We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2010

We walked into our Green Coast Casa near Manuel Antonio Park and were absolutely blown away by the gorgeous view of the rainforest and the beach cove below. The 2 wrap around terraces one with a hot tub provided for relaxing, eating and lots of fun. The rooms were spectacular and furnished with everything you could want. The pools, the beach, the monkeys, etc. only added to the fabulous ambience. The concierge services were outstanding. They made arrangements for tours, restaurant reservations and were only too happy to help. We booked our Green Coast Casa through Dave at www.4tulemar.com

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2010

Thanks for the great comments.....Green Coast Casa does have everything......style/ambiance/decor and amazing oceanviews.....plus the services of Mauricio (Costa Rican) and Julien (from France)....a very international team! We hope to see you on another trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,372)
There are newer reviews for Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,101 - 2,107 of 2,372 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2010

We cut short our trip at Monteverde and arrived MA a day earlier. The staff (specially Chris= Diegos assisstant) was very helpful and gave us the Mot Mot a day earlier. I had booked at Villa Mot Mot lower level. It was a gorgeous room with beautiful views but unfortunately it was located steep down .from the parking area. I have a bad leg and was having trouble climbing up and down. We requested Chris to give us another room closer to the parking area, Being that it was a Sunday and Diego was not available, Chris suggessted that we stay one night there and . they will try to move us next day. Sure enough, the next morning Diego upgraded us to the Panorama . This was one bedroom suite with excellent views. We were impressed by their hospitality and concern for our comfort. Had Diego not changed our room we would have ruined this leg of our trip. I cannot thank enough Diego and Chris for taking such good care. Their hospatality does not end here. On the last day, my husband locked his car key in the car. We called Diego from the roadside and he sent a locksmith with 10 minutes who helped us out..Staying in Tulemar was an excellent experience. We saw monkeys, Iguanas and also a sloth on the property. There beach though small is very nice and excluded. The are lot of choices for food around town, LOVE MA

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RK-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Thanks for such a wonderful review! Villa Mot Mot and Casa Panorama are both great villas and we're glad you were able to experiece each one. Chris and Diego are the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

You seriously cannot go wrong staying at Tulemar!!! The beach is great with kayaks, snorkeling, boogie boards, waves, and towel service. You can get drinks/food on the beach (but it is a bit pricey).... highly recommend the passion fruit margarita! The sunsets are beautiful! We stayed in the lower level of Casa Panorama. It was everything we hoped for! The views are incredible... it's called panorama for a reason! The accomodations are perfect for 2 people- comfy bed, nice kitchen/bath, great deck! Diego and Chris are very nice and helpful... they really want you to enjoy your time there... which is very easy to do! We saw so many birds while eating breakfast on our deck. We also spotted a few sloths. There are plenty of monkeys... especially squirrel monkeys which are so fun to watch! Plenty of dining option nearby (Cafe Milagro is perfect for breakfast and lunch) and close to the national park. Highly, highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACandBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2010

Thanks for the wonderful review on Tulemar and Casa Panorama! Yes, Panorama Lower is great for a couple (and even a family of 3). Everyone loves the terrace and ocean views. Chris and Diego appreciate your remarks as well. Tulemar is a wonderful resort with it's own beach and great hiking trails thru the jungle. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed in the upper level of Mot Mot for one week. The villa itself was extraordinary with fantastic views. The property is extremely lush with lots of wildlife (We saw titis, toucans, sloths,iguanas and capuchins from our balconey) The beach is great--we went snorkeling and kayaking and the javier would make great drinks when we were done. Everyone was extremely attentive (from the maids to the drivers to Chris) and service was out of this world.

I cannot say enough good things about Mot Mot and especially Chris Madrigal. He took care of all of needs and we are truly so glad to have met him--he definitely made our fabulous vacation something that we will always remember with his service. You must have a meal done by him. He is truly a chef. We kept saying we wanted something small, but he ended up doing guacamole, pico de gallo, ceviche, potato rosettes, snook with a butter/shrimp sauce, snook with a herb/garlic sauce and snook with a spicy chocolate/almost mole sauce. We also had flambe as a dessert and 3 specialty drinks. One with coconut and rum, one with mirtle and one with passion fruit. Every aspect of the dinner was superb. It was by far the best meal we had in Costa Rica and in all honesty this entire year. (and we like to eat)

Only thing to keep in mind is the property is big and you will have to walk some up hill at some point. There are lots of helpful drivers to take you to the beach/the front. Just ask how long the wait is.(Obviously around dinnertime it might be longer) It can vary, but look around when you wait--we saw lots of sloths and wildlife we would have missed!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXtraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

From the minute we booked the hotel we were taken care of. They helped arrange a private van from the San Jose right to the door of the villa. Helped us make food arrangements, organize leisure events like jet-skiing, surfing, and massages. The place itself had good internet, amenities, two outdoor showers where you could shower and see the ocean, and plenty of room to lounge around. We spent hours out on the balcony looking at the view, on our computers, and having cocktails. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexanderswhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2010

We are so glad you enjoyed Green Coast Casa! Julien really enjoyed serving your group and arranging all of your activitites. Thanks for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Our stay at Tulemar during our two week vacation to CR was one of the best decisions we could have made! It is a wonderful property and each room is just perfectly situated for a view of the water without breaking the bank. For nature lovers- this is the perfect hotel! We had a sloth sleeping in a tree right outside our door and could hear the monkeys jumping around at night. Dave and Julien were wonderful hosts with a trip to the grocery store as soon as we arrived, to perfect restaurant suggestions for the evening, to even lending me their spare computer to charge my devices when I forgot my charger! We booked through emailing Dave at www.4tulemar.com after reading reviews on tripadvisor and couldn't have asked for a better start to our trip!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Synergy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2010

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in Tulemar! The Green Coast Bungalows are really wonderful.....tropical, rustic in design with great ocean views....and lots of wildlife too! Hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Casa de Frutas exceeded all our expectations. My husband and I along with some friends went there the week of Thanksgiving and had the best time. The staff was warm and friendly and we were surprised every day with a special treat. Mauricio helped us schedule all our excursions, pointed us in the right direction for dinner spots and overall made sure our stay was extraordinary. There is no way to put into words the detail that has been put into the house. Everything you could dream of is there and they have thought of everything. I cannot wait to go back. I was even hesitant to write such a glowing review on Trip Advisor because I don't want word to get out about what a beautiful and wonderful experience it truly is to stay at Casa de Frutas.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiapkarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2010

We really enjoyed your little group at Casa de Frutas! Thanks for the kind words. As you can tell, Mauricio loves his guests and what he does, from arranging your tours, activities and restaurants to providing assistance with any travel problem and maybe throwing in a few treats during the week. I know you're already talking to us about returning next November and we'd love to have you back....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $148 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing