We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a find! A true hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Colina
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find! A true hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to stay in Manuel Antonio a few extra days. We walked down the street for a bit and came upon La Colina. Pure serendipity!

This was exactly what we were searching for: a charming place that seemed lively yet calm. We took the ocean view room way on the top (which the owner graciously let us view before we committed to it). This was by far my favorite room of our entire trip. We had a perfect view of the sunset each night, and the room received plenty of natural light with a beautiful yellow/orange color scheme.

The room amenities did have some shortcomings. The bed is just OK and the sliding balcony door didn't seal completely shut, though it locked fine. Also, a rooster lives nearby that likes to start "speaking" early in the morning, so bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. However, these are all trivial oversights when factoring in the tranquil ambience and amazing view.

The location was perfect. A short bus ride to the beach and a fairly easy walk to favorite restaurants such as Ronny's or El Arado. The market is just up the hill, right by the bus stop.

Breakfast is included in the morning, and there's free wi-fi throughout. The owner's have a couple very cute cats and dogs, so this is a great place for animal lovers.

I would definitely want to stay here again!

Room Tip: Splurge a little more for the ocean view room. Buy some snacks and drinks from the nearby market an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    64
    60
    24
    31
See reviews for
41
117
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Yes there are stairs to climb here - get over it and get some exercise, it will be worth it. We were two friends on a one week CR road trip, stayed here three nights in "the Treehouse". Nothing fancy, quiet except for some noise from the nearby road, clean and welcoming and for the cost could not be beat. Breakfast quite nice, spotted some critters in the trees every morning. Ate dinner here twice, fabulous salads, mahi and tuna. Hung out a bit in the evening with a few drinks and got acquainted with some local expats and owners Mike and Natasha and their various mascots - Steve the cat, and pooches Colina and Guido - all charming and friendly. One of the hotel staff helped me glue/put fender back together on rental car after it was dented by a crazy CR driver (and car made it past rental company inspection!).

Would return in a heartbeat, but would probably book an oceanview room for a few $ more.

Room Tip: Treehouse room was OK. Would advise oceanview room if you're not afraid of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meridenborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Property is quite lovely- it feels like staying in the National park. Some of the rooms are with ocean view. There is a pool, or couple pools, one attached to the bar with seats in it, so one can sit in the water and have a drink.
The owner- Mike is also a chef. The food is incredibly good and the whole atmosphere is very pleasant. People working there are helpful and friendly.
Definitely to recommend to anybody.
Jara P.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirklandWAJara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We spent 3 nights in the ocean view room, but would have found different accommodations if we hadn't prepaid. After rereading some of the reviews upon our return, which seemed so great prior to our stay, I think we should have requested a room change. Hardest part of the stay was roosters "cock-a-doodle doing" throughout the night and the bed was kind of a lumpy plywood mattress which made squeaky noises with every move waking up you and your partner all night. Other little things that I've come to expect that were not available included no hairdryer (not even in the front desk), no telephone, no clock, and getting two clean pool towels caused an in-depth staff search in the laundry room even though only 3 of the 12 rooms were filled every night we were there. Finally got 2 bleach-stained towels.

Also was a bit concerned about the sliding glass doors of our ocean view room. They only had the standard lock which was very worn and the lock could have easily been flipped from the outside. Our balcony was accessible from the main stairs so we never felt 100% safe. Also, the deadbolt once you are inside the room is initiated with a key, which seemed like a fire hazard.

Breakfast was fine - place your order from a pre-fixe menu. Onsite restaurant is only open for breakfast - don't expect lunch or dinner. Maybe this is because we were there during rainy season.

Location was ok - anywhere on the road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio is easy walking distance to a bus stop or taxi to get you where you want to go. Front desk was helpful with directions or calling a taxi.

This is a computer right next to the reception desk with internet, but the staff was nosy and watching every click.

Overall, it wasn't comfortable, not relaxing, not 100% safe. Not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2Travel247365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Visited here during the rainy season, but was blessed with great weather the whole time. This hotel is great if you plan on spending much of your trip outside, as there isn't much for indoor entertainment. The rooms are extremely cozy though, very comfortable, and pleasant to live in. The staff is fantastic too, everyone was so helpful in answering questions, going out of their way to accommodate you, and help facilitate/set up activites and tours (rafting, ATV, snorkeling, etc.) Good breakfast included, very cool swim up bar in the pool. Also an amazing view if you get the right room. Great location too, situated right between Quepos and the beach . Will definitely back, and would definitely recommend it to anyone vacationing in the area!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbank, BC Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

A very reasonable off season rate for a clean and comfortable room that included a full breakfast. They have a pool, bar for guests and restaurant. It was nice and quiet and they gave us the owls nest, the highest part of the property and what a view, but I paid for it with the climb. Almost have to be a mountain goat.

Some off street parking is also available.

Room Tip: Clean and comfy....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enter_only_once
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very nice, small hotel with great service and a nice pool and bar. Treat yourself to the top room with spectacular panoramic views of the sunset! The restaurant is not so good.
Suitable for those who don't mind walking up a few steps;)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#35 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#23 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#33 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#42 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colina

Property: Hotel La Colina
Address: Km 3 Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Colina 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Colina is perched on a hill overlooking Manuel Antonio Bay (The Pacific Ocean) and nestled in the rain forest, home to many tropical animals. Monkeys, sloths, toucans and iguanas are commonly seen on the property. You can lounge near the pool or watch the sunset from the NEW SteakHouse restaurant while having a cool tropical cocktail on the bar.The hotel is centrally located in Manuel Antonio, just off the main road, a five minutes drive to some of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica and the World Famous Manuel Antonio National Park. Many shops and restaurants are nearby.Taxi service and public transportation is easily accessible from the hotel. All rooms have full size beds, A/C, cable TV, private bathroom with hot water,in- room safe, and high speed WiFi & Wonderfull Breakfast a la carte Included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Otel, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Colina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colina Hotel
Hotel La Colina Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing