We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible! Hospitality is A+”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed in two places in Costa Rica, hotel California being my first. The staff treat you like a king and are more then happy to help.. Edgar and Eric were the best, they even remember emailing me before I got there! Of course I didn't know much about the area but they were VERY HAPPY to call any excursions or taxi i needed. Always happy to give advice and honest opinion on how to make the most of your stay . They Seriously they take pride in being a great hotel and an amazing staff, the view was incredible and the breakfast was great too, it's not a traditional buffet but you tell the cook exactly how you want your food cooked(egg ect) and they make it in front of you. Served with fresh squeezed juice. Happy hour was fun too! I wish I had stayed there for my entire trip because the other hotel I stayed at (hotel posiden in jaco) couldn't even compare! When I return to Costa Rica I will be def be staying there again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtneyleeberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 424 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

The grounds and rooms were very well kept and clean. After a wind and rain storm the grounds were almost already cleaned by the time I woke up. The food was great and the view from the room was fabulous. I must warn you though, if you choose to get your laundry done there, make sure you understand the way they charge you....by the piece. I paid over $30 US for just a few pieces.

Room Tip: Upper floors, ask for a room with a view. I forget which side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here in Dec 2013 as part of our G Adventures tour. Food, though expensive, was very tasty. Superb views over the bay of Quepos and the wildlife viewing at times surpassed what we saw in the national park. But best of all were Gilberto's cocktails. I have tasted mojitos in lots of places around the world but have never before had one as delicious as his. We tried quite a few of his other cocktails too, and while some of the others were also particularly good, the mojito was, for me, the most outstanding. Just a shame we were only there 2 nights!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you look at the fancy pictures of this hotel's website you may even feel atracted by its Eagles-anthem name. Don't be fooled. We had a good look around the Manuel Antonio road which connects Quepos with the National Park. Unless you find no vacancies around, there's plenty of other options if you're planning on staying in the area. This hotel has dirty rooms, with dirty dead insects, moisture in the walls which drives the white to greenish, hardly any good views, most of the rooms face to the garden (pretty badly cared, BTW) and its staff is, to put it into most objective words, lazy.

Plus, although being in the middle of a tropical wildlife green, the hotel happens to have a peculiar neighbour who has its TV on the courtyard, outdoors, only covered by a roof. The neighbour outis its kids in front of TV some time around 7am. It's cartoon. Oh, and there's a dog. A dog with a peacock complex. He starts barking like hell at 5:30 am, sharp at dawn.

The swimming pool is pretty small facing the building. Only the mojitos served at the bar are superb!

Room Tip: Rooms with high numbers are on the third floor which, with a little luck, may have a (poor) view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PETERParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear PeterParis,
On behalf of the 25 employees who work at Hotel Calufornia, we apologize for the bad experience you had.
We are doing all we can to remedy the problems that you mentioned.
We hope you enjoyed you overall stay in Costa Rica.
Regards,

Alonso Madrigal
Hotel California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here with my daughter. We had a wonderful time. The owner of the hotel is friendly and if you have any needs, she will personally take care of them if she needs to. The staff is great...food wonderful, rooms very comfy. Do choose this hotel in Costa Rica. You can travel to the beach by bus in just a few minutes. There are a couple of great restaurants (serving locals food) within walking distance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The upstairs rooms facing the sea have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear MillyEJ,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Hotel California experience so much.

Well, we miss you already and can not wait for your return visit.

Thank you for taking your personal time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

And come back and see us.......we miss you!
Alonso Madrigal
Hotel California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Although we did not stay at the hotel, we visited the Hotel California pool bar just about every day during our trip for their happy hour 2 for 1 drink specials. We also enjoyed their chicken and tenderloin wraps. Gilberto makes outstanding Pina Coladas and Mojitos. The pool was great for the kids and the views of the coast looking north were amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank egates17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

While we really enjoyed the hotel it felt really expensive for what you get. The room had a very nice balcony that overlooked the jungle and we were able to see toucans and monkeys, which was great. The restaurant was pretty good, the mojitos were excellent. The location was kind of hard in that it was not in walking distance to the beach or park but a five minute walk gets you to a bus stop, otherwise taxis are the only was to get around.

Again, no particular complaint but was very expensive!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CelisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
298 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: | 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $85 - $946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing