We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Villabosque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villabosque
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Stayed only one night. Rooms are clean and people is nice. Excelent for the price. My food was delicious. Very close to Manuel Antonio Park and just a little walk from the beach. The only thing I disliked a little was that from the bathroom you could see the laundry room. Not that bad but a little noisy.

I'd surely return. This time, not alone.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
Thank jbalcazarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 297 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Villa Bosque for two nights. Both the beach and the national park entrance are only 5 minutes away by foot. I didn't see any other decent hotel that could beat the location. The staff was great. The front desk managers helped us make tour arrangements. Manfred, the waiter/bartender, gave us some excellent recommendations on restaurants (Salsipuedes is great), Costa Rican customs, and even introduced us to the local drinks. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice: good bed, strong air-conditioning, and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siggy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We had a very pleasnt stay at this hotel, located off-site of the main street of Manuel Antonio.

Pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff.

Lots of birds to watch, and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GUYGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

The rooms had bugs everywhere. The staff was Ok and the older woman who someone said was the owner was arrogant. I chose to stay here because the mane implies forest. Boy did I hear it from my girlfriend.

The tiny liitle room had towels with holes and the plumbing stunk. The bathroom was filthy. We left immeadiately the next day and they did not complain. The place was empty. The food was way overpriced and nauseating. Take my word and stay away from this place. I don't see how it stays in business

Stayed: December 2008
Thank Trymenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Pleasant hotel close to the National park. Just about 400m to the park entrance area.
Rooms are fine with good quality but slightly old-fashioned funiture. Porch seating when it rains.
Beware of the 2nd row of rooms: the neighbor built a wall just 20cm behind the hotel windows, so about 40% of the hotel rooms are almost pitch dark!!! Don't accept these rooms for your stay. Only the rooms on the front row with view of the main entrance are good.
The pool is small on top of the first floor, but good enough after a day in the park.
Hotel bar and restaurant are fine and have a pleasant outdoor setting. Being the only guests was a little bit too very quiet. Walk down to the main road (300m) to find a few restaurants that are lively and actually better then they look from the outside.
There is one very slow (dial-up) internet terminal, where the hotels next door have high speed WiFi access.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank baron1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Friends and friends this hotel this located in the center of manuel antonio near the beach very well and the national park manuel antonio, has pretty a personnel are very amiable the very clean and decorated rooms excellent. the truth is a hotel of first class is very contented and hopes to return. I recommend the food is one of best. thanks to all I can recommend it like of the best ones of the zone

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tavito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Wen to to this hotel because of it's proximity to the park and the prices seemed reasonable. Well, bug mistake. The staff were friendly enough, which swayed us to take the room despite concerns about the room being dimly lit, cramped and the hotel as a whole lacking any real charm.

It was late, so we were convinced by the staff that everyting was closing and that we should eat there. Uggh. The world's worst margaritas - totally undrinkable. The food took very long, despite us being the ONLY customers, and then it was totally wrong. We clearly stated we were vegetarians and yet there was a pile of mystery meat in the middle of our nachos instead of the guacamole that we had to keep asking for. There were two TV's on different, annoying stations, plus music. It gave us a real headache, even without drinking the cheap tequila. (we found out later that there were many places still open at that hour, had they just been kind enough to share some options.)

The room was the real problem. We couldn't take showers because the water wouldn't come out of the shower, only out of a faucet that was about 4 inches from the floor. (It wasn't a tub) I had to cup my hands and splash the water on my head and body like an animal. After a 6 hour drive to get here, not exactly a relaxing welcome.

The next morning we tried to explain the problems. The staff kept telling me I didn't know how to use the shower controls. Ok, I only have 18 years of education and 10 years running complex projects, as well as having traveled to 30+ countires with all manner of plumbing. These were standard western plumbing fixtures. They made me show the housekeeper who claimed that the tiny trickle coming out of the shower and the gush from the faucet was "normal".

After asking to speak to the manager, the rude owner eventually appeared and treated us like criminals. She wouldn't even look at us in the face and just kept saying things to the reception guy who interpreted "she says it's your fault". She would make comments and laugh at us. It was unbelievable. This went on until we just threw in the dingy towel.

Uggghhhhhh!

Well, we drove around the area a bit and quickly found that there were many choices where the staff and the owners were very friendly, open to negotiate better rates and gave us a choice of rooms. We moved to Hotel Manuel Antonio and had a great rest of our stay in the area.

Save yourself a real headache, DON'T DO VILLA BOSQUE, which should be called Evila Boss instead.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bonpersona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#23 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villabosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villabosque

Address: 150 meters from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and 150 meters from the beach., Manuel Antonio 79-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $96 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villabosque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bosque Hotel is an exclusive small hotel next to Manuel Antonio Beach and National Park. Here you can take some time to yourself and relax in this amazing combination of beach and tropical rainforest. It’s the ideal starting point to visit some surrounding locations as the National Park, nearby rafting rivers and canopy tours, surfing or horseback riding. For those who prefer to relax Espadilla Beach a soft white sand beach or Villa Bosque’s beautiful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villabosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villabosque Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing