We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tropical Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tropical Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My wife and I just got back from our trip to CR and stayed 4 nights at Makanda. We stayed in Studio #3 which was smaller than the villas, but still a nice sized room with an amazing view. Makanda is a great balance of both tropical rainforest and air conditioning. There are a few luxury hotels in the area and I wouldn't classify Makanda as luxurious but an eco-boutique. We went to eat at some of the other nice hotels to get a feel for a possible return trip and found places like Gaia and Arenas Del Mar to be much nicer but for different reasons. A couple of dislikes about Makanda would include the pool and restaurant area. It comes off as a few canopy tents put together with faded purple and green curtains from circa 1996. Even on the hotel website the hotel comes off that way, but thought maybe it was just the lack of updating their website. Several things about the hotel could use an update. While still keeping that Costa Rican charm, this is a strong reason that I booked this hotel over the more modernized luxury hotels. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast every morning from the comfort of our own room. Another plus is that you rarely run in to other guests giving you the feeling of the upmost privacy. Overall, the staff was great and extremely helpful. If you're looking for 5 star luxury stay somewhere else, but if you're looking for a balance of tropical rainforest with private villas and A/C, stay at Makanda.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    79
    23
    18
    14
See reviews for
29
283
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porter ranch, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We LOVED our stay here!! We just came home and miss Makanda already!!
We stayed in room #10 and had wildlife galore! Randall at the Sunspot restaurant is someone you will treasure like family. He really has a great heart and goes up of his way to make sure you are happy.
It is quiet and peaceful at night and the views are just spectacular. We plan to come back in February. I cannot say enough. Breakfast included in your room each day....heavenly.
Thank you Makanda!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Movebypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just left Makanda today, after 5 nights. The rooms (villa 5) are beautiful, roomy and incredibly scenic. Randall -- bartender and waiter was the nicest guy ever. Recommended great places to eat and took special care of our family. The restaurant and infinity pool have the most amazing view. Great food in restaurant. Lots of animals (monkeys, sloths, birds) on the premises. Great A/C, which isn't always the case in tropical places. Derwin at the front desk, helped recommend and book our Canopy Tour and White Water Rafting Tour. Both companies were amazing and we couldn't have been happier. I strongly suggest you stay here. The price was very competitive for such an elegant place. The patio had a beautiful view of the ocean, great breeze, hammock, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 5. 2 adults and a very tall 19 year old boy. Great sleeping arrangements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This could have been a dream vacation. Imagine your own private hideaway in the jungle with a big king bed and a view of howler monkeys, sloths, and the Pacific right from your veranda. The facility was wonderful. However, the front desk reception staff, who virtually run the resort during low season, were impatient with our questions, rude and forgot about our early breakfast; needed before an early tour of the nearby national park one day. There was no apology or service recovery at all, even though we expressed our disappointment several times. they also closed the bar and restaurant in the pool area without notice. For the price you are paying to stay here, the owners need to hold the staff to a much higher service standard. I'm a frequent traveler and have family members in the hospitality industry. They could do much better with guest service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaloAltobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Makanda in early July and loved everything about it. Our beautiful villa was incredibly romantic and made us feel like we were in a treehouse in the middle of the rainforest. The entire wall facing the ocean was windows, so we awoke each morning to an unobstructed view of the water. From our deck, where we spent most of the waking hours that we were at our villa, we loved watching the monkeys and listening to the sounds of the forest.
Everything about this hotel felt very personalized, from the "towel animals" that the cleaning staff left on our bed to the made-to-order meals, all of which were fantastic.
The staff at Makanda were so friendly and helpful, it was always a treat interacting with them. Rasta, who works at the restaurant by the pool, was especially great and ordered a special meal for us on our last night.
I knew that July was "green season" and that we could expect rain just about every afternoon/evening, so I wasn't disappointed when that was what happened. Sometimes it didn't rain until we had gone to bed, but we ended up really enjoying relaxing on our hammock listening to the thunderstorms. The other pleasant surprise was that we had no problems with mosquitos. I brought bug repellent but didn't ever use it, and I think I only got two bites the entire time. I would definitely go in July again.
Overall, our stay at Makanda was a wonderful, incredibly relaxing experience, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We popped in to look at the rooms when deciding where to stay and found this property to be overpriced. The rooms were very nice and we liked that they are an adult-only facility. Lots of stairs. Nice pool area with a great ocean view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank pearlwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at this hotel in early July. We actually booked the room at the last minute as we had changed our travel destination within CR. What an amazing place. We stayed in suite 11 for the first four nights and had to switch to another room the last night because suite 11 was booked to other guests. We were then upgraded to an amazing villa ( number 1). At first glance, the villa was unbelievable but we loved suite 11 more because it had a porch with comfy wicker chairs and a hammock. Villa1 did not. We saw wildlife on a daily basis and the breakfast was delivered to your our each morning. There was however one downside to this. Being very outdoorsy, we loved to get going early in the morning on our excursions. If you wanted to leave before 7:30 you could only get the continental breakfast which was not that plentiful. But, this was a very minor inconvenience. Big bonus, no children. Don't get me wrong, I love kids. However, being a teacher, it's nice to get away from them when on vacation. I would certainly opt for this hotel again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaggieC1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Property: Makanda by the Sea
Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing