We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can't be beat, but....”
Review of Hotel Vela Bar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vela Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Location can't be beat, but....”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is literally 200 feet from Manuel Antonio Park entrance, and 300 feet the other direction from the beach (off of the main street). The price is one of the lowest in the area, and the location CANNOT BE BEAT. We arrived at night and there were ants all over the shower. This is probably a common problem since it's a tropical climate, and the bathroom window is only a screen. The bathroom was sprayed and problem resolved. There were two bars of soap, and no SHAMPOO. I asked the desk if this was an error, and he said that shampoo was not included. So, at least be aware of both good and bad before you book it. Priced fairly (comparable with some other smaller hotels in the area) and location is phenominal. No pool.

Room Tip: Some rooms had a porch, nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    84
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
38
211
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Athough we didn't stay here, we very much enjoyed our brief time in the Vela Bar, where we ate twice and enjoyed a few beers and wonderful Margaritas.
Exceptionally friendly staff and seriously good food.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great hotel, clean rooms, friendly environment. Great price, and close to the beach. There are nicer hotels in Manuel Antonio, but when you come here the room is for sleeping, not to hang out in, this is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, and the water is amazingly warm, you spend all day in the park and in the water, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r4mbl3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Can't beat the location of this hotel! Quick two minute walk to the public beach and right at the entrance of the national park. The cute but simple decor in the rooms, the hammock outside our door, and the lovely gardens on the grounds really helped us to feel like we were finally in Costa Rica! It's not a five star hotel like you would find in states, ( small shower, a bit of a hard mattress) but I don't travel to other countries to feel like I'm still in the states! Love this hotel and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmichelle15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
0.8 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
996 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vela Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vela Bar

Property: Hotel Vela Bar
Address: MANUEL ANTONIO BEACH | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vela Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Beach hotel located in one of the most beautiful areas of Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio Beaches in Puntarenas Quepos, just 200 meters from the entrance to the most visited Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park, characterized by beautiful beaches, stunning National Park views, incredible sunsets, where you can admire a unique nature, few steps to admire the beauty of a troop of titi monkeys, or delight your ears with the murmur of the howler monkeys or the acrobatics of white face monkeys, in order flora and fauna within your reach in a natural setting. Come, enjoy it and remember Costa Rica is "PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vela Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vela Bar Hotel
Hotel Vela Bar Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing