We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for small children”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Didi's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 17 Manuel Antonio B&B and Inns
Mountain Grove, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not for small children”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I loved Didi's B&B, the only reason we stay one night and not three is our son (15 months). My husband and I had to walk our son every second and not able to enjoy breakfast, because our son kept trying to jump into the pool.

It was a peaceful and charming. The owner and his staff were very friendly and helpful. I felt very safe and welcomed here.

The floors creak just a bit, but it wasn't a deal breaker for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K80shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were looking for a clean bedroom with A/C and hot water where we could spend three nights at Manuel Antonio.... but we got so much more!!! A very comfortable and tidy bedroom with cable TV and quiet A/C; light fixtures, controllable from the bedside; a kitchenette with a refrigerator, a sink, a small stove and dishware; a clothes-hanging frame and shelves; a spacious bathroom and shower with hot water... and even Wi-Fi connection and parking space!!! Elsa, our friendly maid, cleaned our bedroom and changed our towels and bed linen daily. But what really made our stay extraordinary was Ezio -- our helpful, thoughtful and generous host -- who not only was very attentive to our every need, but cooked delicious and healthy four-course dinners for us at an unbeatable price; he even made us a special Italian banquet (which included two good portions of his superb, genuine tiramisu) and presented us with a bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate our anniversary!!! It really couldn't have been any better than this, and we challenge anyone to find a better value at Manuel Antonio. Grazie mille, Ezio.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I started our honeymoon tour of Costa Rica at Didi’s. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Location: Didi’s is located between Quepos and the beach/national park. At first, I was somewhat surprised by the distance to the beach, but by the end of our visit it was no problem at all. The bus stops very close to the B&B and is a very cheap ride to restaurants and the beach. However, my wife and I actually walked 30-45 minutes to the beach almost everyday we were there. We like getting out, exploring, and being active, so we found a few backroads with winding hills and counted it as an adventure every morning. There are a number of restaurants within walking distance that are worth checking out, and again, taking the bus to Quepos or MA is very easy and cheap.

Rooms: The room we stayed it was modest but comfortable. For the price, it is almost unbeatable. Very clean and quiet. We had no trouble sleeping at all.

Service: Ezio is such a nice man and his dogs are very friendly! The breakfast of fruit, bread, juice, and coffee each morning was simple yet a great start to each day. We were actually the only people there when we stayed (during the low season), and Ezio gave us plenty of space but was very helpful whenever we needed something. Not a malicious cell in him!

If you are willing to save a ton of money by not being right on the beach, then look no further than Didi’s!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We checked this place out due to good reviews on TA and the price. Granted, finding a cheap place to stay in this part of costa rica is difficult however we were left a bit disappointed and underwhelmed with this place.

The owner was very nice and very helpful: fixing the broken shower in our room to enable us to have a warm shower and generally being very pleasant and nice. The B&B sits next to the regular public bus stop (just outisde hotel gaia/la luna restaurant) which is very handy as the buses are reliable and cheap. Also on the positives, the room was fairly big with a balcony, AC, cable TV and a fan.

However the place was let down by the following:

- Smelly (very) dog who will follow you unless you make it clear to Ezio you do not want this! The dog smell permeates the premises
- Rooms were not 100% clean and had a smell of slight dampness
- Shower did not work initially for hot water but was rapidly fixed by Ezio
- No WIFI in the room and WIFI very very temperamental in the communal area downstairs

In short, ok if you don't mind dogs, the smell of dogs, lack of reliable internet and rooms not entirely clean and want to save some money in this part of Costa Rica. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Go for a room with AC to reduce smell of dampness and ask Ezio to keep his dog at bay if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zchaa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaNikki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ezio is a great host, always available if you need him, but it's like he's not there when you don't. Breakfast is simple... Toast and fruit with coffee and juice. The dinner Ezio makes is a must! It was the best meal I had on our entire honeymoon. The bed and breakfast felt like Peewee's play house! It was very unique and different. The bed was definitely not the most comfortable, but the experience was cool and the location was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I just returned yesterday with my wife from a trip that included La Selva, Cerro de la Muerte, and Manuel Antonio. I have not been to any of these places since 2007 and I have to say that overall, Manuel Antonio has grown for the worse. It is too busy with too little real infrastructure and WAY overpriced for what you receive. However, that said, there is a hidden gem on the road from Quepos leading to the MA national park and that is Didi's Bed and Breakfast. Situated between Quepos and Manuel Antonio with a nearby bus station it is perfectly situated to avoid the crowds yet easy distance from the beach and all the craziness on either side. Additionally, the Proprietor Ezio is an amazing host, friendly, charming, and always willing to help. His two companions (Lou and Ulysses, a poodle and a labrador) are also very friendly. His prices are very reasonable and he is an amazing chef. If you are staying for more than one night I would highly recommend that you partake in his optional dinner which will be less expensive than the surrounding restaurants, includes a bottle of wine or a couple of beers, and is real authentic northern Italian cuisine. I wold definitely stay with him again if I found myself in that neck of the woods.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to the heat choose one of the rooms that has optional air conditioning for a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at DiDi's B&B after finding it on a search. I'm so glad I did! I had an amazing room (downstairs) which had a kitchen which enabled me to buy some of the fresh fish from the area and cook myself. The location is ideal, across the street is the bus stop for Quepos or Manuel Antonio, costing only 50c or so. There is a secure gate so its only residents that have access to the property, which was comforting. The room was immaculate and Ezio was the perfect host, helping with any enquiries I had. The breakfast was lovely fresh fruit and toast, with tea or coffee. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Manuel Antonio. Perfect in every way! Thank you Ezio for everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,454 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parador Resort and Spa
Parador Resort and Spa
#10 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort
0.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didi's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didi's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Didi's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Manuel Antonio Rd., Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Didi`s Bed And Breakfast
Didi`s Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Didi's Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing