We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel California in Manuel Antonio Costa Rica”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel California in Manuel Antonio Costa Rica”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights in December 2012. The first thing that impressed us, after a seamless and smooth check in...the view. Upon stepping onto the balcony, we saw an amazing view of the Pacific Ocean. There were also Mango trees, iguanas and Monkeys right out our balcony.

The staff was helpful, and spoke English very well, which made it easier on us, since our Spanish is not so great.

Breakfast was included, and the pool and bar areas were welcoming. This hotel has about 30 rooms, so it as cozy and personal.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest a 3rd floor room for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 929bonnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    146
    67
    37
    27
See reviews for
92
177
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My man and I stayed here after 7 awesome but long days of traveling around CR and this was by far the best hotel we stayed in.

It's location was key as it was halfway between the town of Quepos and Manuel Antonio national park.

The room was beautiful and spacious and there was a sweet mini fridge right in the room to assure our cervesas would be ready to be taken down poolside. Also a coffee maker - key. The staff were very friendly and the view from our room was breathtaking. We had a sweet little balcony too where the sun hit just right in order to dry off our laundry.

And man that pool was legendary.

Also, on your walk down to the street you're guaranteed to spot some cute spider monkeys or sloths. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 35. AMAZING view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarahJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my sister and my nephew. Let's start with the Pros:

-Breakfast was OK

-Staff is friendly

-Pool cocktails are kinda lame

Now with the cons:

-Their inventory is poor. Breakfast was included but they did not have avocado so they could not offer various breakfast dishes. This happened on the 2nd day as well, day in which they had also run out of Splenda.

-You have to ask for towels for the room, we had to ask 5 times to get them, which was kinda irritating.

-The room smelled heavily of some bug spray and smelled like that for a while. I appreciate the fact that they are getting rid of bugs, but they should do something to dissipate smell.

-Location-wise, it's OK...not on main road and you have to drive to get to the beach, I would not walk it.

Since I did not do the reservation, I am not sure what's around that would be a better option, but I definitely would research again if I decided to stay in MA in the future before booking here.

Room Tip: Although expensive, I'd recommend having dinner in Gaia nearby, great food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csaborio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C.R.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

i guess the tittle syas everything , and i feel like i was in my house , very good staff so very nice, beutyfull property.close from quepos y manuel antonio!, peaceful pool, great view from the restaurant , big room.

Room Tip: second floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Check in was easy as we were part of a group.

My room (20) was gorgeous. Big four poster bed, lots of space and very clean.

The pool was lovely and refreshing and the pool towels were handy.

Breakfast was amazing! I loved the chocolate pancakes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckyboo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We go to Costa every year. Although there are lots of places I have yet to explore, I always spend time at the Hotel California near Quepos. A tropical five-star hotel with great service, it is a remarkable experience. The staff, Haylin Arroyo and her coworker Jesse, we now call family.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hola, my name is Lorena, I stayed at the California Hotel week of 7/16/2012.
The staff : Alex, Alonso helped us out with arrangements from airport to the hotel
Haylin, Edgar Vivi and Irwin provided us with their knowledge of the tours and the
goings on in Manuel Antonio. Always a happy group willing to help us out.
I had a great time and they made my stay welcoming. Did not want to leave.
Thanks to all the staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lorena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#33 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#30 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: | 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing