We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Nearby Hotels
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Bada(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$239
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$360
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$116
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
145
151
71
41
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
151
71
41
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadcosta ricahappy hourair conditioningnational parkquiet at nightgreat pooltiti monkeysstayed here for two nightshotel is locatedroom was spaciousocean viewtour guideincluded breakfastcoffee makerfresh fruitsteep hill
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 441 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed the last couple of days at Hotel California between Manuel Antonio and Quepos. It was the highest quality and very attractive hotel on our G Adventures tour. Spacious, comfortable, clean, with A/C and nice touches and good beds. The staff from reception to the pool restaurant/bar were all friendly and attentive. We ended up spending more time here than expected because it was so resorty and relaxing, with a nice pool and good food and beverages.
Muchas Gracias!

One small quibble: the wifi didn't reach our room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregonbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel California was a very pleasant surprise at the end of a long day on our tour bus. A bit of an adventure, just getting off the main road, where we had to exit the bus so it could get up the sharp and steep turn to the road to the hotel. Room was clean and spacious. Nice to have air conditioning, since the temperatures were getting warm. Pool area and bar attendants were good and the pool itself was fun. Breakfast at the pool...nice! The igauna that crawled around and into the breakfast bar was a nice touch. Great view out to the ocean over the trees from our room. Overall, good place.

Room Tip: Be sure that your tour bus unloads on the flat surfaces either above or below the reception, and NOT on the steep angle immediately in front of reception. Our tour had an almost-tragic incident when the bus (parked on the hill) popped out of gear and rolled backward, injuring two of our group. Fortunately, one of the group jumped into the driver's seat, hit the brakes and prevented the bus from rolling into the house at the bottom of the hill, where children were playing. We were told afterward that the management would change the rules for passenger drop off and pick up to the safer area.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notbornyesterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Make sure to catch the perfect end of a day and two for one happy hour. Also beautiful tappas, great price and quality, like fresh tacos, burritos, and ceviche! Awesome sunsets! We will definitely return, just ask directions a little hard to find.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYbopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our group of 9 with G Adventures stayed here January 2013. Room was large, mini fridge, a/c, and patio. No ocean view but it didn't matter. Very clean, however a/c was a little noisy. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Open air restaurant had a great ocean view and food was excellent. Service was great. Monkeys on the balconies were a bonus! Two minute walk to bus stop, and ten minute bus ride to Manuel Antonio Beach and National Park.

Room Tip: We did not have ocean view but it didn't matter as we spent most of the day either at Manuel Antonio beach, or poolside.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank organizer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a trip around Costa Rica. The hotel is up a steep road a bus ride from the village and park. The room was good, the food and service excellent. Our group of 6 had virtually exclusive use of the pool.
The bonus item is the sunrise walk up the hill which allows you see troops of monkeys.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews