We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing View!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing View!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed at Hotel California as part of a tour I was on. While the hotel is located up a steep hill, I liked the quieter location and getting into town is still very easy by bus. The best part of about this hotel is the view. The restaurant/bar is located right next to the pool and offers amazing sunset views over the ocean. Rooms are clean and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    145
    65
    36
    27
See reviews for
90
175
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My trip through Costa Rica was awesome!!! One of the lowest points, however, was Hotel California. Rooms very bare, and there were bugs all over the place (even by Costa Rica standards). Also, the hotel is not in a convenient location. You must hike down a steep, rocky path to get to the bus stop, and then take the bus to either the beach or the town of Quepos. Staff was friendly, and the complimentary breakfast was minimal even though made-to-order eggs was available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williamk888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel was very clean. Our room was ready upon arrival. No problems. They have a small swimming pool, but the view from the bar/restaurant is spectacular. Beautiful tree tops, and it has a wonderful ocean view. Had a good time. Very friendly personnel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chispita234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

As part of a Groupon package, Hotel California was our 2nd destination. We came from La Fortuna and after a hair raising drive we were very glad to arrive..

Just an FYI to anyone renting a car & getting a GPS, be sure to, go to "settings" "navigation" "avoidances"...& check "unpaved roads". It will save you about 3 hours and the fear of an oil pan being punctured on a very primitive road driving a Hundai Accent. The driveway is not paved & is quite steep. Don't be alarmed. You will be amazed at the view at the top of this road.

That being said we arrived very late but Herman was there to carry our bags & show us to our room. It was gorgeous. Glass doors that led to the balcony that had a view of the ocean and forest & overlooked the pool and dining area. The room was very spacious and the platform bed was comfortable. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Oscar, the morning chef, makes wonderful omlettes and know what he is doing. They have fresh made pastries and fruit also for breakfast. We ate one dinner there and it was excellent which was also prepared by Oscar.

Go to breakfast early and you may get to see the traffic on the Monkey Highway. While we were eating one morning I bet 100 spider monkeys used it. Be sure to take your camera to every meal. there is always something going on.

When my husband went to get our car he noticed the fender was about to fall off from our adventure down the mountain. After discussing this with the staff a young man offered to help do what he could to make sure it did not fall off while driving around town. Edgar was very knowlegable about what ventures were the best, for the time we had there.

LOVED the CATS.

Knowing Spanish would be helpful in Costa Rica but we got along just fine. There is a English~Spanish app for smart phones which worked like a charm with no need to have cell service to utilize. You will need your phone for the calculator.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CloENote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

While getting to the hotel up a narrow, steep gravel road was a challenge, our stay was terrific. The room was clean, spacious and attractive with glass doors which opened to balcony overlooking the pool and the covered dining area. Breakfast buffet had eggs to order, gallo pinto (beans and rice), fresh fruit and fresh baked pastries. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool also have a view of the Pacific in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campesina, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
I wish there was something we could do about that road! But I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay when you got here! Many thanks for your kind comments and observations. We hope we will see you again soon and that your vacation in Costa Rica was unforgettable! Warmest wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

View from the hotel is to die for and the staff is very friendly and helpful. My best friend and I drove from Arenal and picked up coconuts on our drive here. One of the staff members, Gilberto, went out of his way to help us cut them open. Like I mentioned earlier, the hotel is beautiful, view is gorgeous and the staff is very helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campesina, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments. Gilberto is an awesome guy, really fun to be around and a great drink mixer! I am so glad you had a great stay and hope we will be seeing you again in the future. Warmest wishes from all of us at hotel California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

When we were first looking to stay I was looking in Quepos. I am so glad I chose Hotel California which is located about 5 minutes out of Quepos. Hotel California sits on top of a small mountain with a great ocean view and always has a pleasant breeze. A much classier location than the Quepos area. The staff was excellent. Gilberto, Desseria, Jorge, Erik and the rest of the staff made the stay very comforting. The breakfast was great as was all food they served all day long. The shuttle bus stops right at the end on the entrance. Erik has a vast knowledge of the area and can set you up with what ever you want.

Thank you Hotel california for making my stay wonderful

Room Tip: book early and ask for top floor ocean view. I actually booked a day before and lucked out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbigg2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campesina, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback regarding the staff here! We appreciate the positive comments and we share these with the employees so everyone sees them. You made some people smile with the mention of several specific people. It is our goal for you to feel at home, so I am glad that was your experience! Many thanks for your kind comments and warmest wishes from all of us here at Hotel California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#23 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#30 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: | 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing