We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired; feels like it might close any day.”
Review of Hotel Villa Teca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Teca
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
orange county, cal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tired; feels like it might close any day.”
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We had 7 rooms and when we arrived we had the following problems: toliets did not work, toliet paper holder not there, no pillows, one room 64 steps to room, sheets very old ready to fall apart, air not working in rooms. Once we settled in we could not eat since the kitchen had no propane. We were charged for ice, shower was not clean and had little water pressure. Breakfast was no charge unless you wanted bacon or ham, then you had to pay extra. Also, the office was not always open, so you had to learn the hours.
The staff in general was nice and helpful. They did the best they could with this run down hotel.

Room Tip: Pay more going to better hotel or private house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sak55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    26
    18
    28
See reviews for
17
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This hotel is between Quepos and the beach (and NP) but is easy to reach with the bus. There are some nice restaurants within walking distance. We stayed for 3 nights and that was long enough. The room was small and the walls were really thin. You could hear your neighbors talk or their tv. The restaurant was closed (only open for breakfast) when we arrived because we were the only group. The swimming pool is ok, but not really big. I wouldn't describe this hotel as poor so I give it 3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelholic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

You can rent a room in a small lodge. The rooms are a little bit outdated, but the surrounding (the nature, green) make up for this.
The staff is friendly.

The location is great, between Quepos and Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaInDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Very helpful and accommodative staff. We were traveling with open vouchers for hotels and though no hotels were listed for Manuel Antonio when we showed up at the Villa Teca Anna gladly accepted ours for two nights. Anna showed us a nice cabana overlooking the beautiful jungle setting. Our room was clean and quiet (except for bird songs). The pool was nice in the afternoon after spending the days around MA. Breakfast was served buffet style in the open area restaurant and very satisfying. The restaurant was closed both nights we were there due to a baby shower on Saturday and Sunday night they just weren't open. It was o.k. because we had plans for dinners away from the hotel.

Another plug for Anna at the front desk. She was nice to help me make reservations for the next leg of our trip. My Spanish is poor and she was very helpful to me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugz2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new paltz
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We are very experienced with the hotels in this country, and took a chance on the location of this place, it seemed so tranquil and off the main street. We booked in for our last night and were told that we would be given a wake-up call before the breakfast was over, there was no call...we made it in time though unfortunately to the worst meal we had been served in the two weeks of our adventures in Costa Rica. The people in the adjoining room, woke us as the rooms have the thinnest walls in the history of hotel walls. We finally got served the last of everything in the buffet, bologna and deep fried hot-dogs, and some kind of strange cheese-like butter, all of the food tasted off!!! The worst off it all is we have had to deal with Bed Bugs!!!!! They are all over my partners behind, and he has not been able to get over that!! Do NOT stay here, under any circumstances.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justeele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio hotels

España
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2009

In August I had my vacations in Costa Rica for 10 days, my last 3 days I stayed In Manuel Antonio, Villa Teca Hote. This is a medium class place but surrounded by tropical gardens. The first morning we went for breakfast at the terrace and the funny thing was looking the monkeys trying to still my food.
Since this day every morning we shared our food with them. The beach is only 15 minutes away from Playa Espadilla and Manuel Antonio national park is about 10 mins driving.. My next time in Costa Rica I´ll spend it here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalomaSantayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had a great time at the hotel. This people need to realize that they are in a third world country. This hotel is not an American style hotel. So dont expect that... if you want that then stay at the holiday inn somewhere. This hotel is a perfect and wonderful Costa Rican hotel.
The staff was friendly and were ready to help with any request you have. They speak English and are a fun group. I stayed with three of my close friends, just out of college we all wanted to have a good time... and we did.
The resturant is a little pricey... but it is good and its right there... the drinks are wonderful.
I think one of the owners (Spainsh guy, we didnt talk to him) and an American friend from DC were staying the same time we were. The American was very friendly and made us feel like we were among friends. We say them often and he always was friendly and spoke to us.
The groups are filled with lush greenery and the most amazing blooming flowers. The staff helped us plan a couple trips and even recommened a nice place to watch the sunset. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crimsongrad09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villas Mymosa
Villas Mymosa
#37 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
434 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Teca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Teca

Property: Hotel Villa Teca
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Teca 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villa Teca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Teca
Hotel Villa Teca Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing