We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Verde Mar
Nearby Hotels
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$381
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$96
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$486
$464
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$261
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveler rating
155
235
97
62
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
235
97
62
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkbeach accesscosta ricalarge walk in closethot waterwithin walking distancemanuel antonio parksmall kitchenbeds were comfortableworked greatbeach hotelcoffee makerrestaurants and shopsmini fridgenice poolmanual antoniogrocery store
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 590 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I wanted a beach vacation for mid-range budget, and this fit the bill perfectly! Clean, comfortable, fun wildlife motif and steps from a beautiful beach. We got the same rate as at a cheap motel in Quepos, miles from the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjtiamfook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Hotel Verde Mar is an older hotel and it shows, there is a lot of deferred maintenance here.

What we liked: Having a kitchenette (just make sure everything you have fits in the fridge since ants are a constant struggle). The shower was a good size and had a clothes line. Hot water worked great. The closet locked and contained a lock box. While dated and in need of repairs, the room was fairly clean and they were great about providing towels. Staying on the beach side; easy walk to the beach.

Not so great: Beds are platform type with mattresses that need replacing. During our stay, there was a power surge that caused us to loose 4 bulbs in the room. It took two days for them to completely resolve the lighting. Most of the time, we turned them off as they are quite harsh, fully exposed bulbs.

Overall, this was not our favorite part of the trip. This is a very touristy/crowded area. More value can be had for the money in another area.

Tip: When going to Manuel Antonio park, ignore all the people standing in the street trying to waive you down into a parking spot far from the park and sell you a tour. These people are not associated with the park itself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlyqs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The location is terrific. It is right on the beach and a short walk to the stores and restaurants along the main beach. You can walk to Manual Antonio National Park too.

However, the rooms are very basic and our room was not very clean. There were dead bugs everywhere and when I pointed them out to the person that showed us to our room, she just shrugged and the bugs stayed there all three days we were there.

We also had lizards in our room, which also was just shrugged upon by the staff.

Our room had a very strong musty odor, probably because there are no windows that open and it is really humid. My daughter had an allergy attack within minutes of walking into the room.

Our room did have air conditioning, but it was broken and the thermostat did not work, so it was either on or off. It blew right on our bed, so we would turn it on when we went to bed and then we would wake up freezing and turn it off and then get hot and wake up and turn it back on, etc. Made for some long nights.

The restaurant was SO over priced and charged huge taxes and service fees. If you do decide to eat there, ask what the real price is going to be. Our very basic breakfast ended up being very expensive and the food was not very good. Probably the worst food we had on our entire trip.

There is a small pool, bring mosquito repellant if you are going to sit by it.

It seemed to be a popular place for surfers and that makes sense since you can go directly from your room to the beach.

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchenettes. We were in the annex area behind the restaurant and the wifi did not work in our room. We had to go and sit in the mosquito filled lobby to use it. Our friends in the main building did have wifi in their rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just returned from a week stay in Costa Rica, four nights of which were at Hotel Verde Mar. WOW! What a location. Step outside your room, down a short path and you are on an amazing beach. Rent chairs and umbrellas right outside. Take up surfing while enjoying the great view. About 1 block away is a quick convenient store for your must haves. Walk about 10 minutes down the beach and shop for souvenirs for your loved ones at local markets. From there, venture into an amazing national park. We had a great time at Hotel Verde Mar. We bought items for breakfast and lunch and then went out for dinner. We did end up driving to dinner just because of the winding roads and darken streets, but most restaurants are within a 3-5 minute drive. The rooms are nice, with a kitchenette and clean bathroom. If you are looking for top of the notch amenities, look elsewhere, but we felt safe, clean, and relaxed our whole trip. Enjoyed a drink or two on the balcony as well. Visit the Wave restaurant next door for a delicious meal and amazing service. Looking forward to returning someday soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is right on the beach, has hot water & AC, and even has a little kitchenette. The location is perfect for hanging out on the beach, walking into town, or visiting Manuel Antonio Park. The AC didn't work great, but it brought the temp in the room down enough to be comfortable at night.. The laundry line in the shower didn't work, but draping a couple of t-shirts over the railing (I know.... ghetto) was sufficient. The front desk staff was very nice. It's not fancy, but if you're there to hang out on the beach and in the park, & not in your hotel room it works quite well.

Room Tip: I stayed in 208. It was sufficiently quiet, even though it overlooks the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ratgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews