We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mimos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mimos
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Don't be fooled”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

After reading the other reviews for Hotel Mimos, I'm wondering if this is the same hotel we stayed in Manuel Antonio. Hotel Mimos was a huge disappointment and after 2 days, we ended up transferring to another hotel up the road. The building we were in was extremely outdated, dark and dingy. The room was right on the main road with lots of traffic. When you walked into the room there was an overwhelming musty odor and it didn't help that our air conditioner did not work. The staff was pleasant enough but never actually help correct any of the problems. We asked several times to be moved to a new room but they just kept telling us they didn't have anything available even though the newer rooms were obviously empty. We had prepaid a ridiculous amount of money for such a room and they refused to give us any refund. We ended up leaving and forfitting our payment to stay at a much much nicer hotel - for the same price as Mimos.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MimosinMA, Owner at Hotel Mimos, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
This review ashamed product of a threat. If so this guest came in the middle of Christmas week and New Year through her travel agent. The claim I made to her travel agent which notifies to her that the hotel is full and there is no possibility of refund attributable to well know political high season. Unable to get away with it She threatens to make the hotel a bad review does not receive their money back knowing is nothing wrong with the hotel Hotel Management notifies to her that everything about refund is with the her travel agency not to Hotel. Anyone can read other reviews where Mimos hotel makes changes and upgrades whenever possible. By having a variety of rooms in three different buildings. I hope that this aberration is revealed where the anger of a person using this medium lies to get away with making fool of all us.
Best Regards ,
Mimos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    92
    44
    25
    14
See reviews for
53
138
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

This is a family owned and operated hotel. The family is very friendly and take pride in their work. I was upgraded to a very roomy suite with a balcony overlooking the rest of the hotel which is etched into the side of a mountain. Be prepared to do some hiking as there is no phone in the rooms and if you need anything you must walk down steep steps to the front desk then back up again. My room was very clean but had a constant odor of the septic tank. I would have left the windows open but there are no screens on the windows to keep creatures out. Do not be fooled by their website, there is no view of the ocean anywhere from the hotel. As far as booking any tours I would do that through the people on the streets in Manuel Antonio. I don't think the staff has as much knowledge or experience with the actual tour as they should have. Overall I would recommend this hotel purely on the fact that the family is so nice and it is centrally located between Quepos and Manuel Antonio Beach

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the front desk if you don't want to hike up to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizqueenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We recently came back from Costa Rica and this hotel was one of our favorites. The staff (especially Arturo) was great, they opened rooms early, helped us plan tours and guided us on places to eat. The bus stop is located just up the street so an easy ride to Quepos or the beaches at Manual Antonio. The room was large and the beds comfortable. The only downfall was the the pool and hot tub are not heated, but that didn't stop us from swimming.

Breakfast was good at the on site restaurant, but the service was a little slow - we almost missed our pickup (it took 45 minutes to get eggs and toast for 5 people).

I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get are junior suite - the beds were large and there were plenty of beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hokievet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I decided to get married for a second time in Quepos, Costa Rica. We needed a place for the bride and groom parties to get ready. The staff at Mimos was very accommodating and the wedding went off without a hitch. The rooms at Mimos have all been remodeled and are very nice. The pools at Mimos are my favorite part. The pools can feel very private and are a great place to dip in after a day at the beach. The restaurant at Mimos is exceptional. There are no bad items on the menu. I suggest the fresh fruit juices. All and all an amazing stay at Mimos that I would recommend to anyone. I know I will be staying there again when I return to Costa Rica. PURA VIDA!!!

Room Tip: The upper floors have amazing views and access to a private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyMcPherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Located a few miles up the road from the pristine Manuel Antonio National Park, Mimos offers luxurious accomodations at a budget price. Friendly, knowledgable owners treat you like family members and are full of great recommendations for local restaurants and day trips. Breakfast is served in the open air restaurant each morning. If you're lucky, you'll see a troop of rare squirrel monkeys on the move.

Room Tip: Spring for the penthouse. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderinAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Having spent time at Hotel Mimos last year, I could not wait to make a return trip. My son and daughter-in-law joined me this year making the 10 day visit even more memorable than last year. From day one we were treated like "returning family by the entire staff at Mimios. Our rooms (two bedroom suite) were fantastic, with a large balcony to enjoy the surrounding gardens, sip coffee in the morning, and watch the iguanas that came on a daily basis to sun themselves,. Loved having the refrigerator and coffee maker in the room, and contrary to other posts, the air-conditioning worked just fine! The food at Mama Mia's was wonderful from breakfast through dinner with large servings and very reasonably priced. My son and daughter-in-law went fishing on Sunday and brought their catch back to the hotel, where the cook prepared it for them for dinner, what a treat! Petra, Giancarlo & Rebecca, Oscar, Lilianna, Fabian, and all the rest, thank you, thank you, thank you for welcoming me back with such open arms, and making my son and his wife feel like part of the family too. You are absolutely five stars in my book, and I can't wait to make a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

A nice hotel just near Manuel Antonio. Cozy rooms and brilliant service is what you can expect if you decide to visit this place. But be sure that whatever happens the staff of the hotel will be there to help you! So if you are planning to spend time somewhere around Quepas or Manuel Antonio this hotel is the place to be and you get wonderful value for your money and very caring attitude which is priceless! Using this opportunity I want to say thank you Petra, Rebecca and Giancarlo!!! And for all the people planning to visit this beautiful country: Do not loose your grip!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alecjan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#33 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mimos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mimos

Property: Hotel Mimos
Address: Main Road via Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mimos 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you great value in a tropical setting and a family friendly environment, tastefully furnished accommodations and good food in the Buru Bar & Grill Restaurant. Conveniently located between the National Park Manuel Antonio and town, Quepos. Our hotel offers a variety of rooms fromStandard Deluxe, Junior suite and Family Suites, Apartments, Master and Honeymoon Suites elegantly arranged in our three story building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Mimos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimos Hotel
Hotel Mimos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing