We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Forest view, nice staff, clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Teca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Teca to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Teca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Forest view, nice staff, clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Made our reservations late, this was one of the few hotels available. I was nervous after reading previous reviews (most recent from several years ago), but it worked out fine. Got two rooms for one night. Rooms were small but reasonably clean, no bugs. Showers had hot water in the evening but for some reason not in the morning (though a "cold" shower there isn't so bad really). View was **gorgeous**, I enjoyed sitting on the chairs on our porch and staring out at the rain forest -- even saw a monkey in a tree in the distance. The pool was fantastic -- big, comfy, clean, we really enjoyed our evening swim. A colorful frog jumped in and swam around for a while, how fun. Breakfast was solid -- toast, eggs, fruit plate, juice and coffee, just right for us. The door locks were fine, key on outside, manual on the inside (a previous review mentions key lock on both sides -- not the case, at least for our two rooms). AC was strong. The staff guy we met was really super nice and helpful.

The place is about a 5-8 minute walk off the main road if you take a bus; a taxi will take you straight to the door of course. The walk is through a residential area and felt safe. A bus runs along the main road about every 20 min, taking you to the beach, the national park, or back into town (Quepos). We did that, and also took a taxi (cost $8). We took the direct bus from San Jose, and the driver dropped us off at the road (even though a sign on the bus said no unscheduled stops, but everyone does it anyway). There's a restaurant a 3 minute walk from the hotel, didn't eat there but others told us it was great and had nice staff. The hotel restaurant only serves breakfast, is closed the rest of the day. Overall, the place served its purpose, beautiful view, comfy sleep, good AC, nice pool, decent price.

If we came to the national park again, we'd try to stay at a hotel next to Manuel Antonio National Park at the end of the road, so you could walk around at night at would be near restaurants and a grocery. We would NOT stay in Quepos itself, where we'd originally reserved -- it seems like a busy town and other reviews said there were prostitutes out at night, and we did see a big sign at the bus station near the Best Western (our original reservation) telling people not to solicit prostitutes -- it was fine in the day waiting for the bus, great fruit stands, great sodas (that's there name for little cafe), but I can see how that area could get questionable at night. The beach area near the national park, on the other hand, seemed a little nicer.

Oh, Manuel Antonio National Park is really nice, we enjoyed a leisurely walk looking at a few sloths, lizards, and a few monkeys, and a nice swim in the bay. Definitely cool, the kids liked it too.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    26
    18
    28
See reviews for
16
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orange county, cal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We had 7 rooms and when we arrived we had the following problems: toliets did not work, toliet paper holder not there, no pillows, one room 64 steps to room, sheets very old ready to fall apart, air not working in rooms. Once we settled in we could not eat since the kitchen had no propane. We were charged for ice, shower was not clean and had little water pressure. Breakfast was no charge unless you wanted bacon or ham, then you had to pay extra. Also, the office was not always open, so you had to learn the hours.
The staff in general was nice and helpful. They did the best they could with this run down hotel.

Room Tip: Pay more going to better hotel or private house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sak55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

This hotel is between Quepos and the beach (and NP) but is easy to reach with the bus. There are some nice restaurants within walking distance. We stayed for 3 nights and that was long enough. The room was small and the walls were really thin. You could hear your neighbors talk or their tv. The restaurant was closed (only open for breakfast) when we arrived because we were the only group. The swimming pool is ok, but not really big. I wouldn't describe this hotel as poor so I give it 3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelholic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

You can rent a room in a small lodge. The rooms are a little bit outdated, but the surrounding (the nature, green) make up for this.
The staff is friendly.

The location is great, between Quepos and Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaInDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Very helpful and accommodative staff. We were traveling with open vouchers for hotels and though no hotels were listed for Manuel Antonio when we showed up at the Villa Teca Anna gladly accepted ours for two nights. Anna showed us a nice cabana overlooking the beautiful jungle setting. Our room was clean and quiet (except for bird songs). The pool was nice in the afternoon after spending the days around MA. Breakfast was served buffet style in the open area restaurant and very satisfying. The restaurant was closed both nights we were there due to a baby shower on Saturday and Sunday night they just weren't open. It was o.k. because we had plans for dinners away from the hotel.

Another plug for Anna at the front desk. She was nice to help me make reservations for the next leg of our trip. My Spanish is poor and she was very helpful to me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugz2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new paltz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We are very experienced with the hotels in this country, and took a chance on the location of this place, it seemed so tranquil and off the main street. We booked in for our last night and were told that we would be given a wake-up call before the breakfast was over, there was no call...we made it in time though unfortunately to the worst meal we had been served in the two weeks of our adventures in Costa Rica. The people in the adjoining room, woke us as the rooms have the thinnest walls in the history of hotel walls. We finally got served the last of everything in the buffet, bologna and deep fried hot-dogs, and some kind of strange cheese-like butter, all of the food tasted off!!! The worst off it all is we have had to deal with Bed Bugs!!!!! They are all over my partners behind, and he has not been able to get over that!! Do NOT stay here, under any circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justeele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

In August I had my vacations in Costa Rica for 10 days, my last 3 days I stayed In Manuel Antonio, Villa Teca Hote. This is a medium class place but surrounded by tropical gardens. The first morning we went for breakfast at the terrace and the funny thing was looking the monkeys trying to still my food.
Since this day every morning we shared our food with them. The beach is only 15 minutes away from Playa Espadilla and Manuel Antonio national park is about 10 mins driving.. My next time in Costa Rica I´ll spend it here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalomaSantayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manuel Antonio National Park
0.4 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villas El Parque
Hotel Villas El Parque
#42 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Hotel Manuel Antonio
#26 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Teca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Teca

Property: Hotel Villa Teca
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Teca 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Teca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Teca
Hotel Villa Teca Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing