We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous love to come back”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Rooms are great we have a villa with out a porch 360 degree views. Including amazing view of ocean. Concierge helpful and available. Private beach is beautiful. Great restaurants nearby (agua azul mmmm). Monkeys and sloth all around close to the national park. Best guide around is a guy named Mop ask for him by name, gifted animal spotter.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kttravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,216 - 2,222 of 2,467 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

Tulemar is fantastic, and I highly recommend it. Dave, the owner, was friendly and helpful from day one. He even lent me money a few times when I ran out of cash. Mauricio made all of our tour reservations, and was available at all time to help or answer questions. The bungalows are spacious with GORGEOUS views--we even saw monkeys playing in the trees outside our window. Tulemar has its own private beach, to which you can walk or take a shuttle, and they have boogie boards and other water equipment available. Manuel Antonio is easy to get around, and you can take a bus or a cab anywhere you need to go. I highly recommend Tulemar, and Manuel Antonio in general. Have a great trip!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MA1234505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The Green Coast Villas were a beautiful choice to stay while visiting Manuel Antonio. We booked through Dave at 4tulemar.com . Mauricio helped us with any activity and restaurant reservations...and they were ALL fabulous! (be sure to take Mauricio's advice...he helped make our time there so much more enjoyable!) So many of the hotels we looked at were too close to the main road...and overly touristy looking. Green Coast Villas were off the main road, however the property is gated, and the bungalows are scattered throughout the private property which leads all the way down to its own private beach. This is a very beautiful property...we saw a lot of wildlife while there...monkeys, iguanas, sloths....all on the property! Stay with Green Coast....you will not be disappointed! Happy Travels!
we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ele133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I have stayed at Villa Mot Mot on the Tulemar property 5 times now and I am always struck by wonder as soon as I arrive and walk into the villa. This July my husband and I took my sister and her husband and they fell in love with it immediately. The views are incredeble and the villa is decorted in a personal yet elegant way. The beds are very comfortable and the linens top drawer. Housekeeping visits everyday and the villa becomes spotless once again. Diego and Chris are on call and meet your every need with a smile and make you feel that it is a pleasure for them to assist you. Chris, is also a chef and he prepared two breakfasts and two dinners for us that were the best meals we have ever had and we have eaten at 5 star restaurants. Be sure to book Chris in advance if you decide to use his service. Having dinner on the porch overlooking the Pacific with Chis's polished expertise was an experience that we are still all talking about. We saw two troupes of monkeys daily, the titi or squirrel monkeys and the Capuchin or white faced monkeys. We did not see a sloth this time but in past summers we have always seen a few, either in the tree next to the hammock or passing by on the rafters of the porch roof. Their are lots of birds and even a coati has been spotted in the past. The private beach with the beach grill, boogie boards, kyaks and lounge chairs is a slice of heaven and we whiled away 3 days sitting under the trees and playing in the surf. There are lots of tours to do in the area to keep the active very busy and lots of restaunt choices. However, once again , nothing can beat Chis's meals served on the porch.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Our family of four just spent 8 wonderful nights at Casa Panorama North at Tulemar.
Cons: none that come to mind.
Pros: 1. Diego and Chris, the property manager and concierge, respectively. They are everything and more that previous reviewers make them out to be. Diego, in addition to being very professional and responsive to all your needs, grew up in Manuel Antonio and Quepos and knows everyone and everyplace. He took one of my daughters surfing multiple times--she is still on cloud nine. You will see him numerous times daily. He makes visiting a new country and new area very easy. A very nice and good person. Chris, similarly outstanding. As friendly a person as you will ever meet. Chris cooked two dinners for us and they were as high quality as any meal we have ever had. This is not surprising as Chris was a gourmet cook in Chicago, including working in the French embassy (or whatever you call it) there. Dining on our outdoor patio being served by Chris and his cousin were special evenings for our family. Chis is johnny on the spot and was a phone call away whenever we needed something.
2. The house itself is spectacular. We rented the two top floors. The two bedrooms are beautiful and both have amazing views over the rainforest to the ocean. The upstairs main living area provides a 270 degree view of the forest and ocean. If you have seen better views than this place has, tell us where.
3. The wildlife. We saw many sloths on the Tulemar grounds, just walking back and forth to the beach. We had coffee with the monkeys on our balcony most mornings.
4. The private beach is beautiful and a fun place to sun, kayak, boogie board, etc. Dave, I believe is his name, who works at the beach, was very friendly to our family.
5. This house would rent for 4 times the price in California. We will return again to stay with Diego and Chris in this awesome house.
Thanks to Marina Kuperman for referring us to this spot.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annarbor007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed a week this year and last year at Casa de Frutas. Easily booked through Dave at www.4tulemar.com. The house has a magical feel, with an incredible view of the Pacific. Perfectly decorated, impeccably maintained. It even has its own pool. We also saw more wildlife at the house than at the national park. Before our first visit, we were a little concerned about renting a house in a foreign country, knowing nothing about where to eat, what activities to do, but Dave and Mauricio took incredibly good care of us. We've been many places, but have never experienced better service. This year's trip was just as marvelous. There's so much to do, you will never be bored, but you can also just relax at the pool or the private beach. Tulemar is the best place to stay in Manuel Antonio, and Dave and Mauricio are surely the best hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enjoytheadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Pros: Large rooms could easily sleep our family and a kitchenette meant we didn't have to eat out for every meal. The best thing about Tulemar is that its on the beach! Its on private beach with kayaking and great water. If for no other reason, I would highly recommend it for just the beach. Also, highly recommend getting a guide for Manuel Antonio Park... even tho I am very used to hiking, I wouldn't have seen a quarter of the animals the guide showed us...monkeys, sloths, tree frogs, boa constrictors, etc.. The hike was awesome. Of the overall area, I was not a fan of Quepos, the nearest town, or the touristy areas - so we stayed on the hotel grounds except for the excursions to the park and going to restaurants for dinner.

Cons: They ran out of towels all the time...at the room, the pool and the beach. It was very annoying. Our power kept going off as well... so we had to call to have it fixed several times. Lastly, the staff never felt friendly - they were competent - but it just felt like they were doing a job.

Overall: Great location, lots of room for the kids, great beach on the property - highly recommend for a visit to Manuel Antonio

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bull12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,635 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
605 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $148 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows and our special and unique villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee and the new Tulemar Bamboo Villas just for couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing