We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa Hotel Mare Nostrvm(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Mimos(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Mymosa(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza Yara(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Tres Banderas(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
145
151
71
41
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
151
71
41
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadcosta ricahappy hourair conditioningnational parkquiet at nightgreat pooltiti monkeysstayed here for two nightshotel is locatedroom was spaciousocean viewtour guideincluded breakfastcoffee makerfresh fruitsteep hill
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 441 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hotel California was a nice getaway place.
The rooms were a decent sized room with a good size bathroom. There is a TV in the room, fridge, safe (though mine didn't work), air conditioning, closet, & in room coffee maker.
There is also a nice balcony off most if not all rooms.
There is plenty of hot water for the showers, and I definitely like my showers hot. No issues here. There were plenty of towels supplied as well.
There is only Wifi at reception. However, if your room is close enough to the reception, you may be able to pick up the signal. I was in Room 1 and had no trouble picking up the signal from the balcony, but it would cut in and out when I went into the room.
The pool area was very nice, complete with a bar/restaurant area. The food is definitely priced higher than other Costa Rican eateries, but I guess you pay for convenience. Note that it seemed to take quite a while to get the food though. Be prepared to wait.
Bottles of water can be purchased on site. It was USD$4 for a 1750mL bottle.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cara_calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Rooms are pretty minimal, but very clean. Half the lights in our room were burnt out, and the phone is impossible to use, but those things aren't deal breakers for me.

What was a deal breaker was the restaurant. They seriously should just close it down and not even bother. The wait for food is atrocious, like at least 45 from ordering. Portions are tiny, it is very expensive, and they are usually "out" of most of the items on the menu.

The worst was when we tried for dinner. Three pages of dinner menu items, and they were only serving ONE things for dinner.

With so many other hotel options in Manuel Antonio, I wouldn't bother with this pl

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

After a busy couple of weeks on tour in Costa Rica, the Hotel California was a great place to just chill out and relax. It's quite and feels like you're right in the jungle. The room was clean and comfortable and the bed very nice with plenty of pillows. The fridge is very handy for keeping snacks and drinks so you don't have to spend so much at restaurants. The beach and National Park are only a 50 cent bus ride away. The restaurant is on the expensive side but the food is excellent and the staff friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlpineResortRiceLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife broke her ankle the day before our arrival at Hotel California. Upon arrival, the manager immediately, without our asking, changed our room to one more accessible yet had a view of the pool, forest, and Pacific Ocean. From our balcony we got to view the sun setting, saw monkeys, an iguana, toucans and many other birds. In addition, arrangements were made for us to have a table at the outdoor lobby for our meals since we could not access the restaurant area. This was truly a treat for us. The manager and staff couldn't have been nicer.

Room Tip: The third floor will give you the best sunset views but there are no elevators.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Beautiful place in the hills. The staff is lovely. We met Edgar at reception and turns out he is a naturalist. Some of my group hired him for a tour of the park. They said he was incredible.

The bed is super comfortable. The AC is fantastic. The pool and restaurant area is nice. The cost to get into town in $4 and to get to the beach is $8. If you don't mind the rides back and forth, you should consider staying here. It would be hard to walk anywhere from this location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews