We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,674)
Filter reviews
3,674 results
Traveler rating
3,491
137
28
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,491
137
28
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casa panorama casa de frutas bamboo villa villa mot mot private beach boogie boards concierge chris villa cielito mini suite costa rica private chef zip lining brownie personal concierge garden house dinner reservations grocery store
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 3,674 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I spend 5 nights in the Bamboo Villas as part of our Honeymoon and Tulemar was everything we hoped it would be. From the moment we booked, Brian (the dedicated concierge) was responsive, helpful, and attentive to make sure that everything was perfect.
This place is really something special. A private beach, incredible attention to details, and animals everywhere. I really can't see enough about how great of a time we had at Tulemar and we cannot wait to come back.
Special thanks to our concierge Brian for making sure everything was perfect!

Room tip: Villas everywhere have incredible views.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 547alecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Host at TripAdvisor’s 2019 #1 Hotel in the World at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 547alecb.....thank you so much for your review on The Bamboo Villas, and thank you for choosing Tulemar for your honeymoon.....our Bamboo Villas are truly unique and spectacular....they are perfect for couples....their open air design, spacious lounge area by the large infinity pool, the 2 open air showers and large stone tub, and the comfy bedroom with breathtaking ocean views....they are the perfect place for a romantic getaway.....and, they can only be booked directly at tulemar.com, so you're guaranteed the Tulemar standard of service from the moment you book...thank you for mentioning Brian, your personal concierge.....Brian works with you from the moment you book your trip to make sure every detail is perfectly in place....we are so happy you were pleased with his service.....thank you so much again for your review....we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What is there to say that has not already been said? We stayed in a Premium Bungalow, and it is the nicest hotel "room" I've ever stayed in. Nestled among the vegetation on a steep hill overlooking the ocean, it's a slice of paradise within paradise.

The grounds are full of wildlife. Sloths, lizards, monkeys... a couple times we were woken up to the sounds of a troop of monkeys running across our roof! It is situated on a steep hill and it's a bit of a hike down to the beach, but the shuttles constantly running are fast and available with a quick call from your room.

While they do not have a free breakfast, the prices at the cafe are reasonable day and night, and the food is very good. It's not uncommon to have a sloth or troop of monkeys nearby while you eat, or macaws soaring over the ocean. If you want to get out to some of the local joints, there are plenty of options nearby.

The Tulemar beach is a quiet cove with very few people, bringing in nice waves to splash around in. Boogie boards and kayaks are available to use for free, with food and drink service brought to you.

Lastly, the staff here. They could not be more friendly and helpful. Everyone had a positive attitude and you could tell that they genuinely enjoyed their jobs. A special shout out to our concierge, Gilbert, who took very good care of us.

It was a very special stay for us, one we will remember for a lifetime. Hopefully we are able to return some day.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveltogo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Host at TripAdvisor’s 2019 #1 Hotel in the World at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Traveltogo33.....thank you so much for your kind review....our premium bungalows are extremely popular....they are newly updated to give a luxurious feel to our classic rustic bungalows.....with amazing views from every corner you're reminded that you're in the heart of the jungle.....you touched on so many points that make Tulemar special.....the views....the amenities....the wildlife....and the location....Tulemar feels secluded away from everything, but only a few steps from the front gate are dozens of incredible restaurants and shops....and of course, the service of your personal concierge, Gilbert.......our personal concierge team is always there to take care of anything you may need.....thank you so much again for your review.....we can't wait to see you again one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an awesome time at Tulemar and would love to return. Everything about this resort is awesome. No complaints. Our personal concierge was Orlando and he was incredible. Always available and always super helpful. Above and beyond. As was the beauty of Tulemar

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank danielaS1135GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Host at TripAdvisor’s 2019 #1 Hotel in the World at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi danielaS1135GU.....thank you so much for your kind review on Tulemar.....we are so happy to hear you have no complaints about your stay.....and thank you for mentioning the service from your personal concierge, Orlando.....our personal concierges are there to make your stay even more enjoyable....and easy....they can handle any little problem that may arise.....like sunburns or lost luggage......and they know the best tours and guides and restaurants.....plus you'll get the same prices when they book it for you as you do booking direct with the company.....(plus we'll arrange free transportation to/from the tour).....thank you so much again for your review....we hope to have you back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Our 2nd trip! Stayed this time at Nido de Gansos! So much love for everything Tulemar. Louis, thank you for making each day special. David at the beach and Tulemar Dave, the fact you remembered our families was amazing! We will definitely be back for #3! Pura Vida!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank 316tabithac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Host at TripAdvisor’s 2019 #1 Hotel in the World at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi 316tabithac.....thank you so much for coming back to Tulemar a second time, and thank you so much for the kind review on your stay at Nido de Gansos.........one of our premier, private villas in Tulemar (only available at tulemar.com as we don't list our special and unique villas with any of the online booking sites)......and most of all, thank you for mentioning Luis, your personal concierge.....our personal concierge team is there to make your vacation extra special.....from booking transportation and excursions.........to helping recommend the best dinner spot.....your personal concierge has it covered......thank you so much again for your review.....we can't wait to have you back for your THIRD stay at Tulemar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at Tulemar during mid December 2019. That was undaubtfuly the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. Tulemar is a beautiful resort with an amazing private and quiet beach where you can take freely enjoy the kayaks and boogie boards. Our beautiful villa was fully equipped and the service was much more than we ever expected. Our personal fabulous concierge was Chris Madrigal (we stayed in Casa Mirador), and he took care of everything we could think of. Milagro handled our villa constantly and made sure it is kept clean tidy, and to be honest – we could stay in our villa whole day through, just sitting in our balcony and enjoying the amazing view. However, Chris helped us plan our stay in advance, made all the required reservations and was a great and useful guide and advisor regarding our other destinations, so we had a full schedule along our stay.
On our first morning, we woke up pretty early and managed to meet a group of 10-12 monkeys visiting our private balcony. After breakfast Chris took us on a tour to get to know the resort in a golf cart. On this 30 minutes tour we managed to meet iguanas and other lizards, toucans, parrots, monkeys and sloths, not mentioning the beautiful trees, plants and flowers.
We enjoyed all the activities that Chris recommended, above all I have to mention the amazing night jungle tour and the great canyoning tour – both are must! You just cannot miss them.
If you're planning a trip to Manuel Antonio, Tulemar is definitely the place for you to stay in.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, Host at TripAdvisor’s 2019 #1 Hotel in the World at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi BaAmit......thank you so much for your review on Casa Mirador.....Chris is smiling ear to ear from your kind words....he loved being your personal concierge....I am sure you now understand why Casa Miraor is one of our most popular one bedroom villas....it is spacious and clean....and it has amazing ocean and jungle views from the large outdoor patio.....and of course, the wildlife visits.....so glad you got to experience it all....thank you so much again for your review....we can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews