We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Nearby Hotels
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$381
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$180
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$96
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$486
$464
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$261
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveler rating
145
150
71
40
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
150
71
40
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadcosta ricahappy hournational parkquiet at nightair conditioninggreat poolstayed here for two nightshotel is locatedtiti monkeysroom was spaciousocean viewtour guideincluded breakfastcoffee makerfresh fruitsteep hill
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 439 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Shower temperature kept switching from hot to cold every few seconds. Difficult getting onto main road due to blind curve & heavy traffic. Nice view from private balcony. Hard to find, especially in the dark.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MileHighMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Front Office Manager at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear MileHighMom2
Thank you kindly for your review about your stay in Hotel California.
We are investigating the reason why you had such problems with the hot/cold water, we haven’t seen previous problems of this kind, we are investigating about it and probably the water heater needs to be replaced which can be done immediately.
Hotel California is located 200 meters from the main road, we have tried with the local government to replace our sign with no good results, we suggest you to take a flashlight if you are walking at night, and please, be very careful when leaving the hotel as visibility can be hard while driving. In general our roads and drivers are not the best.

Thank you again, and looking forward to see you back in Manuel Antonio.
Alonso Madrigal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for two days at the end of our trip. The rooms were large-ish and clean, except for towels. The hotel is way out of town and a 15 minute bus ride from the national park.

The sandwiches in the well-appointed restaurant were good value and tasty although the cocktails were expensive.

The only issue came when I told the reception staff that my towels were dirty from the previous guests and that I wanted clean ones. They asked me to prove it and to see the towels! I showed them the towels but only one of them was dirty enough to change according to them! To me, the cleaning staff had either changed all of the towels or none, or maybe they do pick and choose which are dirty enough to change between occupants!

Others in our group also had issues with rude staff members. Wifi was only available in the reception and not in the restaurant as advertised.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Front Office Manager at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear AnanB
Thank you for your recent review about our property but sad to hear we did not meet your expectations, I would like to address them as follows:

Thank you for letting us know that overall our rooms are clean, my apologize for the towels issues. This is an isolated case because towels and all room´s clothing are ALWAYS changed when check outs. It could be that these towels were not in the best conditions, is time for us to make a new inspection of all of our towels, my apologizes for the staff attitude, all he or she had to do, was to replace them, this was as simple as it looks.

Restaurant: Few months ago, we did our most effort to change our main menu with very affordable prices, we also ad our daily menu with specials that includes sandwiches and wraps, all made with fresh vegetables and good sized portions, also very affordable prices, thank you for letting us know how tasty they are.
Our cocktails cost $ 5 and during happy hour, every day from 4 to 6, 2 for 1. We think these prices are affordable as well.

Wifi: I'm pretty sure that was an isolate problem, one of our routers was down when you tried in the restaurant that day, this is only because of point of sale computer works with wifi as well, for your convenience we also provide access in other public areas.

Thank you very much for your recent visit and looking forward to see you back in Manuel Antonio.
Alonso Madrigal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

From check-in to check-out, we were treated like cherished friends by the warm and humorous staff. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with each deck offering a spectacular view of the sunsets. Our meals were terrific as well, chosen from a varied menu, and when one meal was less than perfect, it was whisked away without a question. Edgar, Eileen, Gilberto, and owner Robbie, all made us feel at home. The only caveat is that the tile floors are treacherous when wet, making footing difficult.

Room Tip: The upper floors have the best views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobiemom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Front Office Manager at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Dobiemom12.
Thank you so much for your excellent review on this important forum, I love to read reviews like yours, and thank you for mentioning the names of some of our great workers and so glad you met Robbie.
We are so happy to hear that we meet your expectations about location and especially our customer service.
Due to the structure of the high ceilings when the hotel was built, makes it difficult when it rains and it could be slipper, we try our best to keep these floors dry as soon as the rain stops.
Thank you very much for your recent visit and looking forward to see you back in Manuel Antonio some time soon.
Alonso Madrigal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at Hotel California. The views are amazing, the hotel has a lovely pool, fresh water Jacuzzi, an open air ocean view restaurant. The staff is very friendly. We actually talked to the owner , a lovely lady from California and the rest of the staff members are very nice too and very knowledgeable, they informed us about things we could do in the area and even about other regions we considered visiting in the near future. The rooms are spacious, very nice and comfortable. The room had ac, tv, large beautiful and comfortable beds and the decoration was very pleasant too. We will defenitely recommend the hotel to future travelers and friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the ocean view rooms in the top floor. The views are absolutely stunning.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vogel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Front Office Manager at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Vogel R.
So wonderful to hear from you and thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property.
We loved having you here as our guest and look forward to your return visit.

We are so happy that we met your expectations and thank you for sharing your experience on this trip advisor forum.
Alonso Madrigal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A hidden gem amongst the trees, we stayed in a wonderful room on the top level with amazing views. Lying in bed one night watching a thunderstorm roll out over the beach was truly an incredible experience which will stick with me. Quiet location well away from town, great staff very willing to help with anything we needed, breakfast choice wasn't over the top but it was really wonderful with fresh fruits and delicious omelettes available among other things, the pool was nice to take a dip in to cool off... just wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammy85h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadrigalquepos, Front Office Manager at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hi sammy85h...
Thanks for taking the time to post the review on your stay in one of our Deluxe ocean view rooms
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took such good care of you and Lisa, from the amazing ocean view in the top level rooms to relaxing time just lying in bed, awesome experience.
Yes, breakfast not the top but we do have the necessary to provide you a great start of the day
Thanks, again, for staying with us and we'd love to have you back!

Alonso Madrigal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews