We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Happy Hours”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Although we did not stay at the hotel, we visited the Hotel California pool bar just about every day during our trip for their happy hour 2 for 1 drink specials. We also enjoyed their chicken and tenderloin wraps. Gilberto makes outstanding Pina Coladas and Mojitos. The pool was great for the kids and the views of the coast looking north were amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank egates17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for Hotel California
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 421 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

While we really enjoyed the hotel it felt really expensive for what you get. The room had a very nice balcony that overlooked the jungle and we were able to see toucans and monkeys, which was great. The restaurant was pretty good, the mojitos were excellent. The location was kind of hard in that it was not in walking distance to the beach or park but a five minute walk gets you to a bus stop, otherwise taxis are the only was to get around.

Again, no particular complaint but was very expensive!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CelisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel California is a laid back "rough-around-the-edges" little getaway nestled snugly on a hillside overlooking the Pacific. It has a marvelous view, and the visiting monkeys and toucans didn't hurt either.

The charm drops off a bit when viewing the rooms. It was a reasonable size, but the layout of the beds and other furnishings was a tad awkward. And the bathroom is long overdue for an update. Serviceable accommodations, but don't expect anything luxurious.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating, although extra towels were in short supply. They offer laundry service, but charge by the item rather than weight. (We're not sure whether this is standard or not, but the prices seemed a bit high.)

The resident cats, Sushi and Jota, made our family feel right at home. If you're not a cat person, beware that Sushi might pay you a visit if you leave your patio door open. Don't worry, there's also a friendly lab-mix for the dog lovers out there.

Be sure to take advantage of the two-for-one drinks during happy hour, especially if you're a fan of mojitos. Gilberto makes some of the best I've ever had (and reportedly the best around Manuel Antonio). The restaurant is pretty good, although if they are particularly busy, be prepared to wait. They simply don't have the staff to handle really large parties as well as other restaurants.

The included breakfast was by far the best of all the hotels we stayed at during our vacation. Not only did they have the requisite rice and beans, but they also served eggs made to order, making delicious omelettes. All other hotels we stayed at simply served up scrambled eggs. Their breakfast pastries, covered in chocolate and filled with custard are worth going back for seconds, too.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view. If you want a visit from the cat Sushi, get one on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdjoneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Manager at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Mdjoneses !!

On behalf of the 24 employees of Hotel California, we would like to thank you for recognizing our efforts and for the feedback.
We are working hard to make your vacation the best we can, and are very happy you enjoyed the time with us"
Alonso Madrigal
Hotel California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Dear trip advisor,

My blog concerns Hotel California in Manuel Antonio Costa Rica and five items of lost winter clothing. This does not by any means say we didn't enjoy our stay BUT it was a serious downer.

We made a late booking at Hotel California and we were aware that to furnish this request we would have at some point to change rooms. Not a problem. After four nights the time came to change rooms. The rooms in question were so close that we did not have to repack. Instead we just lifted all our stuff to the new room, unfortunately not noticing that our winter clothing for to UK on the top shelf at the back of the wardrobe. Yes, our mistake!

When we realised it was straight down to the office and a helpful repsonse in that the would look into.

The maids were in first and said they did a total clean of the room and reported that they did not see the stack of clothes. (Halley Hansen and a Berghaus fleece, along with trousers and a shirt). The next to arrive were paying guest who actually in the hotels opinion became the best suspect.

We knew we had the clothing when we arrived, and we certainly don't have any of it now. The management at Hotel California shrugged their shoulders of their responsibility to investigate and plainly did nothing. Shabby on the top two people we think.

Room Tip: Location great view, shame about he missing clothes.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Owner at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Frankly I have found this entire experience perplexing. There is no one here that would ever use that type of clothing in those sizes. The employees do not leave the warm temperatures of Costa Rica, ever, and myself and Alonso would not find them useful due to the sizes. I have racked my brain trying to figure out what could have happened to those clothes. It is hard to track down something that has gone missing, 5 days after it went missing, although that has not stopped me from investigating any possibility. Although I would have never suggested that another guest might have stolen them as the guests generally already have a suitcase full of stuff when they return home.

We tried to notify you of our willingness to compensate you for some part of the missing clothes but had not heard back. I apologize that it didn´t occur to me until the taxi pulled out, because frankly, I was still trying to figure out what had happened to the clothes.

Since we are now in touch by private email I am sure we can work something out. I am sorry tha tthe clothing got lost and continue to try to figure out how that happened. Best wishes, Robbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Toilet was clogged as soon as we got in the room. Had to contact the front desk twice to resolve. Worst water pressure in the shower that we have ever experienced around the world (mediocre trickle). WiFi doesn't reach the rooms, you have to be in either the pool or in the lobby. A good 5 walk to the bus stop from the hotel to get to either town. Restaurant was fast when we ordered ahead of our group. Rooms has AC, and fridge. Head board was covered in small insects (termites?). Good view from balcony. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinecure_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here while in Quepos.Super service and restaurant was very good. Big rooms with an an ocean view and a nice pool. Spent a rainy day watching wildlife from the covered patio.Near the frequent bus to either the beach or town.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bayard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Quepos, whilst not the most exciting town in CR, the location of the hotel made up for it in terms of spotting some wildlife in the early mornings. Being woken up by howler monkeys, to my mind, is preferable to police sirens or pneumatic drills. The hotel was booked as part of our tour via G Adventures. The rooms were fine. The pool was wet. The food was OK & the poolside barman in the evenings made a mean Mojito. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were there to see the country & as such the hotel functioned perfectly for somewhere to eat, sleep & recover after a day exploring the park or being on the beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms were fine - we had 2 of them btw. Good views & kept clean. What more do you want?
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpz_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#30 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#42 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: | 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $65 - $957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing