We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villabosque
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Stayed here 2 nights, very busy part of the season.
There was something that I did not quite like about this place, but I never figured it out- I think it was just crowded and a little noisy with people coming and going. Or maybe it was just the general crowdedness of Manuel Antonio- after coming from quiet Monteverde.
Anyway, the people were very nice. Our breakfast server was super nice, made sure we had enough water- which is a rare thing in a restaurant in Costa Rica- I drink a lot.
The check in was very nice, helpful.
The location close to the park is essential- I saw many people struggling with parking, paid parking of course. We went to the park, came back for brunch and recover from the heat, then went back in.
The room is large, the beds were super comfy, lots of pillows.
AC great, Free Wi-Fi.
the pool was comfortable and warm at the end of the day, though it is small, not many people in it.
We met other people who hated their hotel in M.A., so I think we should have been more than happy.
Maybe the other factor is that this place is bigger than the 3-7 unit places we had been staying, loses the personal factor.
But, overall, I think for Manuel Antonio, it was a great place. and not to beat up M.A, this park had the greatest concentration of monkeys, sloths, cool birds as well as great beaches. it is just overdeveloped- they should cut back on the admission numbers more!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 297 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2010

Recently stayed at Hotel Villa Bosque for 5 days. For sure, there are more luxurious hotels, but you can't beat this location. Within walking distance to the beach and the gate of the park. This proved to be very helpful b/c the park sold out each day so we were able to wake up early, buy our tickets, then walk back to the hotel to get dressed and have breakfast. Being near the beach was also great for me as it allowed me to walk back to the hotel and cool off & reapply sunscreen in the heat of the afternoon.
The staff was very friendly and helped us book excursions for our time there. The free breakfast was great and filling so most days we could get by on just snacks for lunch and save some $.
The bathroom was very clean and the ac worked perfectly (stayed in room 8). Only complaint was that the beds were a little hard. Basic hotel, but reliable and clean witih a superb location.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
Thank sak08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel twice, once in 2009 and once in 2006. I love it! It's ina great location, within walking distance of the beach, the main beachside street with shops and restaurants, and the National Park. And the hotel employees knock on your door to tell you when they are going to feed bananas to the monkeys in the trees right at the hotel! I like this place a lot. The hotel also has a little restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lishi8983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

After and amazing 2 nights at the Tabacan Resort in Arenal I was a little worried about going to Manuel Antonio without a hotel recommendation but this place was great. We drove the main road and chose part of town due to its proximity to the beach and the park. The street going up to the hotel is riddled with potholes so we almost didn't drive our rental car up it, but I'm glad we did. Villa Bosque is one of 3 nicer hotels that appear first and in my opinion the best value. One was $140/nt. and seemed just okay and kind of empty. The other was only $99/nt but the room was kind of dumpy. Villa Bosque was $115/nt. and included breakfast from their restaurant. (Really good french toast!) Our room was perfect for a nice non-Americanized room in Costa Rica. And very clean. Staff and service was great. Hotel is very cute. Has a pool on the upper level that is great to cool off in, although the water is warm and you can't beet the location. For sure recommend this hotel if you're not looking for a luxury resort type setting. It's a very nice, good valued hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Villa Bosque is located within a short walking distance to the park, beach, restaurants, stores, etc. The staff is wonderful, they are like being with family and close friends. The hotel has about 20 rooms of various sizes; there is a swimming pool, a bar/restaurant, plenty of comfortable outdoor seatig, and a staff that is there to make sure your experience is one you'll never forget. We, four of us in three different rooms, stayed a week at Villa Bosque. The staff arranged all of tours, a massage, suggested other restaurants to visit, and assisted in helping ease hangover illness with freshly made chicken soup. Can't say enough about the wonderful experience at Villa Bosque. Breakfast is included in the price of the room... good breakfast choices from the menu.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irises4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed here just for one night, and found the staff to be friendly, the rooms clean, breakfast good and the value fine

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexandLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Stayed only one night. Rooms are clean and people is nice. Excelent for the price. My food was delicious. Very close to Manuel Antonio Park and just a little walk from the beach. The only thing I disliked a little was that from the bathroom you could see the laundry room. Not that bad but a little noisy.

I'd surely return. This time, not alone.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
Thank jbalcazarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villabosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villabosque

Address: 150 meters from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and 150 meters from the beach., Manuel Antonio 79-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $96 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villabosque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bosque Hotel is an exclusive small hotel next to Manuel Antonio Beach and National Park. Here you can take some time to yourself and relax in this amazing combination of beach and tropical rainforest. It’s the ideal starting point to visit some surrounding locations as the National Park, nearby rafting rivers and canopy tours, surfing or horseback riding. For those who prefer to relax Espadilla Beach a soft white sand beach or Villa Bosque’s beautiful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villabosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villabosque Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing