We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good example of biassed pics”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel California
PARIS, FRANCE
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good example of biassed pics”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you look at the fancy pictures of this hotel's website you may even feel atracted by its Eagles-anthem name. Don't be fooled. We had a good look around the Manuel Antonio road which connects Quepos with the National Park. Unless you find no vacancies around, there's plenty of other options if you're planning on staying in the area. This hotel has dirty rooms, with dirty dead insects, moisture in the walls which drives the white to greenish, hardly any good views, most of the rooms face to the garden (pretty badly cared, BTW) and its staff is, to put it into most objective words, lazy.

Plus, although being in the middle of a tropical wildlife green, the hotel happens to have a peculiar neighbour who has its TV on the courtyard, outdoors, only covered by a roof. The neighbour outis its kids in front of TV some time around 7am. It's cartoon. Oh, and there's a dog. A dog with a peacock complex. He starts barking like hell at 5:30 am, sharp at dawn.

The swimming pool is pretty small facing the building. Only the mojitos served at the bar are superb!

Room Tip: Rooms with high numbers are on the third floor which, with a little luck, may have a (poor) view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PETERParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear PeterParis,
On behalf of the 25 employees who work at Hotel Calufornia, we apologize for the bad experience you had.
We are doing all we can to remedy the problems that you mentioned.
We hope you enjoyed you overall stay in Costa Rica.
Regards,

Alonso Madrigal
Hotel California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    145
    65
    36
    27
See reviews for
90
175
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here with my daughter. We had a wonderful time. The owner of the hotel is friendly and if you have any needs, she will personally take care of them if she needs to. The staff is great...food wonderful, rooms very comfy. Do choose this hotel in Costa Rica. You can travel to the beach by bus in just a few minutes. There are a couple of great restaurants (serving locals food) within walking distance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The upstairs rooms facing the sea have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear MillyEJ,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Hotel California experience so much.

Well, we miss you already and can not wait for your return visit.

Thank you for taking your personal time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

And come back and see us.......we miss you!
Alonso Madrigal
Hotel California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Although we did not stay at the hotel, we visited the Hotel California pool bar just about every day during our trip for their happy hour 2 for 1 drink specials. We also enjoyed their chicken and tenderloin wraps. Gilberto makes outstanding Pina Coladas and Mojitos. The pool was great for the kids and the views of the coast looking north were amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egates17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

While we really enjoyed the hotel it felt really expensive for what you get. The room had a very nice balcony that overlooked the jungle and we were able to see toucans and monkeys, which was great. The restaurant was pretty good, the mojitos were excellent. The location was kind of hard in that it was not in walking distance to the beach or park but a five minute walk gets you to a bus stop, otherwise taxis are the only was to get around.

Again, no particular complaint but was very expensive!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CelisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel California is a laid back "rough-around-the-edges" little getaway nestled snugly on a hillside overlooking the Pacific. It has a marvelous view, and the visiting monkeys and toucans didn't hurt either.

The charm drops off a bit when viewing the rooms. It was a reasonable size, but the layout of the beds and other furnishings was a tad awkward. And the bathroom is long overdue for an update. Serviceable accommodations, but don't expect anything luxurious.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating, although extra towels were in short supply. They offer laundry service, but charge by the item rather than weight. (We're not sure whether this is standard or not, but the prices seemed a bit high.)

The resident cats, Sushi and Jota, made our family feel right at home. If you're not a cat person, beware that Sushi might pay you a visit if you leave your patio door open. Don't worry, there's also a friendly lab-mix for the dog lovers out there.

Be sure to take advantage of the two-for-one drinks during happy hour, especially if you're a fan of mojitos. Gilberto makes some of the best I've ever had (and reportedly the best around Manuel Antonio). The restaurant is pretty good, although if they are particularly busy, be prepared to wait. They simply don't have the staff to handle really large parties as well as other restaurants.

The included breakfast was by far the best of all the hotels we stayed at during our vacation. Not only did they have the requisite rice and beans, but they also served eggs made to order, making delicious omelettes. All other hotels we stayed at simply served up scrambled eggs. Their breakfast pastries, covered in chocolate and filled with custard are worth going back for seconds, too.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view. If you want a visit from the cat Sushi, get one on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdjoneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mdjoneses !!

On behalf of the 24 employees of Hotel California, we would like to thank you for recognizing our efforts and for the feedback.
We are working hard to make your vacation the best we can, and are very happy you enjoyed the time with us"
Alonso Madrigal
Hotel California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Dear trip advisor,

My blog concerns Hotel California in Manuel Antonio Costa Rica and five items of lost winter clothing. This does not by any means say we didn't enjoy our stay BUT it was a serious downer.

We made a late booking at Hotel California and we were aware that to furnish this request we would have at some point to change rooms. Not a problem. After four nights the time came to change rooms. The rooms in question were so close that we did not have to repack. Instead we just lifted all our stuff to the new room, unfortunately not noticing that our winter clothing for to UK on the top shelf at the back of the wardrobe. Yes, our mistake!

When we realised it was straight down to the office and a helpful repsonse in that the would look into.

The maids were in first and said they did a total clean of the room and reported that they did not see the stack of clothes. (Halley Hansen and a Berghaus fleece, along with trousers and a shirt). The next to arrive were paying guest who actually in the hotels opinion became the best suspect.

We knew we had the clothing when we arrived, and we certainly don't have any of it now. The management at Hotel California shrugged their shoulders of their responsibility to investigate and plainly did nothing. Shabby on the top two people we think.

Room Tip: Location great view, shame about he missing clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Frankly I have found this entire experience perplexing. There is no one here that would ever use that type of clothing in those sizes. The employees do not leave the warm temperatures of Costa Rica, ever, and myself and Alonso would not find them useful due to the sizes. I have racked my brain trying to figure out what could have happened to those clothes. It is hard to track down something that has gone missing, 5 days after it went missing, although that has not stopped me from investigating any possibility. Although I would have never suggested that another guest might have stolen them as the guests generally already have a suitcase full of stuff when they return home.

We tried to notify you of our willingness to compensate you for some part of the missing clothes but had not heard back. I apologize that it didn´t occur to me until the taxi pulled out, because frankly, I was still trying to figure out what had happened to the clothes.

Since we are now in touch by private email I am sure we can work something out. I am sorry tha tthe clothing got lost and continue to try to figure out how that happened. Best wishes, Robbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Toilet was clogged as soon as we got in the room. Had to contact the front desk twice to resolve. Worst water pressure in the shower that we have ever experienced around the world (mediocre trickle). WiFi doesn't reach the rooms, you have to be in either the pool or in the lobby. A good 5 walk to the bus stop from the hotel to get to either town. Restaurant was fast when we ordered ahead of our group. Rooms has AC, and fridge. Head board was covered in small insects (termites?). Good view from balcony. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinecure_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#31 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: | 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing