and we will not fold to attempts at blackmail or defamation of character on your part. Move on, it's been 6 months! We apologize to all the other travelers and hope they understand that some folks cannot be satisfied no matter what lengths one goes to, but enough is enough! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Property: Makanda by the Sea
Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing