We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villabosque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villabosque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here twice, both times in the same room (by chance). The hotel is right near the Park entrance and one can see monkeys and birds aplenty. Everything was very good and I enjoyed sitting on the balcony (I was on the 2nd floor). Staff were very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: Avoid bottom rooms right by parking area and those in the back (dark).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Google Translation
Agradecemos enormemente su comentario en relación al servicio que brindamos en el área de Manuel Antonio, realmente Hotel Villabosque ofrece una de las mejores ubicaciones cerca del Parque Nacional y de la Playa Manuel Antonio, agradecemos su comentario y esperamos pueda volver a visitarnos en nuestro Hotel. Saludes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    70
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
40
82
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This Hotel really exceeded my expectations for the price. The rooms are beautiful and clean with plenty of space. The bathrooms were clean and had nice showers with hot water. The service at the restaurant was excellent, and the bartender went above and beyond to make our stay more pleasurable. I def recommend this hotel for anyone who has a little extra cash to spend, it is well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PkNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan J, Propietario at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Google Translation
Estamos agradecidos con su estancia en Hotel Villabosque, es un placer haberlos recibidos en nuestro hotel y cumplir con sus expectativas. Estos comentarios nos motivan a seguir trabajando en la calidad de los servicios que ofrecemos en el área de Manuel Antonio.
Esperamos vuelvan a visitarnos y puedan volver disfrutar de este hermoso lugar.
Se despide: Allan J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here July 2012. It was recommended by a friend who has stayed here many times. It was everything she said it was and more! The staff was wonderful! Helen at the front desk welcomed us warmly and was incredibly helpful with tours as well. But our all time favorite is the bartender, Gato!! He was professional, caring, and made delicious drinks! Our stay would not have been the same without Gato! He was not only the bartender, but the server, bus boy and local attraction guide! This hotel is charming. The outdoor lounges and restaurant are perfect. The food was delicious and fairly priced. It is only a few steps from the entrance of the National Park. We highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: We were in room 10, upstairs on the end. It was quiet and we felt quite safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vsquared13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan J, Gerente at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias, En Hotel Villabosque hacemos nuestro mejor esfuerzo en satisfacer a nuestros clientes para que su estancia sea la mejor posible en este hermoso lugar, además de nuestra excelente ubicación en donde el huésped puede caminar hacia la playa o el Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio libremente. Esperamos puedan volver a visitarnos Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here almost ten years ago when we got married an we loved the place. We were always looking forward to the day that we would return, but not any more. The rooms now are way over priced for what they have to offer. What they lack in amenities and service they make up for in gouging you in rates. It seams like they are trying to cut-corners everywhere that they can, yet still charge like they are a 4 star resort. I would not recommend this place for anyone unless they do not have nay other options.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyCoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan J, Propietario at Hotel Villabosque, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Google Translation
Estimado cliente, pedimos disculpas no haber cumplido con las expectativas de sus vacaciones, si bien es cierto hemos tratado de mantener la misma calidad de nuestro servicio desde hace años, pero vemos en su caso en particular no fue de la manera que esperaba, por lo tanto de parte de Hotel Villabosque hemos tomado el tema de control de calidad aplicado a todos nuestros clientes para que en caso de alguna situación incomoda pueda ser corregida de inmediato y logremos mantener la satisfacción de todos nuestros clientes.
Cordialmente se despide:
Allan J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloeil, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Location & impressions:

Nice hotel, well located. Xpensive, but regarding the location of the hotel...The restaurant of the hotel is rarely frequented, except for the inclued breakfast.
Hotel is pretty close to a small bridge under wich runs a low watered river, that brings a lot of mosquitos at night near the reception and restaurant. If you plan to use the internet computer located near the staff desk, make sure to wear long pants and long t-shirt...
But Otherwise, the hotel is superb, and clean.

About the rooms:

For the first 2 nights we got room #3, wich was wonderful, located in front of the parking area, close to the restaurant and reception. The room was large, confortable, tv inclued and air conditionned (thanks god!) and nice wooden carved door that we can lock from the inside too. Nice and clean bathroom. Room price: 130$ / night.
For the last night, we were switched to the room #11, on the 2nd floor behind the pool area in the dark corridor of the hotel.. For 30$ less than the other room (100$ / night).
The difference was shocking!!! the room was quite small in a small dark corridor at the back of the hotel, not well lighted in the corridor, but when we opened the door: 2 small beds, air conditionned, and if you want to plan to use the bathroom: you need to open the door, enter and then close the door so you can sit... this says it all...

And what surprise!!! The only window give a view to a wall of bricks and several bats looking at you!!! (at least 5-10..) and the wall is less than 30 cm from the windows.... and the tv was a old square tv from the 90's, not flat one like room #3... so 100$ was expensive for this room compared to the first room we got. But it's only for the room.

Overall:

While you eat breakfast, you can have a nice look at the birds, place is quiet, well located and relax. Staff was great, and i would recommend this place again.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms located at the back of the hotel in the dark corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jebelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I enjoyed my stay here. The pool was cool amd there was a ton of wild life around the hotel. We saw sloths, monkeys, frogs and all kinds of birds. It was also right in the entrance to the park.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbezy520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

After spending a wonderful 2 weeks in Costa Rica we ended our trip with 2 nights at this hotel and were disappointed. Everyone else before was so friendly and ready to help while staff here didn't appear to care much for their guests. In addition, the rooms lacked taste in decoration and were not practical (especially bathrooms: no place to hang a towel, etc.)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villabosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villabosque

Property: Hotel Villabosque
Address: 150 meters from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and 150 meters from the beach., Manuel Antonio National Park 79-6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villabosque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Bosque Hotel is an exclusive small hotel next to Manuel Antonio Beach and National Park. Here you can take some time to yourself and relax in this amazing combination of beach and tropical rainforest. It’s the ideal starting point to visit some surrounding locations as the National Park, nearby rafting rivers and canopy tours, surfing or horseback riding. For those who prefer to relax Espadilla Beach a soft white sand beach or Villa Bosque’s beautiful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villabosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villabosque Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing