We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful atmosphere”
Review of Hotel La Colina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Colina
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I stayed here with my boyfriend in July of 2009 and when i left I felt like i made close friends for life. The hotel is only a 5 minute taxi ride from either Quepos or Manuel antonio beach and it's a 50 cent bus ride to either. At the reception Lorena is really sweet and friendly and very accomodating! We stayed in a jungle view room which had a double bed, a tv and a private bathroom with a/c. It was steps away from the pool with a swim up bar! The bartender John is from Canada and he makes great drinks and we instantly bonded with him. Michael the owner is a chef from virginia who's kitchen was incredible. Best guacamole (made to order), ceviche and fresh fish i have ever had. He's also extremely laid back and friendly and we hung out with him every night. He even let us have a bbq for the fourth of july! We stayed there for 5 nights and never went out once in town at night--we loved the hotel so much we ate and drank there every night! We will DEFINITELY be back next year! Plus there is free internet and as many beach towels as you want.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilar813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    71
    61
    24
    36
See reviews for
44
130
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We drove by this hotel and asked for the availability. It looked like a fun hotel to stay and the hotel had a swimming pool.

The first room we saw was the one at the lower level. I felt really sad when I saw the room - I could stay if I had no choice, but I preferred not to. Maybe the owner felt me being reluctant staying in that room. He showed me the other rooms at upper levels. We had a choice between one extra bed, or a upright piano. Both rooms had ocean views, and we decided on the room with a piano (it was not tuned :) )

The view from the room was beautiful and although the piano was out of tune, it was fun to play some pieces in the room. This is not a luxurious hotel, but the room was clean, and the bathroom was better than the ones we saw at the lower level.

The hotel also offered free breakfast: Gallo Pinto, French toast, etc. It was not bad - but the waitress did not appear to be very attentive. She could do better.

The pool was a good addition to the hotel because it was really hot during the day. Also after a long drive, we needed to refresh ourselves. It is not a big pool, but it was decent.

It was a good place to stay, but I may look around a bit more, when I come next time. However, for the price we paid, I think it was great.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovebossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

First time in Costa Rica and my boyfriend and I found this place very charming and unpretentious. The hotel is owned by two brothers from San Francisco so they know how to satisfy Americans expectations without losing the Costa Rican tropical feel. The staff is extremely friendly. Good complimentary breakfast and the swim up bar makes for a great relaxing evening with hotel visitors if you don't want to go out. Manuel Antonio is not commercialized so you'll need to take a cab to the local restaurants and beaches but they are close by. You can walk but I wouldn't advise that with the narrow, winding roads and lack of sidewalks.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bliudolfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We went to Costa Rica in late May in the rainy season and still had a blast. The mornings were sunny and hot and it would rain on occasion in the afternoon. We stayed at La Colina for 4 nights and got one free. The free breakfast is good you can choose from costa rican eggs, rice, beans, and toast or have pancakes, cereal, french toast all with juice and coffee. We only ate there once for dinner because we were out exploring and it was a bit pricey, but delicious. We stayed in the cheapest room, which was very small and basic. The hotel only gives you two towels so I would recommend you bring some beach towels or mats and a blow dryer to dry some wet clothes. The hotel is about 30 minutes walking distance and 5-7 minute car ride from the two free beaches and Manuel Antonio park. My boyfriend and I went to Costa Rica on a budget for an adventure and had a blast. For budget travelers we recommend you rent a car and drive here and to Volcano Arenal, eat in the local town restaurants for about $15 for two instead of the tourist places because our bills would come out to $40-50 for dinner. Every place includes a 13% tax and 10% service fee so keep that in mind. Bring a waterproof camera or case because it rains spontanousely so you don't want to get your camera wet. The tours we did were Canopy, white water rafting, snorkeling, kayaking, hot spings in volcano arenal, which were a little pricey, but awesome and most came with free lunch. Make sure you check out the free private beach for cheap tour prices. You will see all types of animals, which is amazing. We did not go out much after dinner because we would wake about 7 am to do tours all day, but alot of people recommended Bambay Jam. Ladies wear comfortable cute swimsuit clothes because its really hot and Costa Rica is not a place to be flashy because it is super casual.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktjf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2009

I recently returned from visiting Manuel Antonio which is probably the most beautiful place I have ever seen. We stayed at La Colina for 6 nights and were very pleased with the service we received. Those at the front desk, Rodrigo and Lorena, were both very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts that are included are good--a few of the choices are rather small, but delicious, as well as the dinner menu. A couple of us stayed in a Jungle View room which was clean and did have a lovely view. My only complaint is that the bathroom was very small (as well as the entire room, although I somewhat expected that). The married couple in our group stayed in an Ocean View Suite which was very nice and spacious with vaulted ceiling and a beautiful view from the balcony. The whole atmosphere is so lovely and you really feel like you are in the midst of a rain forest. We saw a few white-faced capuchin monkeys, iguanas, and even a 3-toed sloth all right there on the grounds of the hotel!! One of the few downsides is that it is a ways out to the main beach, but not a huge deal--there are public buses that cost less than 50 cents or taxis available. Overall, I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great deal and beautiful atmosphere. I would recommend getting an Ocean View Suite if you will be spending much time in the hotel--especially for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mieldeatilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2009

It's been my second time going to Manuel Antonio, I love it, last year I was at la Mariposa nice hotel very expensive, but this year I went on budget and La colina it's awesome the staff are very friendly and helpful, I had great conversation with them especially Lorena
she's always smiling and making people happy same for Crystal, and Jon from Toronto that work at the bar makes some great drinks. If you looking for a great location, not to expensive and very friendly this is the place I recommend it. Can't wait to go back again!!

Pura Vida!!!!!!!!!!!

Harley

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleyg819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at La Colina. We definitely recommend the upper Ocean view rooms, which as other people have mentioned, do take some stair climbing to access (it's not a big deal if you're in average shape). This property is more rustic than polished, but totally pleasant and comfortable and of good value - and a diversion from the other more touristy resort style hotels. There is a swim up bar and the drinks are delicious and cheap!!!! I also need to mention that the chips and guacamole are made fresh - and were so delicious. It's a bit of a sleepy place - which is really nice. We had a car which was crucial to getting to the beach, as it's not that close to the beach. We felt very relaxed here and slept very well, but were still up every morning at 7am to enjoy the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyn32Alli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#34 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
314 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#32 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
297 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#41 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colina

Property: Hotel La Colina
Address: Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colina 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Colina is perched on a hill overlooking Manuel Antonio Bay (The Pacific Ocean) and nestled in the rain forest, home to many tropical animals. Monkeys, sloths, toucans and iguanas are commonly seen on the property. You can lounge near the pool or watch the sunset from the NEW SteakHouse restaurant while having a cool tropical cocktail on the bar.The hotel is centrally located in Manuel Antonio, just off the main road, a five minutes drive to some of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica and the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park. Many shops and restaurants are nearby.Taxi service and public transportation is easily accessible from the hotel. All rooms have full size beds, A/C, cable TV, private bathroom with hot water,in- room safe, and high speed WiFi & Wonderfull Breakfast a la carte Included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Colina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colina Hotel
Hotel La Colina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing