We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can we move to Tulemar forever... please?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can we move to Tulemar forever... please?”
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Deciding on where to stay in Manuel Antonio was difficult for my husband and I, that is until we came across Tulemar properties. Seeing the pictures and reading the other reviews, we knew it was exactly what we were looking for in a vacation. We spent our first night at the nearby Falls Resort (which was very nice, but honestly Tulemar is on a different level). We booked the Green Coast Bungalows through Dave at "www.4tulemar.com". The assistance and guidance provided by Dave and the concierge, Mauricio through emails was outstanding. They quickly replied to my dozens of questions regarding Manuel Antonio before we even arrived.

Our vacation began at Tulemar when Mauricio personally picked us up from the Falls Resort and drove us to our Bungalow. The property itself is incredible and in my opinion, the most beautiful property in Manuel Antonio. There are animals all over. Our view was AMAZING. The pool on the property was perfect and just a short walk from our room. The rooms were very roomy, clean and we always felt safe. Tulemar was a short walking distance to some pretty amazing restaurants (Agua Azul was our favorite!).

The beach was INCREDIBLE. Having a "private" beach just down the hill was worth the stay alone. The public beach in Manuel Antonio is nice, but honestly it is quite a walk to get there! We took a taxi, and the taxi's can be pricey, so we preferred the beach at Tulemar, especially since we when we went we were the only ones on it! The boogie boards, snorkel gear and beach attendant Dave were an added bonus! The only one thing that we could complain of was the shuttle service. It took forever to pick you up from and to the beach. We walked down the first day but it was quite steep so we decided to take the shuttle back up, we did wait about 15 minutes for it every time.

On our last night, Mauricio brought us (in the rain) a batch of freshly baked brownies, which were undoubtedly the best brownies I have ever had. It was the perfect ending to our vacation!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsoto1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,161
    129
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
1,164
725
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We are family of four - two adults , two teenagers. We stayed three nights at Tulemar in a bungalow. It was an excellent experience. First we would like to thank Mauricio for his help during the stay. The bungalow was very well maintained, cleaned every day and with a great ocean view. The beach was lovely and the service at the beach was very good. Our boys loved the boogie boards and kayaks. Wild life was everywhere around on the premises. We want to give a warm recommendation to stay at Tulermar. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I had never been to Costa Rica before staying at Villa MotMot, but let me tell you, this place was the literal definition of paradise.

The bungalow style individual "cabins" overlooked the lush rainforest and gorgeous private beach. The best part of course, was all the monkeys who came up to us while we lounged on the patio (which you can see here in the pictures I posted). The rooms were well equipped and supremely comfortable.

In addition, the hotel's restaurant and pool were excellent and looked brand new. The private beach had tons of free amenities and we were able to partake in some amazing snorkeling and scuba diving excursions right near our beach!

The hotel is very close (walking distance) of the National Park of Manuel Antonio and lots of nightlife and places to eat. I highly recommend going to the grocery store (super close by the hotel) and preparing your own cheap and delicious food. I swear I have never had fresher avocados in my life!

I cannot recommend Villa MotMot highly enough! It's making my teary thinking about it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirreldroppings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This was my second trip to Costa Rica, last time I stayed at La Mariposa. Tulemar Villas was superior in so many ways. Here are the top reasons to stay at Tulemar, not in any specific order. We stayed here 5 nights before heading to the Lost Iguana(4 star) in Arenal.
1. The private beach is amazing. Kayaks, boogie boards, little bar and little breakfast/lunch nook.
2. The rooms are unreal.
3. The pools(3) are beautiful.
4. The trails are pristine.
5. Proximity to local eateries and shops.
6.Friendly staff.
7.Privacy.
8.Wildlife
9.View
10.Full Kitchen
I am a very selective(picky) person when it comes to hotels and this wonderful place has it all!

*****5 stars*****

**I proposed to my fiance while staying here, we are planning to be married there in 2011! On a zip-line and at night!

***If you stay anywhere else, you will be over-looking this property. You'll hate yourself for not booking a room here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuraVida420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My friend and I started our trip at Tulemar. I believe we stayed in Bungalow 22 (possibly 24). The view from our bungalow was breathtaking. The bungalow has a bedroom, living/kitchen area, and bathroom. It was equipped with a fridge, mini-electric range, and pans and dishes. They could sleep six, with the two beds and the pull out day/trundle bed. I know that they are in the process of renovating the property. Our bungalow was not yet updated, but still very comfortable. The private beach is the nicest beach I saw in the area. (Better than MA national park.) There they have snorkel equipment, sea kyacks, boogie boards, and other beach accessories at no additional charge available for use. The pool has a beautiful view over the Pacific, however it does need some renovation. It is missing a few tiles. There currently is no pool bar. It is for sale, so if you want to drink, I suggest picking up your favorite beverage before arriving.

If you plan on booking tours in the area, I suggest doing your research here on TA. The front desk has a tour guide book, but did not seem overly knowledgable. For MA tours, I suggest Juan Brenes with Aguila Tours. He is very knowledgable, especially in herpetology. We have some exquisite pictures of sloths, monkeys, reptiles, and insects thanks to Juan. He can spot things that other guides walk right past.
On that note, alcohol is severely overpriced in the MA area. My suggestion is to pick it up either a duty free, or a supermarket on the way to MA. We were charged $85 for a bottle of Grey Goose near Tulemar. Traveling through other parts of the country, we noticed that other brands of vodka (ie Absolute, Smirnoff) were only priced at $20 in supermarkets.


We truly enjoyed our stay at Tulemar. Fabian, one of the properties drivers, was very helpful. He made our stay very enjoyable with his helpful insights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed at Tulemar in an upper Villa Mot Mot for 4 days in late July 2010. It was by far the best part of our entire trip. The bungalows were perfect for our family of 4 (two kids, ages 6 and 9). We loved being greeted each morning by white-faced and spider monkeys. The grounds were beautiful, too, and we were able to see sloths, toucans, and other wildlife while there. It was such a special place. We loved, loved, loved the beach. The waves were just right for my younger children but were big enough for us adults as well. The hotel provided boogey boards, chairs, and towels plus had food and drink service at the beach as well. It was so relaxing and fun. The shuttle was prompt and the people courteous. Our villa was near the infinity pool which we enjoyed quick dips in each afternoon. Diego greeted us the first night, helped us get settled in, even getting us pizza delivered in the rain so we wouldn't have to go out. He also helped with our pre-trip planning and arranged a very reasonable tour of the national park. Christopher took us a tour of the grounds, answered our many questions, and helped with every detail. They helped make the trip run smoothly and were always available to help out. The villa was clean, the kitchen was well-stocked, the balcony and hammock were such fun, and the view was amazing. The national park was also close by so we enjoyed a morning tour there as well (though next time I would ask for a different, more experienced guide). We also enjoyed a few restaurants near the hotel and felt we were close enough to conveniences but it didn't feel crowded. I cannot say enough about this hotel and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveLiveExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Tulemar is the best place to stay in Manuel Antonio, no doubt about it. The place is very private and quiet. We stayed in one of the Green Coast Bungalows which is an excellent choice for 2 adults. The bedroom has 2 double beds so you can stay there with kids if you want. The sofa in the living room may be Ok to accommodate a young child, but it is not comfortable for a bigger person. The kitchen is perfect to prepare breakfast but don’t count on cooking a real meal. There are many restaurants with a great view and prices are fine. Raphael’s Tarrazas is great as is Aqua Azul.
The wild life in the resort is amazing. Monkeys come to your windows in the morning and you can spot them running all over the place. They are cute! The resort has its own private beach. You can either walk or drive down to the beach. There is a café that serves breakfast and lunch, chairs and towels, kayaks and buggy boards. The waves are huge!!! It’s better to have your own car and drive to the beach, the walk back to your bungalow is a hike. Don’t miss the Manual Antonio National Park their beaches are just like paradise. Go on a tour with a guide, they will show you all kinds of animals that you will never find on your own.
You have a few stores to buy food if needed; Joseph in Manuel Antonio is good. You can also drive down to Quepos to the super market and a French bakery. There is a fresh market on Saturday just by the beach.
MAURICIO is in charge of some of the properties in Tulemar and he has an answer to all your questions, same for Dave in the main office. They make you feel at home in Tulemar. This place is worth every penny you pay for it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evaszczygiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Property: Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing