We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel- highly recommended! Loved it!”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just returned from a really delightful stay at the Makanda hotel. It's a tiny hotel, with just 12 rooms/villas, but feels spacious and has all the services you could need of a larger hotel. You can not find a more beautiful natural setting- lush jungle around the property with incredible ocean views from the pool and all the rooms.

We stayed in Villa 1- highly recommended- spacious, nicely appointed, well decorated, giant wall of glass overlooking the ocean with large floor to ceiling glass doors that slide open so that you're just wide open to the forest. Large king sized bed, large kitchen.

They bring you breakfast to your room each day at a time of your choice- it's amazing sitting at your table looking out over the green rainforest and the ocean and watching colorful birds and butterflies go by, hearing the ocean waves. One morning a large group of monkeys went right by the windows.

There is a small beach down quite a steep hill, but it's much quieter and more relaxed than the crowded beaches in Manuel Antonio park. Great for swimming and relaxing.

The reception staff were super friendly and helpful, from helping us book a flight to calling us taxis, to giving us tips on where to eat.

The pool area was beautiful and never too crowded. There is a nice restaurant by the pool (and you can order frozen cocktails and your lunch for example without ever leaving your pool chair if you prefer). We had dinner there one night and it was quite good.

Overall, loved it and would go back again any time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newyork10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Makanda by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 562 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was our first time to Costa Rica, and after a long haul from San Jose being greeted by the doorman at Makanda was a sigh of relief. This was our home for a week and we couldn't have asked for anything better. From our amazing villa to the breath taking views, to Darwin at reception who always smiled question after question we had, to the monkeys and nature that surrounded us. We were in our own little piece of heaven. Highly, highly recommended! I travel quite a bit and this was by far the best vacation I have been on, Makanda tops them all- not only the accommodations, but the staff by far was the main reason we will definitely return! Thank you thank you thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 5. All suites and villas have an amazing view!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlrichhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Makanda by the Sea is breathtaking. Set up high overlooking the ocean, we arrived to a jungle setting. Howler monkeys greeted us (just with their call, not actually greeting us!). The staff were delightful, completely had the Pura Vida attitude.

The pool and jacuzzi area were gorgeous. Clean and temperature-perfect. And it was never crowded! At times it felt like we had our own pool and jacuzzi! Of course it was particularly great when the monkeys greeted us in the afternoon.

We had the least expensive room and while we didn't have a hammock, we had a gorgeous private room overlooking the ocean, with a balcony and wonderful housekeeping service. The bathrooms were spotless, with only the occasional friendly earthworm trying to figure out how it got on some tile!

Our walk to the main road was a bit scary in that there are no sidewalks and it's a bit windy, but other people did it, so we did too and while there's a hill, it's a pretty painless 10 minute climb if you're in shape. I welcomed it actually, as it was the only form of exercise I really got! Once you get up the hill, there are loads of great restaurants and bars to catch other sunset views on and have great drinks and food. I loved that it was all within walking distance.

The staff were great about booking tours, there was never a problem. Pura vida was their attitude!

My only mild complaint is that the restaurant didn't feel like it was ever really a place people went to eat. We ate there when we arrived, which was fine, but the food wasn't particularly great. It was totally fine, just not amazing. Same with the complimentary breakfast... it was fine. Though if you like spicy, I recommend the omelette with the jalepenos! That was actually the big winner!

In any case, if you're looking for a place to escape, a touch off the beaten path, but certainly not so far as to not be able to walk anywhere, this is the place. I fell in love with Costa Rica here, so it will likely always hold a special place in my heart.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remtheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Makanda by the sea was the second stop on our honeymoon and it was completely different from our stop in the Arenal area. This hotel has a great view of the ocean from every part of the property and even has beach access (bit of a walk)!

The food at the on property restaurant was delicious and the setting/mood was amazing.

The infinity pool on the property was also amazing!

The BEST part of the entire property was the amount of wildlife! We saw ALL types of monkeys but our favorites were all of the howler monkey! They made a ton of noise but it was great! We also saw lizards, snakes, geckos, birds, fish, etc.

The only thing that might bother some is the lizards at night! They come out to have some fun, they are everywhere! We never saw any in our room but the walls along the walk way to your room you will see plenty! At first it was a little creepy but by the end of our stay it was really cool!

I would def. recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing but entertaining stay!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xxjpxx9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Makanda in April of 2011 and had a fantastic time. Very helpful staff, peaceful, quiet, and great, secure, location to base our CR adventures from...if we go back to Manuel Antonio this is a no-brainer, we will go back to Makanda!

Highly recommend staff suggestions on activities such as Brian Jimenez for tours, and the Rainmaker and ADR Ziplining

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springfield_Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed for three-nights in Villa #10 and was totally blown away. The views from this villa are unbelievable.

Our first day we went to MA National Park (booked through the hotel) and the only thing we saw were two sloths - no monkeys, no frogs at all. We got back to our hotel and there were monkeys everywhere! We saw spider monkeys and had an interesting experience with a group of white-faced monkeys while on our patio. They had us running into our room and even tried to open our door. Where else can you get this up-close and personal?!

The pool area was very relaxing, the food at the restaurant was very good, and the breakfast delivered to our room every morning was a huge treat. The hospitality is above and beyond.

We appreciated the mosquito netting around our bed, the coffee maker with unlimited ground Costa Rican coffee, the friendly and attentive staff, the huge room with ample storage, comfortable table, chairs, hammock (the monkeys loved this, too), and other amenities. It felt like our home.

We did notice that the mattresses of all the hotels we stayed at were on the hard side and this hotel was no exception. It reminds me of europe in that way, but I was able to sleep despite this. Other posters have written that there are no curtains on the windows and this is true. We were always up early so this was not an issue for us, but it may be if you like to sleep in later.

All I can say is this place is top notch, particularly if you are looking for an adult only atmosphere. SO beautiful and serene. We loved it!

Room Tip: villa #10 has wonderful views and privacy.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We just got back from spending 8 days at the Makanda by the Sea. Words can't express how much we enjoyed it there. The view was incredible (3 &4) the food was great, the staff was awesome. So Helpful with anything you wanted to do. Thank You Leo!! The Monkeys and the Sloth's at Makanka where way better then the Manuel Antonio park, where we scene None. Relax, enjoy, and keep an open mind. You are staying in the jungle!! What an experience. Loved it!! Miss it already.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunlite58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#10 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $242 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Makanda By The Sea Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing