We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hotel on tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel California
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best hotel on tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed the last couple of days at Hotel California between Manuel Antonio and Quepos. It was the highest quality and very attractive hotel on our G Adventures tour. Spacious, comfortable, clean, with A/C and nice touches and good beds. The staff from reception to the pool restaurant/bar were all friendly and attentive. We ended up spending more time here than expected because it was so resorty and relaxing, with a nice pool and good food and beverages.
Muchas Gracias!

One small quibble: the wifi didn't reach our room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    134
    59
    33
    23
See reviews for
85
156
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel California was a very pleasant surprise at the end of a long day on our tour bus. A bit of an adventure, just getting off the main road, where we had to exit the bus so it could get up the sharp and steep turn to the road to the hotel. Room was clean and spacious. Nice to have air conditioning, since the temperatures were getting warm. Pool area and bar attendants were good and the pool itself was fun. Breakfast at the pool...nice! The igauna that crawled around and into the breakfast bar was a nice touch. Great view out to the ocean over the trees from our room. Overall, good place.

Room Tip: Be sure that your tour bus unloads on the flat surfaces either above or below the reception, and NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notbornyesterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Make sure to catch the perfect end of a day and two for one happy hour. Also beautiful tappas, great price and quality, like fresh tacos, burritos, and ceviche! Awesome sunsets! We will definitely return, just ask directions a little hard to find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYbopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our group of 9 with G Adventures stayed here January 2013. Room was large, mini fridge, a/c, and patio. No ocean view but it didn't matter. Very clean, however a/c was a little noisy. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Open air restaurant had a great ocean view and food was excellent. Service was great. Monkeys on the balconies were a bonus! Two minute walk to bus stop, and ten minute bus ride to Manuel Antonio Beach and National Park.

Room Tip: We did not have ocean view but it didn't matter as we spent most of the day either at Manuel Ant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank organizer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a trip around Costa Rica. The hotel is up a steep road a bus ride from the village and park. The room was good, the food and service excellent. Our group of 6 had virtually exclusive use of the pool.
The bonus item is the sunrise walk up the hill which allows you see troops of monkeys.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Being on a tour, we were used to very basic but clean accommodations. So when we arrived at Hotel California, we were pleasantly surprised. The location is a bit far from downtown Quepos, and this is one of the times where I think it is an advantage.

Pros: swimming pool and jacuzzi; the restaurant overlooks the ocean. It's food is good quality, reasonably priced and breakfast buffet is good value. They have Happy Hour between 4-6pm, with 2-for-1 drinks. Service was excellent and any issues were resolved quickly. The rooms are large, have a little patio, has AC, bar fridge, coffee maker and room safe to keep your valuables. Location was halfway between Manual Antonio park and downtown Quepos, with a bus stop going either direction to the aforementioned destinations at the bottom of the road.

Cons: it was sometimes difficult to get towels at the swimming area, and the hilly driveway to the hotel can be a pain after a strenous day in the city/beach.

I would highly recommend Hotel California, and would happily go back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Room was clean, beds comfortable. Old small screen TV placed very high on wall. Bathroom small with no room to place toilet articles. Hot water failed on second day. Hotel is 300 meters from main road where there is a bus stop. Buses run every 20" and service is very good. Hotel restaurant food and service is above average.

Room Tip: Rooms to right as one climbs steps from reception have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_H309293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#21 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#24 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#28 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#32 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing